Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

ah, yea edward, sorry i forgot bout the question, segi do offer Automotive engineering thru sunderland..
Alamak, how come i didn't know that.... :cry_smile::cry_smile::cry_smile:
Now doing automotive techology somewhere else. :cry_smile:

I'm doing diploma lo now..... heard that no degree for this course in malaysia le... hope it will be available after my graduation... :(

Seems most colleges in Malaysia have diploma in automotive only. After that have to go to affiliated University overseas to get degree.... :banghead:

good question..but finally all of diploma holder end his life in workshop or dirty garage change engine oil..so they wont waste money anymore,just get diploma paper they able enter big company,get job what they like.
different from got paper and no paper is work different place big company high tech technology it in repair and outside small workshop change engine oil by lay urself on dirty floor..
about mechanical and automotive course..is automotive is about car work/job and mechanical is about many machine but anyway,we still need learn on workplace coz college never teach how to check machine...many type,various machine/model..
better get mechancial course,many choice of job..automotive only go to auto company..

Jobs brings u money & money brings u joy..

Good jobs brings u good money & good money brings u good joy..

Bad jobs brings u bad money & bad money brings u just a joystick & a playstation..

if u wanna play cars, get a good job..

Gudluck :burnout:

With the automotive knowledge can still diversify to other automotive channels, not necessary engine repair mechanic only......up to the individual person.....:biggrin:

up to individual person can change/learn other machine..like my boss always to me,"everyone hold same spanner but no everyone know to change like you!"same ppl learn same machine but cant understanding machine how to work..hobbies and work totally different in real world.u say like car,go to car college,then go work in car company..basic ok..cant go anymore..dunno how to improve,learn more new skill...change engine oil...engine oil again...i got friend who are like them.some ppl really cant...!meanin why najib can,why some ppl cant be,why not us...we also can be PM if we show true colour to world!think again..
nothing is impossible :idea:

Actually for newbie, join small company better, because less employee so have to do more work from A to Z, so learn more. But many newbies nowadays take that as overwork and underpaid. To me is knowledge. After gaining it then look elsewhere for higher position.
If join big company, like bro. jimmy mention, maybe everyday ask you to change oil and filter only and maybe after 6 months then let you do other things. Then even 5 years experience there also won't learn much.......:slug:

agreed that nowaday technician and mechanic job really in underpaid,lot of big boss bull sifu or newbie who just join in their...what u know?how long experinece u have?i only can pay u rmXXX,accept it or leave...many other willin accept this job like bangla/indo boy.
yes,i have to see many bangla/indo start working in workshop,some of them can drive customer car too for test drive outside road...whille malaysia ppl still too choice,asking higher pay,work less hour/5day per week...not willing to learn,just looking more holiday day,short cut...wont bring u future...only same position also after 5 year working in same place.think again :sleep:

agreed that nowaday technician and mechanic job really in underpaid,lot of big boss bull sifu or newbie who just join in their...what u know?how long experinece u have?i only can pay u rmXXX,accept it or leave...many other willin accept this job like bangla/indo boy.
yes,i have to see many bangla/indo start working in workshop,some of them can drive customer car too for test drive outside road...whille malaysia ppl still too choice,asking higher pay,work less hour/5day per week...not willing to learn,just looking more holiday day,short cut...wont bring u future...only same position also after 5 year working in same place.think again :sleep:

Reading your post is actual reality......most come for interview also more interested in pay, fringe benefit, holidays etc......:banghead:

malaysian style ma...for newbie who just finish their college/university ...looking for higher post but without experinece how the boss dare to hire them up in high pay too...auto asking for rm3k per/month for fresh newbie...bye,go home waitin for our call...we wont call them back.
heard it from my HR dept manager.lot of them looking for higher pay,other benefit without any experince...if u r boss,u will give their chance...?think again...:biggrin:

Yalor, not yet gain experience want high pay already, couple with plenty of leave and fringe benefit even better.....

Automotive and mechanical doen't give much efffect for me..
i'm graduated from 1 of the IPTA in bachelor of engineering(mechanical-automotive)(Hons).
my first job is at the factory located at rawang. it is vendor which produce OEM rubber parts for proton, perodua, Toyota, Honda etc..basically, my job is not directly related to the automotive. it is more toward the manufacturing and project management. designing new machines, tools, jig, part production planning, capacity study, factory layout etc2..and after that i got offer from muhibah group as design engineer and it also not really have direct relation with automotive industry. but i didn't take that job and now, i'm working as the IT support engineer at 1 of the bank. what i want to say here is the course is not really guide you where go gonna work. it is your skill, knowledge, interest and sometime faith that will determine what you are going to be. your degree is only the key point to get the job... for my case..but ensure that you go to the well known University and got cgpa 3.0 ++

Agree with you. I have come across many people who are working in fields that they did not study for. Even for my kids, I have told them to pick up a course which they will like to pursue, after getting the paper then when come out to the real world, then only find the job you want or like, because they may not like job that they have studied for.....

my advise, just take whatsoever job available. same like me. although the pay is low, just slightly higher than 2k after adding all of allowance, i still take it. then, just perform the best you can. then, i got increment ay my 3rd and 6th month. although just rm100 increment each, at least they do increase my salary and my chief engineers promise to give another increment + phone allowance + travel allowance(worth rm300 for the allowance only) after my 1sy year aniversary with that company. however, i got other offer which manage to give double from the basic i got. and i choose to left that company. moral of the story, if you're the fresh grad, for me, just take any job offered first. dont demand too much because if you don't want to take it, someone still want to take it. at least you got some income instead of nothing. just give ur best effort on the job and prove that you're worth to the company. then they will offer you something if they think it is worth to give. and don't give up to find another job if you want ur salary to hike up faster.

I like your attitude. Even lower pay, still have income and at the same time gain experience and that is more important......