Hi all sifus,
I own a 2005 Chevrollet Optra 5 1.8 which was passed down by my mom.
As mentioned in the title, the problem with my car is that lately it's engine always dies when I start to move from idle (eg: at a traffic light).
I always shift the gear to 'N' from 'D' as I don't like to step on the brake for long.
As soon as I shift gear to start moving, it dies. It's easy to start it up again, but I'm kinda worried if it doesn't start.
The engine also dies when I brake hard or step the throttle hard on idle.
I had a few checks. There seems to be some engine oil in the throttle body and when I take out the spark plugs, there seems to be some oil too.
I have changed the filters, spark plugs, engine oil, but the problem remains.
My mechanic told me to service the throttle body and engine to remove oil. But the problem is, I don't really trust him as he does not even know how to change the gear oil. I changed the gear oil at another workshop but it is expensive.
The engine also has a loud vibration noise which I expect is the fault of bad engine mountings.
So if any of you don't mind giving a helping hand, I would like to know what service I should do. And there are very few spare parts for this car. Very difficult to find
. and expensive also.
I would mind to use aftermarket parts if it's price is not far off from the original parts.
Is it advisable to change the air intake and exhaust system? I felt the car has heavy breathing problem. The car starts nicely.rpm below 1000. But after moving, at idle, the rpm is always above 1000.
I stay in Shah Alam. I have gone to several mechanics, but none of them know what the problem really is. I'm afraid if I just go along with their say, I might get conned and problem still not solved.
Thank you for reading this. I'd really appreciate it if you helped out.
P/S: I have taught of changing to another car but my dad advised against it. The cars current value is lower than the amount in debt. So I'm thinking of using it for some time.
I own a 2005 Chevrollet Optra 5 1.8 which was passed down by my mom.
As mentioned in the title, the problem with my car is that lately it's engine always dies when I start to move from idle (eg: at a traffic light).
I always shift the gear to 'N' from 'D' as I don't like to step on the brake for long.
As soon as I shift gear to start moving, it dies. It's easy to start it up again, but I'm kinda worried if it doesn't start.
The engine also dies when I brake hard or step the throttle hard on idle.
I had a few checks. There seems to be some engine oil in the throttle body and when I take out the spark plugs, there seems to be some oil too.
I have changed the filters, spark plugs, engine oil, but the problem remains.
My mechanic told me to service the throttle body and engine to remove oil. But the problem is, I don't really trust him as he does not even know how to change the gear oil. I changed the gear oil at another workshop but it is expensive.
The engine also has a loud vibration noise which I expect is the fault of bad engine mountings.
So if any of you don't mind giving a helping hand, I would like to know what service I should do. And there are very few spare parts for this car. Very difficult to find

I would mind to use aftermarket parts if it's price is not far off from the original parts.
Is it advisable to change the air intake and exhaust system? I felt the car has heavy breathing problem. The car starts nicely.rpm below 1000. But after moving, at idle, the rpm is always above 1000.
I stay in Shah Alam. I have gone to several mechanics, but none of them know what the problem really is. I'm afraid if I just go along with their say, I might get conned and problem still not solved.
Thank you for reading this. I'd really appreciate it if you helped out.

P/S: I have taught of changing to another car but my dad advised against it. The cars current value is lower than the amount in debt. So I'm thinking of using it for some time.