Megasquirt

d3ftones said:
alo cipan.congrats to joe khoyos for your success wit MS. cipan PMed u some time ago. can u give me list wat to buy. im planning to buy MS1,v2.2 or v3 doesnt matter.
my car 4agze 16v,ae92 MAP,using DLi. taken out the supercharger and going for turbo.
hv to buy dat GM sensors or can use the stock one? how bout wiring..gonna do from a scratch or use back the stock one?and your cost for installation and tuning.

Doesn't matter, but v2.2 don't have flyback control for low z injectors. Therefore, you also have to buy that daugterboard if you buy v2.2. V3 have those onboard.

MS can handle turbo operation. No problem. Just like other standalones.

You have to buy at least 1 GM sensor for IAT monitoring, but buying for CLT will make the configuration easier.

You have to disect and use back the ori wiring loom for installation.

I received quotation from farnell yesterday, RM217.44, but some items not included,
6 2 C11,C20 0.01"103K" or "0.01"
11 2 C21,C30 4.7"4.7" or "4.7 uf"
19 3 D17,D18,D19LED T1-3/4 case
20 2 L1,L2 1uh Small coil of wire wrapped around a ferrite core
46 1 40 pin dip soket
47 1 DB37 Plug Female
48 1 DB37 Hood
49 6 Nylon Screws 4-40
50 6 Nylon Nuts
52 1 Case EAS-300 (LMB)

what do u think, shoul I go for it??

cipan,

i'm still reading up the MS manual, my observation is that the mega stimulator looks very important to test the workability, do i need to do this up as well?? or should i make a trip 2 c u (quote me)....

Stim is very simple test rig. If you take a look in the manual, they have the 'older' schem to built the stim using 555 ic. If you can do your own pcb, just built one yourself cheaply.
On the other hand, you just buy a kit, which is quite costly, to easily diagnose MS assembly. To me, I can either do it with or without stim, but you have to identify which pin control what or you'll risk toasting your MS.

lanlee said:
I received quotation from farnell yesterday, RM217.44, but some items not included,
46 1 40 pin dip soket
47 1 DB37 Plug Female
48 1 DB37 Hood
49 6 Nylon Screws 4-40
50 6 Nylon Nuts
52 1 Case EAS-300 (LMB)

That is around USD60.
You have to buy the partial kit for around USD100 so that you can have the MAP sensor, the CPU (with boot code written), and the PCB.
On top of that, You still don't have many more items not yet listed and IGBT ic's are not cheap either. That does not include the shipping yet.
Worth the hassle?
Just compare to the MSv3 complete kit which just cost around USD200. Order from 1 source, and you have everything to built a unit.
Tfhe choice is yours.

if running MS on my 20v bt, wasted spark ignition. so i ned order MS 1 pcb 3.0 unassemble kit, should i use back stock sensor or gm sensor ? any mod-kits should add on ? ignition coil driver >?

regarding the sensors, i think it has been repeated many times. all sensors use back standard, except intake air temp sensor n coolant temp sensor use GM. the coolant sensor CAN use back oem, but to allow easier n smoother operation, buy GM.

cipan,

can i use veroboard to design the schematics albeit it'll create noise n humming? (lazy-laar) i mean would the humming affect the operation?

lanlee said:

46 1 40 pin dip soket
47 1 DB37 Plug Female
48 1 DB37 Hood
49 6 Nylon Screws 4-40
50 6 Nylon Nuts
52 1 Case EAS-300 (LMB)

i think u can get tose at jalan pasar, dun need to get it from farnell, but the tyco 1 r gold plated :)

actually only few rare item needed from farnel, the capacitor and resistor u can get from jalan pasar also. but if u wan quality, get polyester cap and 1% resistor from farnell. but im not too sure whter jln pasar got 1% 0.25w resistor or not

kennethfong said:
cipan,

can i use veroboard to design the schematics albeit it'll create noise n humming? (lazy-laar) i mean would the humming affect the operation?
Spurious triggering is the biggest enemy.
What about having tacho triggering without the engine even started yet? Or what if the igniton triggers at different time. The CPU is a very sensitive piece of component and any spurious triggering will alter the clock timing. You should know what happens next.

hm, u r correct

xtorm said:
i think u can get tose at jalan pasar, dun need to get it from farnell, but the tyco 1 r gold plated :)

actually only few rare item needed from farnel, the capacitor and resistor u can get from jalan pasar also. but if u wan quality, get polyester cap and 1% resistor from farnell. but im not too sure whter jln pasar got 1% 0.25w resistor or not

jln pasar is far from here, what about u, already buy yourself. don't forget me, remember u promis after CNY.

cipan_supercas said:
That is around USD60.
You have to buy the partial kit for around USD100 so that you can have the MAP sensor, the CPU (with boot code written), and the PCB.
On top of that, You still don't have many more items not yet listed and IGBT ic's are not cheap either. That does not include the shipping yet.
Worth the hassle?
Just compare to the MSv3 complete kit which just cost around USD200. Order from 1 source, and you have everything to built a unit.
Tfhe choice is yours.

silly me, thought to save $$. but anyway, I got my ms I v2.2 kit already. now looking for BOM. from your 1 source, can I get ms I v2.2 BOM. COMPLETE component. maybe can help me to buy.

lanlee said:
silly me, thought to save $$. but anyway, I got my ms I v2.2 kit already. now looking for BOM. from your 1 source, can I get ms I v2.2 BOM. COMPLETE component. maybe can help me to buy.

In that case, you have to get all the items fom Digikey. You should have all the BOM from the MS site and it's ready for ordering list. Just fill in the form, and you are set on the way.

hahaboy;
if you order the kit from Diyautotune, you should receives your item within a week to 10 days.

hahaboy said:
how long for the ordering till receive the item ?

as posted by khoyos, he replied the shipping status on 23rd Nov and he again update that he received the item on 29th Nov..6 days?...

if u somehow manage to escape from being taxed, item will arrive at ur mailing address.
if ur item is taxable, then u have to go to post office beside LCCT terminal(air asia) and pickup personally. or u can appoint pos malaysia to be ur agent, and u have to pay the tax amount to pos malaysia. the pos malaysia will pay the tax to customs on ur behalf...

i went to the mentioned post office and pickup the item personally. note that when entering the post office, u have to leave IC at the guardhouse. and when exiting, they will check ur car. so dont bring any drugs/guns/whatever illegal in ur car during ur trip to the post office...

most people have to pay tax, but there is a rare case where the MS arrive at a customer's home without being taxed. so keep ur fingers crossed even though very unlikely u can escape tax hehehe