Fluctuating engine temperature...

Mr. Slow

I have a problem with my car. The engine temprature seems to be fluctuating under hard driving. But if you drive without stressing it for a while it for a while like 2-3 minutes it settles back to the normal temperature. Could it be the head gasket?
The temprature also rises if I got caught in a jam but never hit the red although it's hovering on the 3/4 mark on the gauge. The coolant level are at recomended and the radiator hose dont have any leaks.
By the way the problem seems to pop up after I installed the Pivot Raizin Spark. I'm not sure if this is the source but I could be wrong.
Please help me.:cry_smile:

check radiator....maybe not sufficient water inside....i experienced this b4

or if u suspect it is cause by the pivot, dismantle it n go for a test drive. if tat really the problem, check wire connection.

if u suspect somewhere leaking, go for radiator check....erm...they wil put a pressure stuff to ur radiator....n check whethere it is leaking anywhere.. (duno wat the thing call)

try to ask your machinic wash you radiator or check you water pum maybe that problem

As I said in my post, the coolant level is at recomended and there's no leak on my hoses. I suspect it's the raizin spark, but I really REALLY hate to pay for it to be uninstalled and then pay it again to be installed if it's not the source of the problem. Gonna cost me at least 60-90bucks.

but you know what... I gonna have the raizin uninstalled tomorrow. I pray it's this thing thats causing the problem, because a head gasket replacement gonna set me back at least RM3k.

Mr. Slow said:
As I said in my post, the coolant level is at recomended and there's no leak on my hoses. I suspect it's the raizin spark, but I really REALLY hate to pay for it to be uninstalled and then pay it again to be installed if it's not the source of the problem. Gonna cost me at least 60-90bucks.

but you know what... I gonna have the raizin uninstalled tomorrow. I pray it's this thing thats causing the problem, because a head gasket replacement gonna set me back at least RM3k.

tiu.....im here to gv u some ideas..plz talk nicely la :angry_smile:

pivot only few cables, wat make it so hard to instal/uninstal?

and if u think cooling system no problem at all n the only problem is pivot n this u oledi KNEW...i wonder y u stil wan to start this thread

What lar.. I doing what you say mah, still want to get angry ah? And like I said, no leak and enough water in radiator lah. It did have a leak before but I've fixed it. The funny thing is, whe it was leaking the temp never go up, only after i patched this leak and fixed the pivot thingy only then the temp went up.

edit: I'm asking for conformation lah... who knows some taikor in this forum who used Raizin spark will tell me it's impossible to have fluctuating engine temp by just adding simple voltage stabilizer device in the ignition loop. Actually It's quite hard to dismantle the device since it's wired to the car ignition system, who knows is make mistake when unplugging it car wont start and then have to call wireman sumore(will add more $$$).

huakenny,
Dude, I ain't siding on anybody but I think you ought to chill out a little. The sentence "As I said in my post" does not mean anything other than just a repeat of what he said in his earlier post. Chill ler... come out TT with me and see me talk crap. hehehe No wait. Come out dim sum with me. hahahhaa

Mr Slow,
I have an almost similar problem too. Hard driving, temp will rise to half. Normal driving, it'll remain at the level below half. What happened with mine was that there was once my water pump died. So the radiator water leak and I didn't know. So I drive and suddenly realize the temperature is almost touching the start of the red zone in the temp meter. I stopped my car, cool it down and took it to the mech. Changed water pump and it was back to normal... but not really normal. Temp fluctuates between the notch below half, and half. Guess it's internal damage already.

Water pump can fail one mah? I thought it was linked with the engine drive belt so short of anything than a broken belt the pump will work? Usually water pump related problem I saw are leaking water pump hoses... seriously need to check this one out lah. Got noise ah if the water pump damage like screeching sound?

One of my most hated car problem is temperature problem. The cause of problem may come from lot of things and its hard to know which is one. It may come from your radiator, hose, fan, termostat, water pump and also head gasket. Try check which of these cause it.

Mr. Slow said:

what car u drive mate?
my honda its consider normal if temp doing half when open Vtec:p
i don't see any problem with that..since it not touch red level high temp..:)

btw, head gasket is not that expensive..:) less than rm100..
unless u wanna change all the head which is unnessasary..
skimmed ur head only need rm60..of course not include ur oil..

do u try to remove ur thermostat n test-drive ur car?

test ur thermostat condition by cook it in boiling water....

water pump will spoilt if ur car is not running with coolant, mean only with water....coz coolant is the main lubricant for ur water pump.

try to check water jacket..etc everything related to cooling system.

BTW,the pivot red is connected inside ur car fuse box rite? dismantle the black cable oso can oledi ma....balut it for secure so wont touch anything to creat spark

Wokeh, yesterday got nothing to do so play around with my car. Manage to uninstalled the pivot spark thingy myself and test drive around a bit. The temperature still rises but this time a bit slower (shows that raizin spark really works giving out big ignition spark till my engine overheat faster).
Talk to a couple of my friends and i think whats wrong with my car is that there's somesort of blockage in the radiator. Am going to send it to workshop on thursday to have it cleaned and hopefully thats the root of my problems. Last time when the radiator was leaking, i only fill it up with normal water so i think foreign objects like dust and mud got pump in my radiator. Now leak sealed and time to clean the radiator!!! HU huhuuu...

Acaii, I'll be extremely miraculously lucky if headgaset change for my car below 1000 because normal scheduled service for my car usually range from rm680-800 depending on spark plugs change or not.