Engine knocking very hard like to broke something

Mat Indera

Feb 26, 2014
I am newbiez. Just purchase waja with evo 4 engine. Minimum knowledge about performance car but start learning seriously.

My problem is when ramping the engine with gear 1 approx 5000-6000rpm and than quickly change to gear 2, however once release the clutch and pressing the fuel peddle in gear 2 to speed up the car immidiately one strong knocking from the bottom of engine, probably came from clutch, transmission gear, engine mounting or other things. Mechanic did informed that engine bottom mounting rear side indicated some cracked. Was the cracked mounting initiate the strong knocking like someone knocking the hammer hardly to the engine.

Are the original engine mounting for 4g18 waja engine could be used? Earlier this waja use 4g18 engine.

I myself still did not familiar with this manual engine and frequently jerking when shifting the gear. Are my poor skill could be the contribution to the hard knocking sound?.

Appreciate to hear advise from the expert. :banghead:

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
could be. but you know, a cracked mounting needs replacement immediately before something else begin to get damaged - and damaged quick. Replace the mounting first.

otherwise the knock could have been from lower chassis parts (crossmember, lower arms, etc) or intercooler/IC pipes not installed properly.

Mat Indera

Feb 26, 2014
Thanks.

I am using 4G63T transplant to waja. I am not sure whether waja standard 4G18 bottom mounting will do?. Tomorrow to bring to mechanic.

Yup, engine mounting crack/damaged the engine sitting lower and near the body parts. Hard acceleration will rock the engine more and will hit the body. Change the mounting first....

jebatdex

Jun 19, 2011
Skudai, Johor
Sorry to ask, but since we touched about engine mounting here; for normal driving car, almost everyday use (NA car), after how long should I change the engine mounting? I think my mounting already 4-year-old. Using 1996 Satria 1.6L stock engine.

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
Sorry to ask, but since we touched about engine mounting here; for normal driving car, almost everyday use (NA car), after how long should I change the engine mounting? I think my mounting already 4-year-old. Using 1996 Satria 1.6L stock engine.
Original engine mountings that came with the car normally will last for 7-9 years depending on the driver's driving style and condition of the engine. As for those replacement engine mountings made in Thailand or 'Japan', the normal lifespan will stretch to 4 or 5 years and again very much influenced by the driving style and engine's maintenance. However should yours yet to give u any harsh vibration during idle and gears engaged or knocking sound when accelerating, your engine mountings most likely are still good. Change it only when it is broken unless u got loads to spare then change at your own preference.

Agree or you can just ask your mechanic to check. If just started to crack still can use. If torn or damaged then change. Usually the front and rear ones will go first. The left and right ones will last longer....:driver:

Mat Indera

Feb 26, 2014
Checked with mechanic and bottom rear torn and bottom front also badly cracked. Change both and now can ramp to 6000rpm with no problem. However the way changing shifting clutch produce some jerk and knocking sound. Newbie with manual performance car. And also plus with heavy clutch. Always drive automatic.

Slowly get familiar with new hobby :driver: :biggrin::fisheye:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
if mounting cracked one thing...if knocking sound sometimes because of using ron95/ just my 2cents

The Royal Malaysian Police escorts were already prepared, waiting at the side of the road as the supercars gradually got out of the Shell station in Gelang Patah R&R in rather spectacular fashion. Listening to the deafening roar of V8’s, V10’s and V12’s from the station delightedly excited the crowd… and us!*Thanks to the police escort, we took less than 30 minutes to reach the location of the...