Megasquirt

wahlau!!! u removed air con for track racing lar!! khoyos' car is a monster!!!! (khoyos nextime u drive ur car somewhere pls lemme know, i need to park roadside) :biggrin:

kennethfong said:
wahlau!!! u removed air con for track racing lar!! khoyos' car is a monster!!!! (khoyos nextime u drive ur car somewhere pls lemme know, i need to park roadside) :biggrin:
hey hey since when my car is a monster!!!! its a wagon lar, only suitable to drive to pasar malam only:tongwink:

hahaboy said:
if can't running air cond, tats reli bad news for me
Don't be silly of course MS can handle A/C. The reason why A/C is deleted because it causes load on the engine ... so Khoyos Wagon is a track prepared...

And he is also track prepared... huhuhuhuhu
huhu. if u look closely enuff, u could even see the logo, "track ready" on Khoyos' forehead.. hee hee hee

left+ H2,

that's y i said khoyos car = monster...

khoyos,

if i come down kay el looking for cipan, can i c u 2??

kennethfong, most likely i'll see u at cipan's place. his place is like my second home already. cipan has been tuning my car(s) since the weber days...
his whole family knows me hehehe, as the most frequent visitor...
i met leftfoot a few times already. hope to meet all other MS users

cipan like to r&d, and i like to do trial n error cheapo rojak upgrades, so he'll be the one with the big headache trying to make my mods work...

true...
1st time i went to cipan's place i met khoyos, thought he was a family member then,. huhuhu

all MS users must meet Black and Jack,.. theyr the ones making MS work.. I wonder how my MS will be without them....:cry_smile:
Imagine Santa (Cipan), without elves (Black and Jack).... :tongwink:

hhehehehehe..

I think I'll be visiting Cipan very2 soon,.. Hope to meet new MS users..

Khoyos, hows ur 'new' beast going?

khoyos said:
.... since the weber days...

....., and i like to do trial n error cheapo rojak upgrades, so he'll be the one with the big headache trying to make my mods work...

Can see you guys have a long relationship..... Aren't your wife glad Cipan is not a woman.....:angel_smile:

Anyway my mods is going to be a mix and match too so thought i give Abang Cipan a heads up... :emoticon_U:

Would love very much to meet other MSquirtors.. :_:

megasquirtors hahaha, great word... sounds like one big powerful shot from someone who has not ejaculated more than 30 years....

Anyway, I'm now looking for help as I'm stuck at spot where you've just finished constructing your serial loopback test to your PC. I'm using USB-Serial converter, and after having installed the driver, I followed the manual exactly to test and short Pin 2 and 3 with Hyperterminal, it's fine I could see words appearing.

However, when I connect the USB-Serial cable to the Megasquirt, then to my Megastim powered up with the 9V battery (which still has some 7 volts left), then I shorted Pin 12 and 13 on the 40 Pin socket, and when I opened up Hyperterminal, I don't get any response when I type in anything, what could be wrong with this???

I've read thru all the manuals including connection troubleshooting, and yes I'm getting the voltages alright where it is supposed to be. FYI, I'm using socket for my Max232 chip and tested with my multimeter though I'm stuck where it is without going further assemblying other components at the moment.

appreciate your help thanz!

i'm using a 4g93p currently.. quite interested with ms.. i have some question here..
1)let's just say if i wanna upgrade to mivec head with ms stand alone is that possible?
2)can i know what part i should order?
3)what extro sensor do i need?
4)msI or msII suitable for mivec?
5)i can skip the relay broad to connect all the sensor to direct to the ms?
6)any1 using ms with mivec/vtec here?
7) since ms can control everything like spark timming and fuel injector. so it can tune to misfiring system for those turbo cars?{silly question}

Stewart,

1) done already. as proven by leftfoot.
2)do search in previous pages of this thread. i have posted a complete list of things that are required(sticker optional of course)
3)answer same as Q2
4)read in previous pages and megasquirt info sites
5) not so sure
6)yes leftfoot (mivec 1.6 4 throttle)
7)i believe u are referring to launch control n full throttle shift system, sure can with some additional mods(no hassle mods). i'm getting mine done very very soon

steward;
Assisting to q #5. You don't need the relay board.

kennethfong;
1. check your cable too. When not using the ST232, you can have that loopback, but when using the converter you have not received anything.

2. Double check that you actually have pin 12 and 13 of U1 connected. Remember that the pins orientation are inverted.

3. Have the baud rate set to 9600.

4. Double check the hyperterm settings or it will not echo.

5. Be sure you have good and clean power supply of 9v minimum. Use AC/DC converter instead of batt.

kennethfong said:
Anyway, I'm now looking for help as I'm stuck at spot where you've just finished constructing your serial loopback test to your PC. I'm using USB-Serial converter, and after having installed the driver, I followed the manual exactly to test and short Pin 2 and 3 with Hyperterminal, it's fine I could see words appearing.

However, when I connect the USB-Serial cable to the Megasquirt, then to my Megastim powered up with the 9V battery (which still has some 7 volts left), then I shorted Pin 12 and 13 on the 40 Pin socket, and when I opened up Hyperterminal, I don't get any response when I type in anything, what could be wrong with this???

I've read thru all the manuals including connection troubleshooting, and yes I'm getting the voltages alright where it is supposed to be. FYI, I'm using socket for my Max232 chip and tested with my multimeter though I'm stuck where it is without going further assemblying other components at the moment.

appreciate your help thanz!

i have the same problem before.
i found out of mine, because of Y1, 300-1002-ND, 32768 Hz crystal, touching the PCB board. its work again after i lift it up.

or maybe not enough power. try run a new battery. i'm using DC power supply, max hit 17v and didn't damange MS. but not sure about magastim. i'm using adaptor for megastim, pumb in 11~13v.

Bro Cipan, Ivan,

Thanks for the reply, last nite i got myself a straight thru DB9 male to female (not null model type), so plug this into my desktop PC, the hyperterminal works finally!!! Tried even the mini-terminal from megatune 2.25 n it works as well....

bout the crystal Y1, i used silicone sealant and it's working fine at the moment....

Which means my USB 2 Serial is f**ked up....the steps i'd done to make sure it works:
- went to control panel system hardware device manager n choose baud rate = 9600, databits = 8, stop bits = 1, flow control = none, buffer = off or 1
- setup the same thing with the hyperterminal settings

Khoyos, u mentioned u got your USB to serial at lowyat aar, OK i suppose it should be the same with mine cheapo cable, could you please send me your driver that you use via email?? i can be reached at [email protected] or [email protected]

asking this coz i'm not planning to use my desktop PC to tune my car, it's too bulky, i've just upgraded my desktop pc with all super duper heavy duty mod (which adds good weight) + heavy rolled steel server chassis with xtra space for my radiator n water cooling block, all these add up to almost the weight of our heavy 29 inch CRT TV, and then the my stupid 21 inch heavy CRT monitor, LOL....

now i've come to the part where i've tested the processor with megatune, the 255 seconds time works and battery voltage is OK.... everything is fine and now and i've come to a cross road to step 50 of choosing VR or hall or both.... i guess it'll be both...

Cipan, i'm using the code variant as of the moment as MS-I, the MSNS-Extra is already preloaded by DIYAUTOTUNE or I still need to do something with it to run MSNS-E?

Also cipan, ugpm for my plan to Kay El trip....

kenneth,
sorry i dont know how to extract the driver from the cable. the cable did not come with any driver cd. it sort of installed itself.
if ur located in klang valley, u can borrow my cable to install in ur pc...
sorry i'm not good in these electronic/computer thingy