spyware, adware, keylogger??

Booost

ok guys, this is serious prob i hav wh my computer. lately, ive realise that my computer has infected wh either one of those spywares, adwares or keylogger/ trojan. everytime when i online, once in a while, there will b an popup of an empty page wh weird address which does not exist. n once in a while, there will b some shockwave file that popup too.

anyways, ive tried using spyware doctor AND ad-aware SE, but they still popup once in a while. formatting my computer will b the last resort n i dun wan to format my computer. too many things to backup wh little space. :o(

anyone can recommend any softwares or ways to get rid of these thing? pls help!

go here and scan ur pc for free...

http://www.pandasoftware.com/cmsPanda/Templates/Plantilla_1_Placeholder.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fproducts%2factivescan%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bEA7E04BE-1060-4DC8-910D-A66521B517AB%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#

try using CCleaner..
go to download.com and search for it..
download and fix the error...after that use the fix issue..it will scan your pc registry problem..hope that help..

K_Takuya said:
go here and scan ur pc for free...

http://www.pandasoftware.com/cmsPanda/Templates/Plantilla_1_Placeholder.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fproducts%2factivescan%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bEA7E04BE-1060-4DC8-910D-A66521B517AB%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#

thanks dude!! but i tried it n when i clicked "SCAN", it does nuthing n i kept waiting but still nuthing happens. i used IE like it stated. :o(

Booost said:
thanks dude!! but i tried it n when i clicked "SCAN", it does nuthing n i kept waiting but still nuthing happens. i used IE like it stated. :o(
bert bert.... surfing too much porn eh. heh he hheh...

normally worst case scenario u gotta do it manually by cleaning the host file, clean the registry manually, etc...

zephyr3d said:
bert bert.... surfing too much porn eh. heh he hheh...

normally worst case scenario u gotta do it manually by cleaning the host file, clean the registry manually, etc...

lol JUlz..... anyway, wat u mean by cleaning the host file manually? my problem is that i dun even know where all these thing comes from. ive thought of editing the registry manually but it'll take ages n i dun wanna mess wh my registry. u got any ideas?

I dont think so u can clean manually, unless ure a systems support or systems engineer. U may try the three following programs .. tats im using :

1. LavaSoft AD Aware SE (Run this in Windows SAFE MODE)
- Reason im asking u to run in SAFE MODE is because, it wont be in memory resident area, so it can be traced and erased at the same time. If u run in normal mode, u cant clean it because it resides in memory.

2. AVG Anti Virus
- A simple free edition but powerful enuf in cleaning service, have a good try.

3. Registry Mechanic
- A CRACK is needed to activate it because its not FREE, a very good use in for normal home users and no need worry it will corrupt ure REGISTRY buddy .. Registry Mechanic is a PRO!

4. LavaSoft AD Watch Plus
- This program is very useful to block pop-ups, ad ware and spywares, better than google and better than yahoo blocker.

Having all the 4 things above u can surf anysite, anytime & anyway ... WAREZ, RESTRICTED, or ADULT sites .. No Problem .. just restart in SAFE MODE and clean it ;)

Cheers!

sakuraguy said:
I dont think so u can clean manually, unless ure a systems support or systems engineer. U may try the three following programs .. tats im using :

- Reason im asking u to run in SAFE MODE is because, it wont be in memory resident area, so it can be traced and erased at the same time. If u run in normal mode, u cant clean it because it resides in memory.

2. AVG Anti Virus

3. Registry Mechanic
- A CRACK is needed to activate it because its not FREE, a very good use in for normal home users and no need worry it will corrupt ure REGISTRY buddy .. Registry Mechanic is a PRO!

- This program is very useful to block pop-ups, ad ware and spywares, better than google and better than yahoo blocker.

Having all the 4 things above u can surf anysite, anytime & anyway ... WAREZ, RESTRICTED, or ADULT sites .. No Problem .. just restart in SAFE MODE and clean it ;)

Cheers!
i am an IT personnel here... i used to do lots of cleaning for the users... crapz.. thank goodness now itz not my job... clean my hands and let other ppl do liao.

anyway, normally those badly infected ones, tolls like spyware removal can't really do much. U gotta manually trace the executables that are running upon startup at the background.. terminate it, then remove it fr registry, clear the temp folders... look for the host file, c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts

clear all the rubbishes added into it by spywares... u can use advace spyware removal like hijackthis... itz powerful, but so much so that u can kill the whole system if u're not careful. hahaha...

as for viruses, try Sysclean... itz far more effective than symantec... n best of all.. itz free.

sorry i can't explain in detailz coz u gotta know what apps u're running in your system to differentiate it fr the spyware/malware in order to remove em fr the registry. So, sakuraguy is right, it may do more harm than good if u're not sure what u're doing.

so, give it a shot at the list of s/w listed above.... else fail.. send it to your lab assistant, or expert friends to help u wit it.

good luck. ;)

by the way, if u successfully remove it, i suggest u install a personal firewall to protect your pc/laptop from external intrusion.... if u're running winxp service pack 2, run the firewall... it should help alittle. If u're willing to try other products... u can try disable winxp firewall and install zonelab, or sygate..... they are really good. It shows all the activities running in/out of your PC... and u can trace who is trying to hijack/hack your pc... and it automatically blocks it for u.

Booost said:
ok guys, this is serious prob i hav wh my computer. lately, ive realise that my computer has infected wh either one of those spywares, adwares or keylogger/ trojan. everytime when i online, once in a while, there will b an popup of an empty page wh weird address which does not exist. n once in a while, there will b some shockwave file that popup too.

anyways, ive tried using spyware doctor AND ad-aware SE, but they still popup once in a while. formatting my computer will b the last resort n i dun wan to format my computer. too many things to backup wh little space. :o(

anyone can recommend any softwares or ways to get rid of these thing? pls help!

booost

i dealt with it last time and here some suggestions

try looking for thse stuffs in www.download.com or in google

1.Trend Micro Anti-Spyware, one of the best anti spyware in market
2.jv16 PowerTools- i use this to delet my unwanted reg entry and also to delete unwanted starting programs.

good luck

dunno le... some rumors said no good for using these..

but one thing, my fren din install any of these, even anti-virus also. till now.. still nothing happen.. weird.. mayb oneday will kena... :biggrin:

thanks for these advice.but still....

sakuraguy said:

thanks! ive tried this in SAFE MODE n it found nuthing at all.

2. AVG Anti Virus

wil try later.

3. Registry Mechanic

yea...tried this still no use.

i hav 2 programs running for this, so still no use. i hav ad-muncher and pop-up stopper.

Cheers!

ok!! updated latest news! i did wat Julz @zephyred told me. cleared my temp files, disabled some startup programs, n went to C:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts n deleted all those hosts that i think very suspicious. n Voila!!!! so far so good....no popups anymore!! hahhaha....thanks julz!! wil belanja u yumchar when i go KL. prob next week!!