ICE recommendation

welcome another VIOS member.. hehe..

actually when today i went to the ACCS. shop, i felt threatened & throat being slit by those guys there because i knew nuts about ICE. haha...

And when i saw the INFINITY speaker, it looks plain vanilla.

BTW, oldskoolboy, if using MID speaker, the stock one will be removed right? Or is it just another add-on to the stock speaker? So with 4 mid, and 2 sub need a 2 x 4channel amp right?

Then is MOHAWK good enough for 50% vocal and 50% bassy audio played by me?

kyheng, i think i did't see wrong the price as there's a price tag there unless it is water-set which i doubt it since they let me know also.

Tohsan, relax dude.. hehe..each everyone of us have our own custom-made-golden-ear ma. To me i listen before my friend 5750 and it is quite good but i'm eyeing 7750 that yohannes is selling over here. In terms of SQ, i think 7750 would surpass 5750. Correct me if i'm wrong. And i was told that eclipse isn't good compare to pioneer and kenwood but i shall believe what i hear myself as i'm not upgrading my ICE for others to listen.

B8 Turbo said:
Intrigue,

I'm also TVCM but haven't touch my ICE yet. I have some parts from my previous car that I took out. Here is the list :
1 pair 12" Rockford RF series subs
1 pair 6x9 3-way Infinity Kappa speakers
a 2-channel Rockford amp (black color); wattage dunno; 1st owner gave me
a 2-channel Rockford amp (pinkish color); wattage dunno; 1st owner gave me
a JBL electronic cross-over
Some RCA cables.

I'm looking at Pioneer HU and a good front component set.

Oh before I forget, I'm into SPL. Naturally I'd take out my stock rear speakers but still wanna utilize my Infinity Kappas. They been with me for 10yrs.

My budget is around 1.2k for installation of the above items, tuning, and minor sound proofing.

Workable?

Please sifus advise.

Thanks.

B8 Turbo SOLD liao now a TVCM. Sorry haven't change my nick.

sure workable, just need to add front component speakers, since the 6x9 is going in the rear, and advisable to be powered by head unit, not the amp. let the other amp drive the front components, and the more powerful one drive the subs.

Water set? I don't think so, as this Hu is more than 1 year liao. For some shop this can keep in muzium now, hah. Talk about imatation, maybe the name is Pionner. But the actual name is DEH-5750MP.
Talk about 7750, I think the internal specs is more or less the same, only 7750 can play Itunes. Correct me if wrong.

BTW, oldskoolboy, if using MID speaker, the stock one will be removed right? Or is it just another add-on to the stock speaker? So with 4 mid, and 2 sub need a 2 x 4channel amp right?

Hi, it's depend on amp also either 4ch/2ch, 2x4ch or 4ch/1mono. Actually Eclipse is better than Pioneer (lower range) coz Eclipse with 5V pre-out, Mid range it depend on model, we can see some Pioneer better than Eclipse or Eclipse better than Pioneer. The higher range 1 must be Pioneer..haaa haa P9 & P90 loorr....But dont be blind ...everything is on your money loorrr...with RM500 Pioneer/Eclipse will give U his product..if U want more feature just prepare extra money that all...

frankly speaking there are no front components meant for SPL, just subs.

thx for letting me know Zenn. hehe.. i'm learning here.

btw, is 1x12" SUB sufficient? Sometimes want more bass sound

large box + lot of power = low & loud sub bass :rock:

intrigue said:
thx for letting me know Zenn. hehe.. i'm learning here.

btw, is 1x12" SUB sufficient? Sometimes want more bass sound

Depends who will listen, you or outside people, what is your car. If a aeroback, 1 is enough, if sedan 1 is not that enough if let people to listen, if own, there is not much problem....

hehe that one special sub one :biggrin: .....he just added special tweeter today :tongue:...sounds good with his special amp :wink:

ok.. i going for 2x10" SUB, 1X4 ch AMP and front component

together with 7750 as HU

If like this is better you get a 12" sub, no regret after this. a 12" sub easily can outbeat 2 10" sub. Last time also I use 2 10". Until recently I change to a 12". Are you married? If not then you will not feel the problem arise.
Anyway do tell me the results on 7750, if good means I will change my 5750 to 7750...

intrigue said:
what special amp ? hehe

a sinful italian handmade amp....

btw, are u using the rear ch of the same 4 ch amp to run the 2 subs? make sure u bridge mono the amp instead of running normal stereo, wont be enough power...

you mean 1 X 12: SUB can outbeat 2X10" sub?

i'm not married but i do carries stuff in my boot.

Yes sir, you are right. You can trust me on this, still don't believe? Ask the shop. But don't use Brothers rm50 12" sub to compare, haha. You can save on the cost also, like a 10" sub maybe is 300 and a 12" sub around 400.

yeaah but it depend on brand, model, voice coil, watts also sub enclosure....I has been face 10' can beat 12', 12' can beat 15', 12' can beat 2 10' & 15' can beat 4 12'....