I've recently gone to the one in Shah Alam to get a replacement ownership card as it ran outta space to print the road tax renewal. They printed my name wrongly. Correction was done in writing. Then, stamped and sign off. I wonder if the correction was done in their cumputer system. I didn't check 'cos the car was sold to a dealer a month ago, liao.
Process to do the changes:
Fill up about 4 types of forms and in duplicate, a photocopy of my IC.
Went to JPJ personally. If sent via an agent, be prepared to be hassled.
Here's yesterday's(13th April) experience with JPJ, Wangsa Maju, KL:
Objective:
=======
To change ownership to my name and renew roadtax.
Process:
======
(1) On 28th March, I seeked the help of AAM to help me and they got all the required forms and was filled correctly.
(2) Bought my insurance from AAM for this car.
(3) Seller photocopied his IC and we went for endorsement at the nearby Commissioner of Oath in USJ, Taipan. Paid RM10.
(4) Yesterday(13th April), to coincide with the expiring of the road tax, I went over to this JPJ to get my objective achieved. Arrived at about 9.30am. I saw the post office on the ground floor that many that lined up there. Went there to enquire and was made known that I have to get a postal order for RM100 as fee for transfer of ownership. Duly did this and was charged RM1.20 as commission by the postal service. Was approached by a few kulats, rendering their “services”. Declined them all.
(5) Went upstairs and lined up for a number. At this counter, my documents were checked and signed off by the officer there. Was given a form to fill the details of everything e.g. seller, buyer's details, car nrb, engine and chassis nbr, in duplicate.
(6) Waited about 15 mins for my number to be called. Went over to this counter and again, the details of all the forms and submitted documents were counter-verified by the receiving officer. A copy of the latest form that I filled, together with my nbr, was given back to me. And, was told to wait for 2 hours and it should be ready for collection. This form that was returned is to be used when collecting the car registration card.
(7) I returned at 12 noon. Went over to the collection counter. Horrors!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/eek.gifMy application was rejected!!!
Reason: The nose of the seller in the photocopied IC is not clear!!! WTF It's verified by 2 JPJ officer and endorsed by a govt approved Commissioner of Oath!!!
(8) I tried to appeal and asked to see the approving officer sitting inside. Was given the go ahead. Suddenly, a JPJ man with some JPJ jacket with the name, Marzuki, shouted at the top of his voice, "Woi... you tak boleh masuk sebab pakai seluar pendek! Ini pejabat, ok?" Then, he shouted at the privatized company security guard, "Jangan bagi dia masuk". I was the highlight of the day in the office!!! OK, OK... perhaps, he's right that I can't see an officer wearing my jogging shorts. But, to raise his voice in public?
(9) I knew I could get nowhere. So, it's back to Damansara Utama to bring the seller to JPJ. When I came back to JPJ at about 2.45pm, I was ready i.e. dressed in long pants, leather shoes, tucked in collared T-shirt. Not only the buyer and seller were in person, the witness to the forms is also there. What could go wrong, right? Wrong!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif Read on... we asked to see the officer inside and the private security guard pointed us to a certain Cik Sakdiah after the person sitting there with her is done. Upon closer observation, that person is Marzuki. So, I went and stood behind him. Guess what I saw? He was filling up some forms and passing it to Sakdiah!!! Can a JPJ officer fill up a form in proxy and go direct to an approving officer(Sakdiah)? Something's not right!!! It was confirmed when this Makzuki got a call on his handphone. He said something like, "OK, sudah OK". Now, you make your own conclusion. Then, he noticed me and asked me to go and take my seat at the end of the office and wait to be called. A few minutes later, he stood up and walked to the back of the office but did not call me. I knew that if I go and see Sakdiah now, I can get into trouble. So, I asked the guard whether I can see her now and was given the go ahead.
(10) The 3 of us stood in front of Sakdiah while she checked the documents again. We gave our ICs to her. No problem, liao. Wooo.... ooo.... http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif We were asked to wait outside for our documents in the collection counter in a couple of minutes while the documents were handed to a lady, a few table behind her.
(11) About 20 minutes later, I checked with this counter and my documents were ready!!! Joy.... oh what joy!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif But, my joy was short lived as my name was printed wrongly i.e surname and last name. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/frown.gifI immediately highlighted it to the guard that gave me the registration card. I circled my name in the insurance cover note so that it there can be no mistakes. So, I thought. When it came back, the correction was only handwritten and stamped with some JPJ stamp. Only my surname was corrected but not my last name. Process repeated... and it came back with my last name corrected. I asked the security guard that did the entire running to doubly confirm that the hand-written correction is reflected in the computer system. He went back to the lady and came back to say that it’s ok, liao.
