Lowered sifu...

sonictheory said:
btw, if lowered, and we go fast then go on a bumpy road all of sudden...the wheel will touch the arch also rite?... guess i really need to change rims first to see how is it going on....had seen some city that lowered but din put on bodykit...maybe this is the reason lah...but then d very nice...yeap...the city same as my signature....btw, those lowered spring that we buy is it already fixed? i mean the height...just straight away install into our car one izzit?...
i think ur main goal is to make ur car like ur siggie rite?/... for real life vr hard ler...
plus, when going over bumpy road fast (accidently), i'm sure the first thing u worry is not ur wheels touching the arch... is whether ur rims bent or not...
as for me, not too big rims couple with cool bodykit would be nice enough lo... lowered ur car a little more (but not too much till have to worry this and that) would be a bonus... :)

sonictheory said:
no respond one :(...

Get a set of Eibach or Apex springs. It is possible to keep your stock abs. Should lower your ride by at least 20mm-30mm. The springs, first hand, should be stiff enough, so you don't scrape the ground everytime you go over a hump or bump. The stock abs should retain the comfort.

Eibach and Apex are one of the few progressive springs in the market. You get pretty good handling and comfort. Good compromise.

sonictheory said:
wats long owes?... so means now all stay stock wth 16" inch rim only?... if lowered can i pass thru those place like sg wang parking, times square all those basement parking without kena scratch??...

if wan lower n din get scartch, then thats not lower lor.. agree with zth, change the rims 1st, u will c the different le.. if not satisfied, then only change springs / abs . scartch sure will kena de, matter of little or more..

gloss said:
if wan lower n din get scartch, then thats not lower lor.. agree with zth, change the rims 1st, u will c the different le.. if not satisfied, then only change springs / abs . scartch sure will kena de, matter of little or more..
yealer... of coz there are chances, even with stock abs n springs, that u will scratch those 'home made' bumps... (hate those idiots DIY make high high bumps in front of their house)
but if ur car arent lowered too much, then wont have to worry so much for scratching ur car even going over small small humps lo... got difference geh...

skywalker...yeah but not that low lo, coz if make it to that one, sure put my car into show room enuff, otherwise sure pecah my kit...agree abt worrying this and that lo...but then i have seen a few change rims without lowered compare with lowered one is totally diff look lo... how to lowered a car not too low? i tot all spring fix in term of height?...still not get it...

yeah thinking of changing Eibach if really intend to change one...

so the conclusion is lowered is only for looks and more stable when taking corner...other than that its more into worry this and that...true o not?

n also stable when taking ur car into high speed. cuz the wind flow is better.

i heard most lowered springs have almost similar height except for eibach... coz eibach lowered a bit only, should be good enough... if u want optimum one, go for adjustables lo... u want how low also can, can adjust the height ur own style...
experience after changing to lower springs??... nope... coz i havent change mine also... haha... all i said above is what i know only, not experienced...

PS: no money for trial n error must think deeply before mod...

haha same with me lo...must think deeply before mod, if not put liao sure waste....thats why i wanna ask too much of Q before i invest in it to prevent regret and disappointment...pocket not that deep...have to think all the factors that hav possibility happen... btw, thx for all the replies...

so which suspension setup u'll go for??... think wisely or u'll lose some big cash...
some say even with sport rims on, ur car height is stock isnt gonna look good... their advice is to lower the car then only change rims...
but for me i think better change rims adi only go for suspension la... coz its hard to come across the rim u like ma... install adi only mess with the suspension setup lo...

i also blur lah now...just aim rim first....then only think later lah... i've seen some car with perfect lowered height lah..which mean still got 2-3 finger can go in, dunno what spring is it...i've seen my fren car...even half finger also cant in, see him drive also suffer...aih.....and i also hear honda suspension no good lah....after change spring...sure sooner the abs konk this and that...i also sweat lah... save the money also not enuff to mod...

change rims first. not satisfy only think of spring n ab lor..

lower also hard to pandu de sometime..

lower hard to pandu??... cause have to worry hitting anything under the car??... or handling problem??...
i thought handling should improve after lowering the car???

ya. lower mean the car gravity is lower, its more stable. but many thing need to be consider.

after lower, will it "kong" when full loaded.. will the tyre hit the inner fender when making a turn... n etc.

ooo... so thats ur meaning of hard to drive lar... in short means many things to consider when lowered the car lo... haih, thought handling will be worse after lowering the car...
thats vr normal la when u lower ur car... alwiz have to worry this worry that... so the tip here is not to lower ur car too much... and have extra stroke/travel place for ur suspension... (thats what i learned from watching BMI)

but thats the body height ma... now the thing to worry about is ur car ground clearance... lowering ur car will make ur car ground clearance smaller...
if u dont like the look of ur city tall tall body, chop it off lo... american style... haha
joking la... if after lowering ur car still feel bodyroll, add some bars lo... there are many bars in the market ma... front struts, rear bar, room bar, lower rear, antiroll bar etc...
after install sure stable...

huhu. nice discussion. so how's going on to your car, sonic?

so i learnt few things from this thread. to get rid of some ugly gaps between the tyre and arch, it's not necessary to opt for the lowered springs.

let say i'm using 15" rims with 55 series.
if i change to 16" rims while maintaining 55 series tyres, the new rims will reduce the gaps bout 1" thus making the look better. correct me if i'm wrong sifus.

me using stock wira se also sometime have problem at bumps.. sometimes piping.. sometimes bodykit.. now using 15"...

yalah...so freaking old liao...my car dunno lowered how long liao forgotten the date :D ... now few place cannot go d...kena skirting :D .. now problem is front is higher than rear ...can this problem be solve?..or changing absorber would actually help?