HU with 1 RCA rear to connect 2 amp??

kyheng said:
Looks like your woofer input power is greater than your amp something like your woofer power is 300watt and your amp is 100watt. Like this sure your amp will cut out at high temp.

actualy, the problem never hapend when i use my 2ch alpine to my 10"punch.

once i upgrade to 4ch amp "ayam brand" to power rear and front speaker this problem occur. still the 4ch amp is 60rms per ch. enough for the front and rear speaker i guess. but the amp still to hot :tee: help!!

So, now which amp is hot and have problem? Alpine or cap ayam? If Alpine I think is your power cable got problem, maybe you share a cable for 2 amps, this may cause you some problem. If can try to use a thicker cable or seperate power input to your amps.

hmm... saperate power input means 2 cable from batery plus 2 big fuse?

curently, i share 2 amps with one power cable from the batery with one big fuse, making a T junction to connect those amps.. is it not advisable?

the apline is hot, but never cutoff before.
the cap ayam one, hot n power is cut off. since alpine is conected to the chap ayam one,both off lor.

for safety reasons better buy a 1 to 2 distribution block with fuse.

running hot and cutting off might just be normal characteristics of the cap ayam amp. maybe can try running it alone without the alpine amp and the sub to see how it goes.....

1 to 2 distribution block with fuse, where to get one? got pic?
dont know how it look like :biggrin:

i went to electronic store, they dont have them, or is there any other name they call this thing? :tee:

If like that better you seperate it then see how, anyway I cannot say too much seperating cables as I own self also don't how's my configuration, hehe. But last time when I install my amps a guy say use a thicker cable it will help, as sometimes amps demanding more power from battery. If the cable went hot it might lose its effiency then the amp will get hot, branded one normally will still alive but cap ayam one.... My power cable is 7mm thick with 5mm is the copper wire. You can try to buy this cable. Ask from the electronic shop, is cheaper over there.

Hmm..i also use the same power cable i guess. the red one right?

but i haven't check the cable yet... i it hot or not

Your ICE setup is not high end one, so the distribution block is not a must, unless you are going for high end...It only sell in accesories shop only which mean sell in cut throat shop. The best is use a thicker power cable, is the red one.

doesnt matter high end or not, better be safe than sorry. also power cable can come in other colours besides red. thickness of the wire is important, for low power amps an 8 AWG wire would be enough, just check your amp fuse ratings to be sure.

a simple (non-branded) 1 to 2 fused dist block (1x4awg in 2x8 awg out) with AGU (glass) fuse would cost less than RM100

how much would an 8 AWG power cable be?
one installer wanted to charge me RM40 for a 6 AWG cable from batt to amp...
thats too expensive right?

if im not mistaken, i bought the power cable, the red one at electronic shop for rm5 per meter. 5mm coper inside.

i see... the one i was offerred was abt 8mm copper with semi transparent red insulation.... how much should that be?

dunno that one, well the red one is more less 5mm though,
maybe your is better than mine

but if u refer to this chart, i think yours is not 6AWG :tee:

mhn21 said:
how much would an 8 AWG power cable be?
one installer wanted to charge me RM40 for a 6 AWG cable from batt to amp...
thats too expensive right?

If follow the chart, is only 4mm thick, since you wnat to buy from installer, why not you let me 'cut' your throat, I have 4AWg cable for sale which is 5mm thick, its only rm4.5 per meter. Interested can PM me, or the best is your go to eletric shop and buy it, it only selling for rm5 per meter as per our friend Fizzy.

i see yea... looks like it isnt 6 AWG ... or maybe i was wrong. nvm la i'll go look for some at electrical shops. ur too far away kyheng. my amp fuse is only 20A, so i guess a 6 or 8 AWG should be more than enough right?
thanks.

Where you stay? 20A fuse, I think is a normall car fuse if not mistaken, better you change to higher rating one, get a fuse for ICE, I think it will cost you 30 to 40. But you can go for cap ayam if want cheaper one..

no the fuse on my amp is 20 A.... but the fuse for the power cable (from batt to amp ) is 50 A i think? thats correct right? big transparent fuse , meant for ICE but no brand i think.
i'm in kl now, but when semester starts i'm in melaka.

When you go to melaka? I might go to KL this weekend, if you are interested we can mmet up somewhere. As I bought 10 meters that time to get a better price.