(12) I went downstairs to get my road tax renewed. It can’t be renewed as my name in the insurance/IC did not match with JPJ. The lady that did the correction did not amend it in the computer system. This counter gal asked me to go back to the 1st floor and get that corrected. Like an obedient dog, I did that. This time, I asked to see the computer screen, just to make sure that it’s correct. I was not allowed and was told that it’s OK, liao. Back to the road tax renewal counter, again. Again, the lady say that my name is not right. I asked to see the screen but was not allowed. I was told to see another person in another counter but that person is not of any help either as he’s not authorized to make changes. What should I do? I pleaded with another counter and this time, this gal got an idea… she wrote a note that says what name the screen showed and what should be the correct name. She also stamped a JPJ stamp on it. Armed with it, I went upstairs.
(13) I approached this same guard to show him and walked with him to this lady and asked her to make the correction. I asked to see the screen again but was not allowed. To confirm that it’s correct this time, I then approached Cik Sakdiah and related my ordeal to her. She confirmed that no public is allowed to watch the screen. Then, I requested that she use her computer terminal to verify that it is now correct. IT IS CORRECTED, liao. Real Joy…. at last.
(14) Fat hopes!!! This time, the insurance cover not got my IC nbr wrong!!! Aiyooo… Nevertheless, I called AAM and ask them to make the changes. It was corrected in less than 10 minutes. Since the insurance is online, the counter gal can now give me my road tax disc. Yahoo….
(15) Complete process takes me from 9.30 am to 4.30pm. Total mileage travelled is a little over 200km.
Lesson to be learnt? :
================
(a)Make sure that you have a very clear photocopied IC.
(b)Best is to use the magistrate court to endorse the IC. Perhaps, it carries better weight over a Commissioner of Oath.
(c)Both Seller and Buyer are present during the process of ownership transfer. If this is the case, then, endorsement of the IC is not needed but a very clear copy is still needed.
(d)Doubly checked ALL DETAILS in insurance form and any other forms/documents.
Conspiracy theory assumptions:
=======================
- I’ve seen some other photocopied IC that is not that clear and yet it’s approved.
-Why are there so many kulats/touts hanging around in broad daylight in JPJ compound?
-Why are there so many salesmen inside the compound that are pestering me to buy their windscreen cleaning product?
-Who is Marzuki? Does he has the power to fill up forms on behalf and to walk around in the office freely?
CONCLUSION:
==========
I should have paid my way to “someone” to get my documents in order without all the above hassle.
But, my principle does not allow that to happen. Oh… sigh….
Comments:
========
- The guard from a private security company, is more helpful and friendlier than JPJ officials and seems to know more about the process than JPJ. Seen and heard him advising others, mar. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/icon_nworthy.gif
- JPJ personnel did not see the courtesy campaign on TV? Looks like the money spent by the Barang Naik govt on this had gone to waste? Remember that the lady in the road tax renewal counter is the ONLY one that offered her help? And, I'm still having that note she wrote, as proof.
- Does the lady keying in my name in the computer got an eye sight problem or she is not educated enough to read my name correctly?
- Does this same lady thinks that she can get away by not correcting the errors in the computer system?
- KL and Selangor is a DEVELOPED city as declared!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/eek.gif
What are your thoughts and experience on this? Plse share. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/rosesmiley.gif
Process to do the changes:
Fill up about 4 types of forms and in duplicate, a photocopy of my IC.
Went to JPJ personally. If sent via an agent, be prepared to be hassled.
Here's yesterday's(13th April) experience with JPJ, Wangsa Maju, KL:
Objective:
=======
To change ownership to my name and renew roadtax.
Process:
======
(1) On 28th March, I seeked the help of AAM to help me and they got all the required forms and was filled correctly.
(2) Bought my insurance from AAM for this car.
(3) Seller photocopied his IC and we went for endorsement at the nearby Commissioner of Oath in USJ, Taipan. Paid RM10.
(4) Yesterday(13th April), to coincide with the expiring of the road tax, I went over to this JPJ to get my objective achieved. Arrived at about 9.30am. I saw the post office on the ground floor that many that lined up there. Went there to enquire and was made known that I have to get a postal order for RM100 as fee for transfer of ownership. Duly did this and was charged RM1.20 as commission by the postal service. Was approached by a few kulats, rendering their “services”. Declined them all.
(5) Went upstairs and lined up for a number. At this counter, my documents were checked and signed off by the officer there. Was given a form to fill the details of everything e.g. seller, buyer's details, car nrb, engine and chassis nbr, in duplicate.
(6) Waited about 15 mins for my number to be called. Went over to this counter and again, the details of all the forms and submitted documents were counter-verified by the receiving officer. A copy of the latest form that I filled, together with my nbr, was given back to me. And, was told to wait for 2 hours and it should be ready for collection. This form that was returned is to be used when collecting the car registration card.
