Satria 1.3 Engine heating on highway

i oso have this problem wif wira 1.3 but in highway after 20min at constant 120km/h. i never do anything cause i know this is neverending story. the solution, i change the car..hahahha....but seriously temperature issue is always a problem n ppl like never found the answer.yr mechanic will say flush it la then thermostat kong la then change radiator la. if the hose leak is a easy solution n just change it. but if the water is always enuf n the temperature still like tat is where the headache start. good luck.

Yo..bro today no come arr?? waiting u whole day ohhh....
TERMOSTUCK function is when engine hot only give water cross in u cooling system marrr.....macam boil water....let engine alwayls in good working temp.....but termostuck easy kong 1......if cooling system rust more easy kong.....
u bcs is termostuck jam so u hose is very lembut n kering 1...show u liao marr..rite??
fast fast come check again lerrr bro...n check u engine oil n water level in ok level u know...if not engine blow ohhh..bcs u engine is makan minyak hitam liao 1...
hehe yohaness ngam ngam get car marrr....how he know last owner hv overheat or not...if hv the owner also wont say lahhh..
i think the problem is maybe head gasket not nice liao lorr...

hey hey thanks for all the replies...havent been able to determine
the problem up till now. Checked with my mechanic in jb and he said he
had already replaced the water pump with a new one. Waja 2003 checked
my radiator and the water and etc etc are all flowing smoothly. I guess it
would either be my meter ,or gasket burnt already. Will go back JB this weekend
to fix the prob.:)

Well 1st things first.

1. Was cooling system rusty when u first bought the car? Was there any signs of rust at the radiator cap? Inside the expansion tank?

2. Does the water/coolant level went low and needs topping up every time? there may be leak. Conduct pressure test to find out. there may be leak at the radiator hoses, water pump and even at the radiator itself...either the core fins or at the top/bottom casing.

3. Is the cooling fan operating efficiently? revs up the engine at 3,000rpm for a few minutes and see whether temperature increase or not..and whether the cooling fan operates or not. the fan may malfunction due to worn out motor, or defective temperature switch or just simple wiring problem including faulty relay or burnt fusible link.

4. If the radiator looks contaminated with rust inside, there are high chances that it is clogged even though water flow is smooth. out of 30 cores for example if 12 cores are clogged water may still flow but the cooled coolant may not reach the engine in circulation. send radiator to specialist for servicing..this may cost you between RM30-40.

5. do you feel like ur car doesnt have enuff power during acceleration or hill climbing? if its true then possible cylinder head gasket had blown. the easiest way to check is remove radiator cap (only when cold) then crank the engine. if water is blown out from the radiator mouth then it means new head gasket is needed.

gud luck to you..

p/s maybe need to replace the car but i'm juzkidding...

water got get less or not?maybe ur water pressure high and the radiator got hole??or maybe water flow too fast...not enough for the water to remove heat...

Ask your mech to check the water jacket. It's a round shiny thing...like copper colour near the thermostat. How to determine if the water jecket is giving problem? After travelling for long hours...let your car cool for 1/2 hours to 1 hour, then try pressing the radiator hose connected to the block and compare it with another hose connected to the thermostat. If the pressure in the hose connected to the block is higher than the one connected to the thermostat, then it's your water jacket.

facing same problem b4!!
when high way/ high RPM temperature hot!!
when low speed/ RPM temperature low!!

try to check you radiator hose 2-big hose from radiator
3 or 2 (forget already) small hose near to your carburetor (Wira) should be the same

my case is alot of rust jam inside the small hose and cause the flow of water jam (cannot reach termometer) therefore the temperature unstable!!

have a try!! DIY is free!!!

thermostat probably..when start ur engine the thermostat close so that the water inside engine broke warm up quickly n reach the working temperature..when reach certain temp then the thermostat open n make the whole circulation thru whole broke n radiator..if take it out will cauuse that kind of problem..if take tat off really no influence than those japanese engineer is moron..waste money n stuff to build thermostat