Market Place - Pricing

Do you agree that Prices should be MANDATORY at Market Place

• Yes, I AGREE - IT'S MANDATORY FOR SELLERS TO PUT PRICING

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No- the sellers can keep the pricing off the list. Mysterious sellers gives me an erection.

• Couldn't be bothered - I never buy online : online sellers are all cons!

• Is there a market place? I didnt know it??

• Total voters
"Call for price" is considered OK by me(eventhough time wasting)...usually sellers that want serious buyers.

It's the "offer me price" that really pisses me off.....:thefinger:

"Call for price" is considered OK by me(eventhough time wasting)...usually sellers that want serious buyers.

It's the "offer me price" that really pisses me off.....:thefinger:

whoahhh....totally forgot bout this one...yeah the "offer me price" really pisses me off too :thefinger: !

unless it is antique or classic cars, they should put price on it.

agreeed

I think in the end it all boils down to uncompetitive business strategies amongst sellers.

Seller A has a shop and overheads, sells product X for RM1200
Seller B sells his wares online only, sells product X for RM800

Who's going to buy from Seller A I ask you? That's the dilemma. It's all about dollars and cents and not showing how much.

Then there's the even more unscrupulous ones, those that choose to openly make a loss, hoping that the buyers will buy other items as well to offset the loss.

Seller A has a shop and overheads, sells product X for RM1200
Seller B sells his wares online only, sells product X for RM800
Seller C has a shop and overheads, sells product X for RM750

Buyer buys from Seller C but also buys product y, z, l, p as well.

Looking at the marketplace, a lot of folks sell the same product or similar products, a lot of these people are type "c" sellers or "b" sellers so how are the honest marketers supposed to make a living?

---------- Post added at 10:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:44 AM ----------

I'm not a seller, but I do have one sales thread that I don't bump often. I only have one competitor but my market is too small to be bothered with. But I do have friends who are sellers and I understand their dilemma.

in my opinion, posting with price or without price make no difference to me as a buyer.
if you see what you like you either contact seller or just ignore it and browse for another.

as a seller:
some products pricing is too low to be advertised.. as distributor may make noise.
multiple items advertised in a single post. fluctuating price on certain items.

there are 23-24million people in Malaysia.. you just simply can't satisfy all of them. :)

in my opinion, posting with price or without price make no difference to me as a buyer.
if you see what you like you either contact seller or just ignore it and browse for another.

as a seller:
some products pricing is too low to be advertised.. as distributor may make noise.
multiple items advertised in a single post. fluctuating price on certain items.

there are 23-24million people in Malaysia.. you just simply can't satisfy all of them. :)

Malaysia is [strike]fake[/strike] democracy, 91% people voted to post with price. your vote counts but you are the 9% minority so too bad, sorry can't satisfy you.

as a seller:
if the seller got issues with distributor, that is YOUR PROBLEM. You cannot solve your own problem, DON'T DO BUSINESS.
multiple items advertised, then sign up as a dealer on ZTH, and you can post as many sales topic as you like.

Just do it like BMW Club Malaysia - no price, go against regulations - REMOVE! ...

200% agreed with this.
We as buyer really hope Tom will make it compulsory to put price tag in The Marketplace section.
If not, mod can close the tread. It's not about customer always rite. It's about make things easy, and straight to the point. Agree with the price, buy it. No tips or tricks from seller to take advantage on poor ppl like me.

as a buyer, will you pay exactly the amount posted by seller?

i guess u guys NOT, as buyer...u for sure ask for discount....and as seller, if u r keen on purchase. of coz there is discount

and so why bother bout the posting price...

u can just pm or sms the seller for the pricing, its just pretty easy.

whenever i buy in zth, i will pm or sms few sellers for pricing n product condition then only i decide. with price or not, im not bother. im bother bout the product only

my2cents

A few situation here :

Buyer :Yes..agreed.It's easy for customer to comparing without waste of money and time to call/sms.Seller also save bcos no need to reply buyer sms.If seller not sure to sell for what price just put price a bit higher than wanted price,than if buyer want discount just give but remain wanted price..it's easy...like CHIPSMORE - now u see,now u don't hahahaah.

Seller : No need,to make a healthy marketplace environment..if put price seller will compete for decrease their price,IT'S MAKE UNHEALTHY ENVIRONMENT...than seller will die.

