In Jpj Trouble!

duke_gti

Hello guys/sifus, newbie here.

Recently my car kena JPJ inspection and they found out the engine serial number looks 'funny', now they're sending my car to the Chemistry Department to check if the original number is grinded away (like the CSI series where they try to find out the handgun serial number). I bought the car second hand, a GTI with 4G93T. Cam cover is GTI one & the engine block is GTI also (comparing the grant engine number & engine number, which is the same). JPJ said the font on the engine serial number looks smaller than what they used to see. Don't know what previous owner had done.... JPJ said if the tests are ok, they'll release the car, if not, have to change engine. :o

My question is (in case the tests come out not in my favor):
1. Can I change only the block (is it?) where the engine number resides, with proper documentation from kastam etc2. How much will it cost? Labour charges how much pulak?
2. If I kene change the whole engine, how much is it for 4g93t, VR4 or GTI halfcut? The labour charges?
3. Can anyone recommend a good workshop where they can find the halfcut or change the block only & do the installation with harga kawan-kawan.

So far that's it. Hopefully the tests come out ok. Been having trouble sleeping :(
Thank you guys in advance for your help and support.

OMG. Sorry to hear about this. Have you tried approaching the seller?

A GTI halfcut should not cost more than RM5,000. Don't get a VR4 - engine is too old. 4G93T is fine and should not cost more than RM7,000. Better yet, get a 4G63T (Evo III) for RM8,000.

Originally posted by anttyk@Apr 26 2005, 09:34
OMG. Sorry to hear about this. Have you tried approaching the seller?

A GTI halfcut should not cost more than RM5,000. Don't get a VR4 - engine is too old. 4G93T is fine and should not cost more than RM7,000. Better yet, get a 4G63T (Evo III) for RM8,000.
[snapback]928202[/snapback]​

Thanks for the reply. I bought the car thru a 2nd hand dealer. I'm gonna try to find out. If the previous owner did something wrong, I'm pretty much stuck in it whatever happens.
Thanks for the VR4 tip. Are you sure the Evo III is around 8k? Last time I heard it was alot more than 10,000. The upah pasang is around 1,500-2k right? Evo III sounds tempting.

Kawan-kawan, ade idea/input lagi tak? What about just changing the block?

just to share my friend experience
he bought GTi too
after two month JPJ tahan the car for inspection
after inspection found out the chasis n engine is tempered
check with police it's a Curi car...
friend angry!!!
sue the finance coz hiring him undriveable n illegal car
finance pay him back...case close...

i think if JPJ found out ur engine block is tempered
sue back the finance la hehehe

if ur current car already has a gsr powerplant, then y u wanna look for gsr halfcut again??? if it fails inspection then jsut get back a gsr block and re-register ur new engine number...make sure the engine number on the custom form is correct..i failed puspakom once after conversion cos the engine # on the custom form was wrong..CI mixed up wif CT...the 'T' & 'I' looked very similar..so just check first..wat i heard is mitsu engines numbers do not have 'I' or 'O'..

or if u feel the need for more power, then get a vr4 or evo h/cut...no doubt vr4 is an old engine..just do an overhaul during conversion n it will be as good as new..depends on wat u want & ur budget actually...good luck in ur inspection..

in normal situation.. if JPJ found out your engine number been illegally altered.. thats big-big trouble..

Engine no altered no problem
Just the chasis no dont altered only
that is big problem

Originally posted by wildboar@Apr 26 2005, 11:47
if ur current car already has a gsr powerplant, then y u wanna look for gsr halfcut again??? if it fails inspection then jsut get back a gsr block and re-register ur new engine number...make sure the engine number on the custom form is correct..i failed puspakom once after conversion cos the engine # on the custom form was wrong..CI mixed up wif CT...the 'T' & 'I' looked very similar..so just check first..wat i heard is mitsu engines numbers do not have 'I' or 'O'..

or if u feel the need for more power, then get a vr4 or evo h/cut...no doubt vr4 is an old engine..just do an overhaul during conversion n it will be as good as new..depends on wat u want & ur budget actually...good luck in ur inspection..
[snapback]928608[/snapback]​

I wanted just enjin kosong for the GSR because my current engine also GSR-ish. Basically can plug and play and save $$$$$. But if enjin kosong already expensive, might as well get evo/vr4 one. What do you guys reckon?

Originally posted by cmng@Apr 26 2005, 12:04
Engine no altered no problem
Just the chasis no dont altered only
that is big problem
[snapback]928675[/snapback]​

The chassis number is ok. They only doubt the engine number. Which i think is better than the other way around.? :blink:

if engine no problem
just change block only lo

Chasis no tampered mean stolen car or illegal car le
mean big problem ma

Originally posted by cmng@Apr 26 2005, 12:13
if engine no problem
just change block only lo

Chasis no tampered mean stolen car or illegal car le
mean big problem ma
[snapback]928724[/snapback]​

How much do you reckon the block is? Got ppl selling the block only (with proper documentation/kastam papers of course)? TQ

u cannot change juz d block....coz jpj now suspenct u illegal modification d engine by changing d engine by used back d old engine number......

in this case.....since u buy 2nd hand....put all blame to d seller....ask jpj for suggestion or advice.....coz u r innocent ma....if they sue u...u sure kena d....haha

so next time when wanna buy car...beter send car to inspection 1st.....less than rm100 only ma....all setled...rite?

Write your reply...