Expertise in computer

moppy

I don't want to format my pc.

Last month my laptop was infected by a worm, anyway the worm was removed but I think the worm was infected and change my registry.

Everytime I started my XP Pro, I got a delay about 1 to 1.5 mins at the starting. Then everything is fine. So, I want to ask is there anyway to fix this. I don't backup my registry b4.

It's very annoying, imaging will delay 1 to 1.5 mins at the startup.

Well, I'm using 1.6 centrino and 512MB laptop. Actually when it's new the speed is quite good but not now :( .

Expertise pls help me.

TQ.

Originally posted by moppy@Aug 20 2004, 05:39 PM

Last month my laptop was infected by a worm, anyway the worm was removed but I think the worm was infected and change my registry.

Everytime I started my XP Pro, I got a delay about 1 to 1.5 mins at the starting. Then everything is fine. So, I want to ask is there anyway to fix this. I don't backup my registry b4.

Well, I'm using 1.6 centrino and 512MB laptop. Actually when it's new the speed is quite good but not now :( .

Expertise pls help me.

TQ.
Dude, you didn't backup your registry and you don't want to reformat? No cure la. You should just format and reinstall windows, download all the necessary updates and if your windows version is the original thing, install service pack 2.

Originally posted by moppy@Aug 20 2004, 05:39 PM

Expertise pls help me.

TQ.
i'm curious to know, backup your registry? please let me know more about this one.

and basically, why don't you want to format the pc?

well.. i suggest u remove the potential virus or worm or trojan by some remover tool

go www.grisoft.com > download > utilities

use those tool to scan ur system.

then clean ur system startup by goto > start > run > type "msconfig" > startup > deselect those unecessary program startup which can slow ur system down.

defrag ur system too.

these step might help abit.

but ur problem with slow startup is very general.. it could be cause by many possible issue. due check wat u hav install and wat program will startup during bootup of ur pc.

do try to notice wat u see and how the system behave and tell us more about it. such as wat do u hav in ur system. possible nortan anti virus program or anything.

some program will cause ur system to startup slow.
for example: nortan anti virus slow ur pc down a lot. oracle database also slow down ur boot up time. and many many more possibility.

do try the basic step i suggest and tell us mre about wat u see wif ur notebook.

i understand why u dun wan to format ur pc. it be too hassle. backing up all the work and program setting and stuff consume time. The correct way of using pc is to solve something without reformating it. only reformat it when it is the last resort.

cheer :)

try setting an IP address rather then assign ip address automatically...

No it's not the program I install.

When after startup, everthing had run fine and quite fast but after running all the component or programme in autorun, it's like freeze up for a while...

The viruses, trojan etc being removed, had tried scan online.....

But what happen if it's freeze up at the begining... I'm sure the worm had altered or changed something in my registry....

windows will always be windows. after being attacked by many things, it will always lose some of its smoothness and stability. over time, things will start to get problematic, small corrupt stuffs turn up, rubbish gets stuck up in the registry and system files, and everything starts to slow down and give problems.

after some time u will always have to reformat and install windows afresh. which is why i always have one "Windows Only" partition which only contains windows(and stuff like IE, media player of coz) and nothing else. my advice is to start over. and dont forget to create a partition for windows, and some other partitions for ur other stuff.

my 2 cents.

I would suggest u do a reinstallation... this process is easy n won't erase all your data.

When done, go online n patch everything up.

I did the same for my home file server (running on Windows 2000 Server) and it has been problem free since then... almost 6 months already.

format n reinstall is safer!!!!

it wont take too long time mah!!! ez oso !!!!

erm.. i got a tool can fix ur registry 1... called registry mechanic... quite good i can say... but u hav to find the crack cos wat u downloaded is just the trial version n won fix much registry prob for ur pc

ehhh.. i think before u format ur Laptop...

try this....

1) Go START and click RUN
2) Type in MSconfig
3)Select the STARTUP tab
4) Go through the list of startup program
5) Uncheck those spyware/suspicious porgrams
6) Restart your PC and see whether it will load for a few mins or not