Conclusion :"CUSTOMERS ALWAYS RIGHT"

Yes..agreed.It's easy for customer to comparing without waste of money and time to call/sms.Seller also save bcos no need to reply buyer sms.If seller not sure to sell for what price just put price a bit higher than wanted price,than just put nego,it's easy...like CHIPSMORE - now u see,now u don't hahahaah.:idea:

bro...if put price higher, then put nego.....first impression of a seller is to see the cheapest price sold by a particular seller..

for example...
seller A - RM200 (nego)
seller B - RM180 (nego)

for sure buyer will go with seller B without thinking of asking the seller A even though both can be nego. some more, if the seller put the price, then put nego, then what's the point of putting the price? buyers still need to pm/sms/call to ask for the best price. unless if the seller states that they can deliver for free, or free installation, then maybe the buyer will go to seller A, again, if the seller B only sell without providing free installation or delivery.

so if want to put price..just put the price, no need to put nego...if want to put nego, then we are back to the questions of should sellers put only the selling price and make buyers' life more easier buy just contacting the sellers once to make the order?

and i'm sure, most of us....even if the seller put the price there...we will still pm/sms/call for best price...

so, is it really practical for sellers to put price if buyers will still contact them for best price even though the price is already there?

I think, if we really want to buy the product, we wouldn't be mind to contact one or more sellers for the best price with the best service. Sure we want to compare. Even if 5 sellers selling at the same price with the same service, for sure we'll look at the the most convenient for us to buy. and for sure we will contact them for more than 1 time.

just my opinion. :wavey:

exactly G221.....

even seller stated for example rm150 firm, nett. not negotiable

buyers still will post in forum "plz PM me best price".....so whats the point?

to be fair, if wan seller put price... then buyer dun ask for discount, pay as what price stated. otherwise, blacklisted d buyer once.

if seller dun put price, blacklisted him once.no point put price if stil wan nego :)

fair enuf

exactly G221.....

even seller stated for example rm150 firm, nett. not negotiable

buyers still will post in forum "plz PM me best price".....so whats the point?

to be fair, if wan seller put price... then buyer dun ask for discount, pay as what price stated. otherwise, blacklisted d buyer once.

if seller dun put price, blacklisted him once.no point put price if stil wan nego :)

fair enuf

i like this idea. to be fair, sellers must put the price which is non nego. Buyers agree with the price, call the seller and close the deal. If buyers dont agree with the price, look for other sellers and do not negotiate.

Warn and ban both buyers and sellers who do not comply with this rule. But one problem we might face is how to let everyone know about this rule? For those who frequently visit zth no prob. How about those who are new or seldom visit zth?

Buyer :Yes..agreed.It's easy for customer to comparing without waste of money and time to call/sms.Seller also save bcos no need to reply buyer sms.If seller not sure to sell for what price just put price a bit higher than wanted price,than if buyer want discount just give but remain wanted price..it's easy...like CHIPSMORE - now u see,now u don't hahahaah.

Seller : No need,to make a healthy marketplace environment..if put price seller will compete for decrease the price,IT'S MAKE UNHEALTHY ENVIRONMENT...than seller will die.

Conclusion :"CUSTOMERS ALWAYS RIGHT"

aiya, next time just say.. bro, RM150 meh? donate to me only la...

siap...

I prefer the seller to state their price. Easy to do my budget.

I dun mind also lines such as "pm for price" or "call for price"...

but....

please la, when we call or pm/sms, at least have the decency to talk/reply with a nice attitude la.

Lol looks like both sides also have valid points. Now I really don't know which is better. But as a customer, I do find that putting price is convenient because I can straight away know whether it fits my budget or not. Even bargain also, it is around that "price range". I'll go for sellers that makes me feel convenient.

"CUSTOMERS ALWAYS RIGHT"

Haha... Well, customers are not always right la... Sometimes got funny attitude also... "Customer is always right" this line is as a courtesy that gentleman sellers give to customers... Some are rascals. They can fk customers if they do not like them. They think they are the king in the industry. They think they are very stable and no competitor.

veloc: if seller's right by not putting price, then the authority would not have enforced the law of putting up price tags on all sales item at shops..wat makes u think online is so different? that's to protect the consumers.

If your price is firm u can always put:

RM 200.00 Firm.

Or u know some dick will call u and say.. bro kasi best price ...u may put:

Bestest Price: RM200.00 FIRM non NEGO. Please do not NEGO.

