Fluctuating Speedometer... and eventually DEAD!!

celestial

Fluctuating Speedometer... and eventually idle at POINT ZERO!!

Hi... need help here.

The speedometer for my car was fluctuating during smooth driving at highway from:

100kmph --> 20kmph-->80kmph--100kmph (for example)

Hence, I have the speedometer changed, and apparently it was okay for few months, and the same problem occur again!!... and this time is worse.. the speedometer is idle and stay at POINT ZERO.. even when I am moving at ANY speed!!

Can anyone help me to diagnose this problem please? Eventually it lead to the engine indicator lamp turned on as well!! And i thought it was the engine problem, but it was the speedometer I believe.

Is it the wiring problem etc? Any experts can help? But if it is the wiring problem, the changing of the speedometer by the mechanic could have corrected that problem..

Thanks.

Appreciate it.

in my case last time.. its the wiring..
check the wires connected to engine/gearbox [those sockets might be loose]

It's your velocity speed chip. Go change it. Happened twice to me already. Not your meter's problem.

since its about speedo then i wanna ask something here also .. everytime when i rev up to 160 ah for about 5 minutes like that when after that when i slow down i can gear sounds like " tat,tat,tat,tat" coming from my speedo meter... actually issit caused by the thin batang besi which is connected to the speedo? and if it is .. why is that ah ?

get ur mechanic to check the speedometer cable that connects to ur engine bay...... this may be the main culprit......

rayz85 said:
da tatatata sound i oso wanna know wut's dat...... :( damn annoying
it sounds like it wanted to turn..but something blocking the motor *swt*

last time my old saga my mech go change the cable but then after few days same thing happen wan .. its lke once its like that it could not be fixed anymore like that aiyerr... damn annoying now da tatatatatatata sound

Thanks all.. but it was the meter problem.. driving a honda. had the mechanic to change the meter.. cost me few hundred bucks.. now is done.

Cheers.

rayz85 said:
da tatatata sound i oso wanna know wut's dat...... :( damn annoying

i think u seldom drive up to 160km/h....so once u go 160km/h...ur meter not used to it...like jammed oledi coz seldom reach tat level..

got my meaning? maybe la....

Write your reply...