Engine Mount

dome zero said:
share tis wif u,

im using 4g93p too, i juz changed e E.mounting few mths ago, coz rubber cracked.
i changed ori front & rear mounting onli, RM105 including labour chrg frm out side work shop.

now vibration n sound frm car interior reduced.

'proton s.center quote e price very high, RM500++ 4 1set(4pcs) =.=':emoticon_U:

hope can help ah:shades_smile:

hi bro dome zero...

my ride is 4G15.....me having problem with my mounting oso....whole car vibrating when complete stop in D gear... check with e workshop n they say change all 4 pcs will cost 300rm including labour...

Me tot of DIY changing the mountings (although dun know how) and went to the spare part shop and ask, found out that 4 pcs cost 190rm...

u change all 4 mounting? which shop u change your mounting? so cheap....can intro? tq.....

Wah lau eh, I just changed all 4 of my mountings. 1 got minor crack, still seems ok. 1 is cracked, but still the whole mounting is in the same shape. 2 others are totalled, the whole rod in the middle come off liao, hancur berkecai.

I replaced all 4 with stock proton mountings. The spare parts shop promo to me Mitsubishi mountings but it cost a fuking 1 leg and 2 fingers. The Proton mountings cost RM33, RM35, RM55x2. The Mitsubishi mounting cost RM145, RM160, RM260x2. Jibai expensive mahai.

Though, the quality is very obvious. The Proton mounting is abit flexible and not too hard. The Mitsubishi mounting is very flexible and very soft but the rubber is also very good quality. Besides, the Proton's rubber casing(the metal thing) is very poorly made. The point where they connect the metal pieces together, are very lousy, but still, I dun think it is bad until can crack or fall off lor.

Lastly, the best thing about mounting is, right now, i feel like i am driving a brand new car. Idle at traffic light, no vibration at all even when i put gear into D and pressed brake pedal. WHen accelerate, not so much diving jerks. When braking, really feels the car brake, not like something push forward when u hit the brake...Hard to describe, but all in all the mounting makes a big fuking difference in comfortability.

Go change ur mounting today if u wanna feel like driving new car, if ur mounting is already broken.

Hi bro, i dont think nose dive when braking has any thing to do with engine mounting lar, it has more to do with ur absorber lar.

Good engine mounting gives u free from rattles only when idling with a/cond or gear on "D".

magixk,
I know jibai is expensive la. Some more, you pay to get jibai that has been used by many guys. So why pay for jibai, right? hahahaha
Just kidding dude. PU+rubber mountings is.. erm... acbc has it la. Maybe can get him to take a pic and put it here. hehe
It's like the middle of the mounting is PU (blue in color with small holes in the middle). The outer layer is rubber. erm... when i have time i draw pic for u la. hehe

wah draw for me oso, many many thx bro! the PU mounting is much more harder den stock mounting rite? wat does harder mounting give? more control and acceleration power of the engine?? shooting random here...

magixk,
It's something like this.
mountings.jpg

The small white dots are actually hollow spaces in the blue PU sections. The black circle is the rubber. The middle part is where you mount your engine screw.

That's an engine's mounting?
If it is, it looks alot different than what i had replaced leh...
I getting more blur now... :S

magixk,
Oh, that's just the middle part of it. I didn't draw the metal brackets. hehe I saw on some local car website and they're selling this mounting package. It's got lots of mountings including engine, arms, etc. Can't recall that website, though.

Hmm...But the mounting you showed is different than mine. I think this one you showed is for certain types of car?

My engine's mounting is weird looking in the middle part, the rubber part. It's not round and I cant describe the shape here. But from what i understand, these customized mounts are, well, customized for the middle part?

magixk,
Erm... that pic is just an idea of how it looks like. Cos engine mounts are round for proton cars. So I just draw a rough pic ler. hehe

ehhh.. DIY engine mounting. buy one silicon gasket sealant (3M/three bond - grey color) get a new origin proton mounting and sneeze those grey gel in the both side of the mounting except the screw hole ahhh. and let air dry for 3 days. this will give more vibration absorb, stift but comfort. i did it myself, the result not bad.