Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

-e f i n i-

Hi guys...
i would like to know...
whats the difference between automotive engineering and mechanical engineering. im interested in both, but i seriously dont know which covers which? i was told that automotive eng. is more towards cars and mechanical eng. is more general... :blink:
you see, i have dreams to become a tuner one day, with my own brand of performance parts and such. if theres HKS, GReddy, Blitz etc. then i also want to establish my own company... i know its a long, winding and thorny road out there waiting for me, and also a lot to learn, but for the sake of my love for cars and performance, im ready for it.
planning to take it up after finishing school. i'm form 5 this year, high chances of staying for form 6.

i have done several searches on this topic in zth and google... cant really find anything that could answer my question....

please help me

mechanical eng is more to towards maunfacturing and design. automotive is a branch of mechanical engineering. well it depends on ur uni whether they offer more automotive course. if u r staying in form 6, UTM is the best choice.

is a matter of risk whether u wanna straight away enrole into automotive eng. if u die die also wanna become automotive engineer, then automotive engineering is the best choice for u.

haha.....i also have the same dream as u.make sure NVR GIVE UP!!

ok back to the topic.

mechanical engineering..because im currently wit this course so just tell wat u study inside.
ok first...u learn nothing about cars(in detail), however u learn manufacturing..thermodynamic...static..structural...for short more to industrial side.u learn how to manufacture let's say a performances radiator.u learn metallury also, CAD,CAM,CNC(computer numerical control).
my advices is..if u wan to study speficially into cars,mech eng is not ur cup of tea.but if u are interesting on creating ,study the theory behind then u can go ahead.it is the matter of how u apply ur knowledge.lets say,u learn thermodynamic.u know ur car engine is running on open cycle..blah blah blah...
u learn CNC..very vital to manufacturing parts by computer machining( ohyeah ,u learn alot of machining). casting,forging(let's say cast aluminium alloy block,forge piston) those processes. u feel like learn nothing about cars but if u apply to it,u will know.more to general not specific on automotive.
if u finish ur degree in mech eng..u can go 4 boiler factory,manufacturing plant,take care of the machining part,designing,R&D...etc etc

automotive engineering...from wat i know.it is specific on cars.how engine works..piston camshaft..those detail only for cars.including ur chasis system ,transmission etc etc etc.

so the choice is up to u..but bare in mind is that if u go into mech.make sure u have strong foundation of maths,physics.very strong i mean. half half water also u need to think twice..haha :lol: (later u end up like me)

so gd luck bro!!

hmm... so automotive eng. got learn bout manufacturing parts or not? or oly mech eng. learns how to manufacture only.

automotive eng. is more specific towards cars, but what other stuff do they learn bout cars? manufacture camshafts??

wah really blur when it comes to this @_@

have been doing this research for quite sometime... good for u to do survey b4 proceeding for anything. Just to inform u, mechanical eng and automotive eng...there's only a difference at the final year. For the 1st 2 years, the syllabus and subjects are the same. But for the final year, it depends...which technical future u want to go, chemical, mechanical, automotive....etc.

But if i were u, which i'm doing some research now, i would've go for some Rotary courses. No point pursueing degree if u're just a normal tuner, without much professionalism. I'm just looking for somewhere which provides training for ROTARY, and that could help u with ur future as there's limited Rotary speciallist around the world.

automotive engineering is subset of mechanical engineering..
automotive is a mechanical stuff aight ? ;)

yeah agree wit Iozo..automotive is kinda subdivision of mech engineering.

from wat i know...automotive din learn how to manufacture a camshaft.that is mech eng.

dun blur..it is very simple.. basically u r in diploma in mech eng.u learn nothing about cars( wat i said learn nothing about cars is, u din learn detail about engine,chasis,transmisstion etc etc).However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
dun get the idea that u study mech engineering u learn things directly about cars.

bro escaflowne, i'm in mech. engineering.. diploma.. and in first year.. :D
if i came across some sort of probs, can i ask you to help me out? :lol: me kinda blur.. still in 1st sem.. next3 weeks, i'll be facing my final exam..
enfini, if you more to automotive, just hop on to it directly.. like escaflowne said, UTM does have such courses.. so, better make your SPM the bomb so that you can get to UTM!! good luck! ;)

nice thread..
i really really wanna do automotive..
but now im edi enrolled in sum pre-u course..
next semester i'd be doin diploma in mech. eng.
...im having a terrible time..
..no interest.. hard to cope.. :(
need help...

for engineering courses.....the best place is always polytechnics....if u like, try out Polytechnics in Singapore....Polys usually study more on practicals than theories....

well...if u intrested in M.E.....try out this two polys:

Singapore Polytechnic:-
www.sp.edu.sg

Ngee Ann Polytechnic:-
www.np.edu.sg

Good Luck Dude...

