GST - Go, Squeeze Them.

Let's stick to the topic which is GST and what it entails.

The Malaysian Bar Association has already put out their thoughts on this so I won't bother repeating word for word everything that was said. You can read the article here :-

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/general_opinions/comments/understanding_gst.html

The following points are important :-

1. It's not a multiple-tiered tax as had been suggested by the original poster. Consumers of the same unit of product on the same supply chain can claim a tax refund (credit) on tax already paid.

2. They are planning for 'zero-rating' GST on essential goods and services as a means to alleviate burden on the poor.

3. GST at the proposed 4% is meant to replace the current sales & service tax of 10% and 5%. Depending on the rates that certain goods & services are currently taxed, GST may or may not be cheaper on different commodities.

The current angst expressed by most people is understandable in light of the very public failings of this Government to address various issues that have an impact on the rakyat's perception that their rights are being looked after, notably with the use of public funds, race & religion and dubious enforcement.

But these are issues not related to GST in any literal sense.

Sadly, the idea that this Govt. is corrupt and incompetent is something that seem to have been burned into the national consciouness of this country. That is why it is so hard to sell a Govt. package like GST to a lot of rakyat because ppl assume by default that any proposal from the Govt. is automatically tainted with shit.

If you look at it objectively, GST has merits. It is untested against the economic conditions of this country but has been tested in other countries with varying degrees of success.

As a monetary package there is probably much to recommend for GST.

However, irrespective of how good a package may be, the people implementing it must be seen to be beyond reproach and of the highest integrity.

The problem is not with GST. The real problem is with public perception of Govt. integrity.

For that, the Govt. can only blame itself. They did a poor job at managing theri image, and so it is hard for the average guy on the street to give the G the benefit of the doubt.

As the Bar Association said, the Govt. need to knuckle down and explain this GST clearly. Whether or not the public is prepared to listen is quite another matter.

Azizi,

I appreciate what you are saying. I don't doubt that your kampung and your community has been a much better place to live because of the efforts of this Govt to serve your constituency. I do wish however that such exemplary service had been applied wholesale through all tiers of Govt and constituents. While you might feel that nothing is wrong, people do not simply become angry out of nothing. Some of the issues discussed are real and urgent. We like to think that nothing bad is happening but I can assure you that people are neither blind nor ignorant. There is a real basis for all that worry and that is why people are speaking out.

---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:23 PM ----------

You can complain, but must make sense.

CSL,

You're a pretty vocal guy. You have a boat-load of opinions. And you are not afraid of telling the forum over few times that you are a senior and how it is sometimes difficult to get your points across to the younger ones.

If it is true that age alone was a pre-requisite for wisdom, then the opinions of the younger ppl probably won't matter. I hardly think that is the case.

Common sense is something you have or you don't, no matter how old or how young.

Being older probably means you have seen a lot more of the world.

But the ability to learn, to perceive logic and to communicate clearly and persuasively is an ability that escapes even many senior people.

That is why success comes to people of all different ages. Being older, does not mean your views take priority over the younger ones.

The next time you want to play up the age-gap issue, you might want to refer back to that thread titled 'Whether Malaysians can discuss sensitive issues openly' (http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...malaysian-been-able-to-discuss-it-openly.html)

I think in terms of clarity of arguments in that thread, the younger folks in there gave it back to you as good as you gave to them. I would even venture to say that while many posters there addressed your arguments directly point by point with well-measured reasons, you seem to have refrain from replying directly to a lot of pertinent issues that was raised to you in that thread.

FVel,
Thanks for the information. For me, I'm aware of all the bad and the negatives...but i also can 'see' the good and the positives done by them. Sometimes, we have to believe that as long the leader is human (no matter who?) it can't be perfect to everybody.

For me, I don't mind to chip in (GST), have to live with it. To contribute a little that eventually will benefit the rakyat. Bcoz we have to be together to 'correct' almost everything of the wrong doing done in the past.

I certainly hope so my friend. Not to say Najib isn't trying to right things, but really I don't envy his task. Right now, it's a really big hill to climb. Part of all that difficulty to regain public confidence is BN's own fault in not managing its reps, the othe part is continued capitalization of these failings by other political parties.

Take for instance this GST package. Personally, knowing what I know, I think's it's worth a try. But not everyone will tell you the accurate information. I attended a ceramah by DAP a fortnight ago and Kit Siang was suggesting that GST will be an additional burden to the taxpayers. What he did not elaborate was that GST is meant to replace the current sales & services tax on various commodities. So Kit Siang is not letting ppl know the full picture obviously to get you not to support the package.

Politics is a always a dirty business.

Don't be like that lar Unker. :biggrin: Only giving my opinion mar . Don't shoot me lar.

I'm wrong a lot of times oso. I thought the tits on my ex was real...Kaninbu they were implants.

I'm just totally shattered by that revelation :thefinger:

GST - Go Suck Tits!

Straying a bit, drivers are mostly on tolled highways so what's with the roadtax still? Shouldnt it be reduced to a logical figure?

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/2/21/focus/5711137&sec=focus

Wahlan, this thread still alive :biggrin: :itsme: Just passed through a bit and found out that I'm actually quite young. The only problem is having this mid life crisis 15 years too early :biggrin: Root cause is the working environment full with old man :biggrin:

Whatever is it, just live with it and taste the process. If you had watched the movie [bodyguard and assassin] aka 十月圍城 , you should appreciate what you are having today. Life is short, spend it with happiness in stead of hate.

"Couldn't agree anymore"

is not the same as

"Couldn't agree more"

Which meaning were you referring to ?

