LAN

XaMaX

alright...my office uses a small Lan...around 20 users.

However, my connection speed is so damn slow. is there anyway i can have more speed to my pc?

i understand that th speed is locked by the IT support guy. but why he lock the speed?

help me all sifus

;) u mean your connection to Internet in LAN or what?

maybe he suspect you guys playing too much LAN games hehehehe ;)

The correct term is 'capping'. This is to prevent staff from sucking too much bandwidth (for downloading via BT) and to implement 'fair use' policy.

Another problem with slowdown is the use of hubs instead of switches. A hub is already obsolete and many ppl now use switches.

Last but not least... if u are required to log-on to a domain (running on Windows 2000 Server or better), it could the server problem also (too much load).

Capping is usually down on the router / firewall / server side. You really need the admin password 1st. Otherwise, it would be a complete waste of time.

be nice/good to the admin. then the LAN is yours ;)

guest status power is limited. at least get power user status.
admin? whoa.... BIG ACCESS ler ;)