Cheers~

i have DIP in Mech and Manufacture Engineering..
but i think not really relarted to cars..
a bit lah, not so much into cars..

things like
calculation on
bearings
transmission
gear
shaft
belts
actuators

design these stuffs,
they dont teach me how to TUNE HKS product which i wished to... :lol:

haha farique..i'm not gd lah..now is my last sem of my diploma course.same course as dj mobile,mech and mfg. haha only way to pass ur exam is hard work man dude..if curi tulang then make sure u really die die study hard hahah.

yeah calculation part more...tune hks product(how i wish~~~).

I heard the only place offering "good" automotive engineering is at Spore. Next is Japan?! If you wanna take engineering, prepared to go hell, it's not as hell as u think it would be, it's a whole lot. LOL not trying to scare u but it's a fact... :P :lol: :ph34r:

i study automotive engineering in FIT at cheras last time....actually i should study mechanical engineering cos after u finished study u have more choice to choose but automotive just can concentrate in 1 choice....nth else..... <_<

Hmmm so lets see....
First i take diploma on Mech engineering, which only covers the stuffs on general...
then later, take a degree on mech engineering?

Kinda in a dilemma now... take automotive, but dun get taught on engine internal parts manufacturing... but.. getting a degree on Mech eng. specializing would kinda sort out the prob, wouldnt it? is it that degree on mech engineering covers whats taught in automotive eng. and also plus manufacturing?
i dont wanna like... take automotive then dunno anything bout manufacturing....
or is that in another different specializing degree, like bro escaflowne said...
However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
aiseh man... really blur now laaaa

Originally posted by AE-86
i study automotive engineering in FIT at cheras last time....actually i should study mechanical engineering cos after u finished study u have more choice to choose but automotive just can concentrate in 1 choice....nth else..... b]

hi bro AE-86
what are those choices youre talking about? mind to enlighten me?

oh yeah.. how long would it take to get a diploma on Mech engineering + the degree?
maybe with master degree too??

my dad did say something like, if my sis get a PR over at New Zealand... then she can sponsor me go there sutdy there....

Originally posted by -e f i n i-@Mar 21 2005, 14:45
Hmmm so lets see....
First i take diploma on Mech engineering, which only covers the stuffs on general...

Kinda in a dilemma now... take automotive, but dun get taught on engine internal parts manufacturing... but.. getting a degree on Mech eng. specializing would kinda sort out the prob, wouldnt it? is it that degree on mech engineering covers whats taught in automotive eng. and also plus manufacturing?
or is that in another different specializing degree, like bro escaflowne said...
However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
[snapback]827324[/snapback]​

:lol: :lol: :lol:

dun laugh at me ler... i know im very n00b.... dun bully please...

btw bro AE-86...
what were those choices u were talking bout earlier?

Originally posted by AE-86
i study automotive engineering in FIT at cheras last time....actually i should study mechanical engineering cos after u finished study u have more choice to choose but automotive just can concentrate in 1 choice....nth else..... b]

Originally posted by AE-86+Mar 21 2005, 14:48 -->
QUOTE(AE-86 @ Mar 21 2005, 14:48 )
--QuoteBegin--e f i n i-
@Mar 21 2005, 14:45
Hmmm so lets see....

[snapback]827341[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

not bully lah....actually mechanical got lot of apportunity in work....they are many type of work that need mechanical knowledge but automotive is different....if u study automotive...then after u finished the course then u have to work for automotive line only....but mechanical is different....u can either work for factory,workshop,machine shop or even automotive also can.... :lol:

er.. better off to mech. eng first... after you graduate, then you can proceed to automotive.. bcos its a part of mech.. you have the basics, then you just need to apply it in automotive..thats all! :D

it may seems as easy 1, 2, 3.. but without any hardwork, it wont work! ;) same as me lor.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by AE-86+Mar 21 2005, 15:03 -->
QUOTE(AE-86 @ Mar 21 2005, 15:03 )
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 14:48
--QuoteBegin--e f i n i-
@Mar 21 2005, 14:45
Hmmm so lets see....

[snapback]827341[/snapback]​

not bully lah....actually mechanical got lot of apportunity in work....they are many type of work that need mechanical knowledge but automotive is different....if u study automotive...then after u finished the course then u have to work for automotive line only....but mechanical is different....u can either work for factory,workshop,machine shop or even automotive also can.... :lol:
[snapback]827401[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

yeah...i agree wif this....anyway...if u really wish to furthe rur studies...pls choos the courses that u prefer....do not regret.~~~!!! :rolleyes: