KE70 + RB20

raybakh

My friend and I were discussing on a building a project car using the KE70 chassis and installing RB20 as the heart.

The question are :

1. Had anyone of ZTHian had done it before?

2. If so, do you had any problem with the mounting?

3. Will JPJ kacau since the conversion is more than 25% upgrade (1.3 to 2.0)?

4. Is it rojak (meaning the engine/gearbox = RB20 and axle/LSD using AE86 or can pull everything from the R32?

Been thinking this for a while.namely because KE70 is cheap and the RB20 halfcut is oso cheap, more the HP u gain from the RB20 is tremendous. So, sifoos, pour in ur idea/critics/opinion to help with this conversion.

Thanx.

u'll get more torque with the RB20 but i think SR20 will be the better option as it will not upset the overall balance of the car and it will fit into the engine bay better

But from what i asked/read from the Nissan thread, SR20 is far more hassle in maintenance than RB20.

But i do agree with u since SR20det is surely lighter than RB20.

I think it is quite unstable.. Front heavy and rear quite light. And also the car's body need to strenghten further to compensate the RB 20 weight.
Just my 2-cents

For KE70, there is an Aussie fella with 1G-GTE installed... need to mod the firewall though.

No good. Probably good as a drag car. But for regular days, sure mati lor. I also suggest SR20 or 4AG-TE
Sill dreaming of a V6 logitunal toyota. hehehe.

errr..well..weight balance is one factor....another thing would be..errr..
JPJ can pass meh?

NOt good at all....fit SR20 better,Rb20 is heavy,more maintenace (coz plus 2 more cylinders),need to modified the firewall...etc etc..it should be either SR20,4AGTE,3SGTE,3SGE altezza,F20C s2000 (this one u should try) :D

i also recommend SR20 laa instead of RB20 and nissan parts cheap also la... e.g. my friend bought a NISMO full lock racing LSD for RM300... i was like wtf... :blink:

but SR20 sprocket need to beware lor.. my friend got problem with this 2 times already because of em heavy leg... :lol:

4agte would be another option too and at least the engine is from toyota family :rolleyes:

buying the F20c halfcut waa..that one can cost me another KE70 fully modded with 4Age with AE86 LSD diff..muhahaha..

sommore f20c the engine is "taller" need to lower the engine abit or you can't close your hood. happens on AE86, dunno will happen on KE70 or not, but i asume they are more or less the same.

better put 4agze supercas,then turbocas it make it 4agte,then put microtech..sure kaw-kaw..

or put sr20det,pasang jun cam,TO4E turbine,then put haltech ecu..

Originally posted by 20vturbo@Feb 22 2005, 18:32
better put 4agze supercas,then turbocas it make it 4agte,then put microtech..sure kaw-kaw..

or put sr20det,pasang jun cam,TO4E turbine,then put haltech ecu..
may I add some.... and put some $$$ in... :P :P :P :P coz for sure la.. here cas.. there cas.. your pocket oso must be FULLY CAS... :lol: :lol: :lol:

:o :o :o

btw.. RB20 user here for the past 4 years. who said RB20 hard to maintain? it's very easy to maintain, easy to upgrade and far less hassle than SR20. btw, i've used and owned SR20 before.

Parts, RB20 is cheaper than SR20. don't believe me? go ask around chop shop la.

oh.. but inside KE70? you're better off with a 4AGE engine, supercharged or NA. you can get a very well build up 4AGE turbo for around RM7k to RM8k. by that i mean, it got everything and it's running solid.

putting in a heavier engine like inline 6 in front of the KE70 will make the car unbalance. The car will tend to understeer a lot. I've seen some KE70 with 1G-GTE, even with 1JZ-GTE here in Sabah. all they can do is go straight. very very scary to see these cars take corners. most of the time, the owner would slow down before entering a corner, even a sweeping corner!

if u ask me, get the 4AGE or SR20 or 13B rotary. Easiest route would be the 4AGE, less hassle even with JPJ.

The best would be 13B-REW. Saw one in Sandakan last year.... very very fast and very good handling.

i'd go with 4AGTE in a KE70 anytime (in fact im dreaming of one now).
1.3 to 1.6 still within the 25%...

topui i wanna ask ler.. RB20 got a lot of performance parts in the market?

efini

yep... what u need? hehehe.. most difficult to find is metal head gasket but can order from singapore or japan or customized.

performance parts are a lot. fairly easy to find.