Let's stick to the topic which is GST and what it entails.
The Malaysian Bar Association has already put out their thoughts on this so I won't bother repeating word for word everything that was said. You can read the article here :-
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/general_opinions/comments/understanding_gst.html
The following points are important :-
1. It's not a multiple-tiered tax as had been suggested by the original poster. Consumers of the same unit of product on the same supply chain can claim a tax refund (credit) on tax already paid.
2. They are planning for 'zero-rating' GST on essential goods and services as a means to alleviate burden on the poor.
3. GST at the proposed 4% is meant to replace the current sales & service tax of 10% and 5%. Depending on the rates that certain goods & services are currently taxed, GST may or may not be cheaper on different commodities.
The current angst expressed by most people is understandable in light of the very public failings of this Government to address various issues that have an impact on the rakyat's perception that their rights are being looked after, notably with the use of public funds, race & religion and dubious enforcement.
But these are issues not related to GST in any literal sense.
Sadly, the idea that this Govt. is corrupt and incompetent is something that seem to have been burned into the national consciouness of this country. That is why it is so hard to sell a Govt. package like GST to a lot of rakyat because ppl assume by default that any proposal from the Govt. is automatically tainted with shit.
If you look at it objectively, GST has merits. It is untested against the economic conditions of this country but has been tested in other countries with varying degrees of success.
As a monetary package there is probably much to recommend for GST.
However, irrespective of how good a package may be, the people implementing it must be seen to be beyond reproach and of the highest integrity.
The problem is not with GST. The real problem is with public perception of Govt. integrity.
For that, the Govt. can only blame itself. They did a poor job at managing theri image, and so it is hard for the average guy on the street to give the G the benefit of the doubt.
As the Bar Association said, the Govt. need to knuckle down and explain this GST clearly. Whether or not the public is prepared to listen is quite another matter.
Azizi,
I appreciate what you are saying. I don't doubt that your kampung and your community has been a much better place to live because of the efforts of this Govt to serve your constituency. I do wish however that such exemplary service had been applied wholesale through all tiers of Govt and constituents. While you might feel that nothing is wrong, people do not simply become angry out of nothing. Some of the issues discussed are real and urgent. We like to think that nothing bad is happening but I can assure you that people are neither blind nor ignorant. There is a real basis for all that worry and that is why people are speaking out.
---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:23 PM ----------
CSL,
You're a pretty vocal guy. You have a boat-load of opinions. And you are not afraid of telling the forum over few times that you are a senior and how it is sometimes difficult to get your points across to the younger ones.
If it is true that age alone was a pre-requisite for wisdom, then the opinions of the younger ppl probably won't matter. I hardly think that is the case.
Common sense is something you have or you don't, no matter how old or how young.
Being older probably means you have seen a lot more of the world.
But the ability to learn, to perceive logic and to communicate clearly and persuasively is an ability that escapes even many senior people.
That is why success comes to people of all different ages. Being older, does not mean your views take priority over the younger ones.
The next time you want to play up the age-gap issue, you might want to refer back to that thread titled 'Whether Malaysians can discuss sensitive issues openly' (http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...malaysian-been-able-to-discuss-it-openly.html)
I think in terms of clarity of arguments in that thread, the younger folks in there gave it back to you as good as you gave to them. I would even venture to say that while many posters there addressed your arguments directly point by point with well-measured reasons, you seem to have refrain from replying directly to a lot of pertinent issues that was raised to you in that thread.
The Malaysian Bar Association has already put out their thoughts on this so I won't bother repeating word for word everything that was said. You can read the article here :-
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/general_opinions/comments/understanding_gst.html
The following points are important :-
1. It's not a multiple-tiered tax as had been suggested by the original poster. Consumers of the same unit of product on the same supply chain can claim a tax refund (credit) on tax already paid.
2. They are planning for 'zero-rating' GST on essential goods and services as a means to alleviate burden on the poor.
3. GST at the proposed 4% is meant to replace the current sales & service tax of 10% and 5%. Depending on the rates that certain goods & services are currently taxed, GST may or may not be cheaper on different commodities.
The current angst expressed by most people is understandable in light of the very public failings of this Government to address various issues that have an impact on the rakyat's perception that their rights are being looked after, notably with the use of public funds, race & religion and dubious enforcement.
But these are issues not related to GST in any literal sense.
Sadly, the idea that this Govt. is corrupt and incompetent is something that seem to have been burned into the national consciouness of this country. That is why it is so hard to sell a Govt. package like GST to a lot of rakyat because ppl assume by default that any proposal from the Govt. is automatically tainted with shit.
If you look at it objectively, GST has merits. It is untested against the economic conditions of this country but has been tested in other countries with varying degrees of success.
As a monetary package there is probably much to recommend for GST.
However, irrespective of how good a package may be, the people implementing it must be seen to be beyond reproach and of the highest integrity.
The problem is not with GST. The real problem is with public perception of Govt. integrity.
For that, the Govt. can only blame itself. They did a poor job at managing theri image, and so it is hard for the average guy on the street to give the G the benefit of the doubt.
As the Bar Association said, the Govt. need to knuckle down and explain this GST clearly. Whether or not the public is prepared to listen is quite another matter.
Azizi,
I appreciate what you are saying. I don't doubt that your kampung and your community has been a much better place to live because of the efforts of this Govt to serve your constituency. I do wish however that such exemplary service had been applied wholesale through all tiers of Govt and constituents. While you might feel that nothing is wrong, people do not simply become angry out of nothing. Some of the issues discussed are real and urgent. We like to think that nothing bad is happening but I can assure you that people are neither blind nor ignorant. There is a real basis for all that worry and that is why people are speaking out.
---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:23 PM ----------
You can complain, but must make sense.
CSL,
You're a pretty vocal guy. You have a boat-load of opinions. And you are not afraid of telling the forum over few times that you are a senior and how it is sometimes difficult to get your points across to the younger ones.
If it is true that age alone was a pre-requisite for wisdom, then the opinions of the younger ppl probably won't matter. I hardly think that is the case.
Common sense is something you have or you don't, no matter how old or how young.
Being older probably means you have seen a lot more of the world.
But the ability to learn, to perceive logic and to communicate clearly and persuasively is an ability that escapes even many senior people.
That is why success comes to people of all different ages. Being older, does not mean your views take priority over the younger ones.
The next time you want to play up the age-gap issue, you might want to refer back to that thread titled 'Whether Malaysians can discuss sensitive issues openly' (http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...malaysian-been-able-to-discuss-it-openly.html)
I think in terms of clarity of arguments in that thread, the younger folks in there gave it back to you as good as you gave to them. I would even venture to say that while many posters there addressed your arguments directly point by point with well-measured reasons, you seem to have refrain from replying directly to a lot of pertinent issues that was raised to you in that thread.

Just passed through a bit and found out that I'm actually quite young. The only problem is having this mid life crisis 15 years too early