If you all can put - pls do not SMS, yet people SMS and u dont layan, what's d difference in putting up a price and when ppl ask for best price or nego u can just say, my apologies, that's a firm non-nego price.

it's a matter of your seller mentality. wanna buy from u yet still wanna play your games ah? u think about it... u r selling an item, so are other people... why would they not buy from them who has clearly stated price but calls u? coz they want cheaper price! .. ultimately, u end up having to answer 'best price bro' .. or 'nego laaa'

be a professional seller.. dont be a pathetic whiner

Sellers - look at the poll. buyers has spoken. All business owners who always think they are right will end up tapao-ing. Go ahead and do what you want coz in d end, it's a free market out there.

veloc: if seller's right by not putting price, then the authority would not have enforced the law of putting up price tags on all sales item at shops..wat makes u think online is so different? that's to protect the consumers.

Sellers - look at the poll. buyers has spoken. All business owners who always think they are right will end up tapao-ing. Go ahead and do what you want coz in d end, it's a free market out there.

Haha...That's right.. I forgot about the price enforcement law thing... So that should apply to virtual premises too I think...

Blackhowling... I like your reply...
That's why... Educated people will always think big and whole... Blackhowling if I'm not mistaken, you are also running a business of some sort right? But still, you do support putting up prices... I like customer oriented thoughts such as yours...

In most places, business owners will listen to customers "wants" and try to improve and cater for them.

In this country, business owners will advocate for practices that is convenient to them. Customers will try to fight for their right and voice out. Some business owners give a damn and change. Some damn lanc and don't gve a fk. "You want yo buy, buy. If not fk off". Walau... :banghead:

Online Marketing Trend:-

There is few ways seller do their business!
Seller - Offer me / NEGO / Call / ASK / RM1XXX / RM1200 Firm

but there is only 1 way buyer buy their goods
Buyer - PM ME YOUR BEST PRICE PLS or DISCOUNT!!!

im not a seller, but i did sell some of my stuff on9 before...
i also did buy on9 stuff quite many times before...

i always feel that seller posted with price tag always WIN!
those without i wont be bother asking...
so i totally agree on this topic! dun waste yours n our times...

i know there is alot kiamsap ppl or ppl who doesnt know how to read always asking for a best price even though a price is already stated there!
i wont do this unless d seller stated NEGO!!! muahaha... usually nego only happen in forum

this is my experience, i sold an item on lowyat forum before, n i had stated my price n actually my price is abit expensive than other BUT!
i had my reason n i totally believe my stuff do worth this value! well 1st day of my post... around 10 pm...
all of them asking me for best price! i was totally annoy n angry but hence!!! CUSTOMER ALWAYS CORRECT!!!
kanasai so wat can i do, i cant blaste them or post "stop pm for best price" else i lose everything...
just reply n said my price is firm n explain why i sell at this price n hope they understand...
some jerk r saying other r selling cheaper... still my decision is firm, i wont lower n i believe serious buyer will get it...
so finally around 1 month really got ppl bought de n that fella actually bargain wit me few times for cheaper price
but i rejected n on d day we cod he told me "actually your price is reasonable!"
i was like WTF... if reasonable dun la bargain so much... sipet betul...

SELLER
DETAILS (warranty/condition/material/quality/COD venue) will really help alot... n price tag is 1 of d details which is damn important!
even if u dun state your price... COMPETITION WILL ALWAYS HERE!!! NO ESCAPE!!!
just believe in your product n services... if u think its worth this value... be firm on it... just put it up n dun chance d value!
customers always right... we cant blame them for asking discount even price is stated! but seller have their OWN RIGHTS as well!!!
buyer u can said "lu suka u beli, lu tak suka pergi hisap..." said it in your own heart enough! LOL...
so u doenst need 2 give discount for them becuz this is your RIGHTS! if u believe your price is reasonable la

conclucsion : POST UP YOUR VALUE! every1 had a value! lol

Aiya, it is already a culture or tradition in this automotive marketplace for one to call/sms/pm/email for price.

In such arguments, a "fishbone" analysis has to be done.

Objective: To identify the reason for sellers for not stating the price.

http://www.vectorstudy.com/management_theories/img/fishbone_diagram.gif

My opinion will be,

Seller gets the product from a supplier. The supplier doesn't give the seller a price list. However, the supplier himself doesn't have a price list . The supplier has to inquire the price from the manufacturer. The manufacturer doesn't want to give the price list. The reason could be the manufacturer wants to control the market or the manufacturer does not want to review the price list to its competitor due to similar products.

Furthermore, another factor could be. The seller is already used to inquire the price from the supplier.