Ice problem , help

ravingill

I have a Mercedes S320l that i recently acquired , its a 1998 model w140 big body benz with long wheel base. It came with a high end sony player that works fine , a soundstream reference series amplifier i dont know wad model but it is 5 channels i think . At the rear board there are 4 woofer about 6" or 8" im not sure they are 2 pro logic and 2 soundstream. I dont know whats at the front dash and doors and also what is in the rear doors.

My problem is when i listen to music not all speakers work , sometimes they do sometime sthey dont.
What could be the problem , i also doubt that 1 amp is capable of powering over 12 speakers, can somebody enlighten me , i am thinking of goin to a audio shop but scared kena ta pau because they see the car.

Most likely it's the problem of loose connections, esp at the speakers' end.
In anyway, you will have to strip down the doors etc to have a detail check.
However, if you are a bit serious in ICE, I suggest you use the existing amp and buy a set of component speakers to be installed at the front and a sub at the back, and disgard the existing speakers.
BTW, what's the model of your Sony HU??

Its a sony cdx ca900, i dont know how good is it but looks very cool , well so wad u suggest me to remove all the speakers and have a sub in the trunk and components up front, its a bif car wont tht set up be a lil to small.

I was thinking of leaving the 4 subwoofer at the rear which are soundstream and pro logic and just get a good component set at front, i dont know wad speakers the front is using im yet to check.

Hi brader,
Maybe need to take out all the speaker and test it individually (in pair) with the amp and this sony HU. After that, choose the best pair of component for the front and 1 pair coaxial / mid for the rear. This should be enough for a big car. Correct me if i'm wrong.

:)

try going to well know reputable shops, theyll have more experience with big cars like yours, can save time a bit when they check the wirings, and also theyre usually more careful with their work to avoic scratches/damages, etc

at least in these type of shops u pay a bit more but its worth the peace of mind....

Its a sony cdx ca900, i dont know how good is it but looks very cool , well so wad u suggest me to remove all the speakers and have a sub in the trunk and components up front, its a bif car wont tht set up be a lil to small.

I was thinking of leaving the 4 subwoofer at the rear which are soundstream and pro logic and just get a good component set at front, i dont know wad speakers the front is using im yet to check.

Trust me, I had set up a set of front comps and just one sub at the rear powered by an Audison VrX 6channel amp in my friend's 1997 320L, just like yours. And he is more than satisfied to date.

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:07 PM ----------

Hi brader,
Maybe need to take out all the speaker and test it individually (in pair) with the amp and this sony HU. After that, choose the best pair of component for the front and 1 pair coaxial / mid for the rear. This should be enough for a big car. Correct me if i'm wrong.

:)

Coaxials can never play the role of a sub. Reason being they cannot go below 80Hz and at best they will reproduce only those hard thumping bass, not those low sub bass from those double basses, for example.
And putting mid woofers at the rear deck will only disturb your front stage and as a result, you will lose stage depth. If you really want to install mids at the rear, it will be better to high pass them above 200Hz, to give you that echo effect.

ok , well tis car i dont use so often , ony for leasure driving once a while , is it ok for me to leave the 4subwoofers at rear and get a good pair of component at front. After testing tht all my wiring and speakers are ok.

Trust me, I had set up a set of front comps and just one sub at the rear powered by an Audison VrX 6channel amp in my friend's 1997 320L, just like yours. And he is more than satisfied to date.

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:07 PM ----------

Coaxials can never play the role of a sub. Reason being they cannot go below 80Hz and at best they will reproduce only those hard thumping bass, not those low sub bass from those double basses, for example.
And putting mid woofers at the rear deck will only disturb your front stage and as a result, you will lose stage depth. If you really want to install mids at the rear, it will be better to high pass them above 200Hz, to give you that echo effect.

Yes definitely co-axial can't play sub freq. I said that because i don't think ravingill mentioned that he has got a sub at the rear. Check the post before comment.

Neither did he said he has got coaxials at the rear!!!

And he did mentioned:

I was thinking of leaving the 4 subwoofer at the rear which are soundstream and pro logic

Now you check and comment!!

so any suggestions , is the set up i mention relevant , use the current sony headunit (cdx ca900), get a good pair of components for the front and leave the 4 subwoofers on the rear deck. I just need it to sound good i dont need a fidelity in acoustic music, its not a daily driven car so as long as it sounds good im done.

Neither did he said he has got coaxials at the rear!!!

And he did mentioned:

I was thinking of leaving the 4 subwoofer at the rear which are soundstream and pro logic

Now you check and comment!!

Hi Pisces23,

Please check the first post and the 3rd post! Is there really 4 subwoofer? 4 woofer? And what does the poster mean? You're just jumping to conclusion too early brader! I'm just giving a general comment.

Having any coaxial is not a matter coz i'm not even pointing that he's got a pair (or not)! Read the sentence properly and see that symbol / ?

Hi Ravingil,
A good pair of comp for front is a must. But since you mentioned that not all the speaker is working, i think it's still best you do some troubleshooting by yourself or at some audio shops.