Nit-picker :bootyshake:

That would be like the 'pot calling the kettle black' considering you have a habit of writing a lot of stuff that are just outlandishly incorrect

.......for example, like your starting post :-

Go, Squeeze Them (GST).

Our Rakyat do not fully understand the implication of GST

GST is a multi-stage tax system. ( TRY TO UNDERSTAND THIS !!!!!)

Everything the sellers sold, from manufacturer, wholesaler to retailers,
collect GST for the government. Unlike the the current sales and service
tax (SST) is a single-stage tax. Only one party along the supply chain
collect the SST for the government. If the manufacturer collects the tax,
the rest are not allowed to collect.

Just imagine every seller add GST when they sell. ( READ N TRY TO
UNDERSTAND THIS !!!!! )

Hahahaha ! That's rich :rofl:

GST is NOT a multi-stage tax.

Egg in face. Foot in mouth.....duhhhhh :stupido2:

Right back at ya......:reddy:

That would be like the 'pot calling the kettle black' considering you have a habit of writing a lot of stuff that are just outlandishly incorrect

.......for example, like your starting post :-

Hahahaha ! That's rich :rofl:

GST is NOT a multi-stage tax.

Egg in face. Foot in mouth.....duhhhhh :stupido2:

Right back at ya......:reddy:

Pot calling the kettle black? speak for yourself ,I am not in your league :adore:

Well, I brought something to the table to discuss in kind, what have you to show? apart from trying to instigate and showing your superiority complex name calling ? grow up, I can agree to disagree but your mud slinging tendencies bore me.:thefinger:

Now that gomen is a few avenue short of milking money the country's 7% deficit must be getting unbareble real soon.

A lot of people still don't understand how the system works. To make it short, Sales tax or GST, neither one can effect the current price with a big margin. Basically, GST system is to get money from businessmen but create a way to prevent them to channel the sales tax back to consumer. The higher they markup the price, the higher tax for them to pay. Meanwhile, the market demand will restrict the businessmen for marking too high. End of the day, gov can make more money and consumers can have greater power. As simple as that. The person who beh song is either businessmen or middle man. That's why they use many ways to brain wash some people and say GST not good.

We as a consumer, should know that whatever is it, if the price not fair, just don't buy. Use the market demand power to make the price down. We have to use our upper head decide, not the bottom one. See branded item or fancy item will easily get hard on, die die also wanna race with people, gip you a RM200k annual income also you will shout money not enough. Another failure from education ministry.

Car also overpriced, but you need one so you can't just dont buy...

Anyway, government will postpone the plan till after GE... again... They really like announce all the action first, then only gather people's opinion, then only found out some flaw here and there, then POSTPONE... Where is the god damn planning???

Too many people has no balls to face the globalization challenge. Think about the vote ticket, the gov have to cancel what suppose to be good for the country in long run. BTW, not everyone has a car. Those who only has a kapchai or even just a pair of slippers, they still survive around us. We are not suppose to make ourselves turn and become like a strawberry. Looks good outside but press little bit straight become a mess.

I do not think that the tax is based on the mark-up as you say it but more of the cost of the item, if I read GST correctly.

You mentioned that the owner of businesses are the ones who have bones to pick on GST, could you share some example?

I am not patronising anyone with my questions but I want to be sure where we stand in this discussion and to those add hominems, stay away.

Those who use kapcai maybe because they don't try hard to get a car... Is this not logical?

How bout those who work hard trying to get better car but have to compromise with lower category car due to some stupid policy? Is this fair??

Almost all policy are good on paper, problem lies with those who implement it... Hey NEP supposed to run only 20yrs, but it's still on-going till now... And you expect people to believe same bunch of people that claiming THEY ARE HELPING US?? I would rather be small balls than dead being drained dry. Go ahead, keep compromising until one day when you regret then the story of frog in boiling water will come to you mind.

example:
Levs jeans. Last time cost from Penang factory (insider curi curi sell) RM40 without label. They export to US and sew the badge on, then send back to Malaysia and sell RM2xx. Year end sales discount still can earn 30-60% profit margin depends on which design (sorry, cannot disclose show name who leak this info). People still crazy about it although it is expensive. But it still will break down as other cheaper jeans. With the GST implement, to maintain the profit margin, the price must be hiked. At this time, business will lose at certain % . Sales drop means either need to spend money on advertisement or sell at lower price, else will lose the market slowly and later on become history. From here, we can see:

1. Gov get more money.
2. Distributor and dealers earn less
3. Cannot sell high due to market demand and also marketing competition.
4. Create opportunity for small business start up people.
5. Consumer has more choice.
6. Higher price can educate consumer to spend money wisely and not so easy to be effect by ads.
7. Not every thing also kena GST and not every mamak shop can do RM500k business annually. Less monopoly by certain big company/shop.
8. Many more but people will start complain me for writing too long as usual.

You have to go and figure out yourselves the rest.

ZAC, what is need and what is luxury have big different. No rice then have to eat han-shi, horse die have to walk down the road. Any way will do as long as life is still going on. Unlimitedly after something which you cannot afford will make you suffer and the affordability will depends on your capability or someone who spare you their capability. Free market has its rules and the gov had interfere it for too long already. If no one dare to step out the 1st step, everything will remain and will be overtaken by other countries. I don't really wanna talk about NEP because it will lead to another essay or even book. You have the choice to take it as something that unfair, or something that to guaranty non bumi's future. Non bumi leaders who agreed with the policy in the past were not stupid people. A wild mushroom is stronger than a house grown strawberry is a fact. Wanna take it or not, depends on if you are willing to suffer for your next generation future. Malaysia is one of the best training ground for me and my son.