(7) I returned at 12 noon. Went over to the collection counter. Horrors!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/eek.gifMy application was rejected!!!
Reason: The nose of the seller in the photocopied IC is not clear!!! WTF It's verified by 2 JPJ officer and endorsed by a govt approved Commissioner of Oath!!!
(8) I tried to appeal and asked to see the approving officer sitting inside. Was given the go ahead. Suddenly, a JPJ man with some JPJ jacket with the name, Marzuki, shouted at the top of his voice, "Woi... you tak boleh masuk sebab pakai seluar pendek! Ini pejabat, ok?" Then, he shouted at the privatized company security guard, "Jangan bagi dia masuk". I was the highlight of the day in the office!!! OK, OK... perhaps, he's right that I can't see an officer wearing my jogging shorts. But, to raise his voice in public?
(9) I knew I could get nowhere. So, it's back to Damansara Utama to bring the seller to JPJ. When I came back to JPJ at about 2.45pm, I was ready i.e. dressed in long pants, leather shoes, tucked in collared T-shirt. Not only the buyer and seller were in person, the witness to the forms is also there. What could go wrong, right? Wrong!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif Read on... we asked to see the officer inside and the private security guard pointed us to a certain Cik Sakdiah after the person sitting there with her is done. Upon closer observation, that person is Marzuki. So, I went and stood behind him. Guess what I saw? He was filling up some forms and passing it to Sakdiah!!! Can a JPJ officer fill up a form in proxy and go direct to an approving officer(Sakdiah)? Something's not right!!! It was confirmed when this Makzuki got a call on his handphone. He said something like, "OK, sudah OK". Now, you make your own conclusion. Then, he noticed me and asked me to go and take my seat at the end of the office and wait to be called. A few minutes later, he stood up and walked to the back of the office but did not call me. I knew that if I go and see Sakdiah now, I can get into trouble. So, I asked the guard whether I can see her now and was given the go ahead.
(10) The 3 of us stood in front of Sakdiah while she checked the documents again. We gave our ICs to her. No problem, liao. Wooo.... ooo.... http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif We were asked to wait outside for our documents in the collection counter in a couple of minutes while the documents were handed to a lady, a few table behind her.
(11) About 20 minutes later, I checked with this counter and my documents were ready!!! Joy.... oh what joy!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif But, my joy was short lived as my name was printed wrongly i.e surname and last name. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/frown.gifI immediately highlighted it to the guard that gave me the registration card. I circled my name in the insurance cover note so that it there can be no mistakes. So, I thought. When it came back, the correction was only handwritten and stamped with some JPJ stamp. Only my surname was corrected but not my last name. Process repeated... and it came back with my last name corrected. I asked the security guard that did the entire running to doubly confirm that the hand-written correction is reflected in the computer system. He went back to the lady and came back to say that it’s ok, liao.
(12) I went downstairs to get my road tax renewed. It can’t be renewed as my name in the insurance/IC did not match with JPJ. The lady that did the correction did not amend it in the computer system. This counter gal asked me to go back to the 1st floor and get that corrected. Like an obedient dog, I did that. This time, I asked to see the computer screen, just to make sure that it’s correct. I was not allowed and was told that it’s OK, liao. Back to the road tax renewal counter, again. Again, the lady say that my name is not right. I asked to see the screen but was not allowed. I was told to see another person in another counter but that person is not of any help either as he’s not authorized to make changes. What should I do? I pleaded with another counter and this time, this gal got an idea… she wrote a note that says what name the screen showed and what should be the correct name. She also stamped a JPJ stamp on it. Armed with it, I went upstairs.
(13) I approached this same guard to show him and walked with him to this lady and asked her to make the correction. I asked to see the screen again but was not allowed. To confirm that it’s correct this time, I then approached Cik Sakdiah and related my ordeal to her. She confirmed that no public is allowed to watch the screen. Then, I requested that she use her computer terminal to verify that it is now correct. IT IS CORRECTED, liao. Real Joy…. at last.
(14) Fat hopes!!! This time, the insurance cover not got my IC nbr wrong!!! Aiyooo… Nevertheless, I called AAM and ask them to make the changes. It was corrected in less than 10 minutes. Since the insurance is online, the counter gal can now give me my road tax disc. Yahoo….
(15) Complete process takes me from 9.30 am to 4.30pm. Total mileage travelled is a little over 200km.
Lesson to be learnt? :
================
(a)Make sure that you have a very clear photocopied IC.
(b)Best is to use the magistrate court to endorse the IC. Perhaps, it carries better weight over a Commissioner of Oath.
(c)Both Seller and Buyer are present during the process of ownership transfer. If this is the case, then, endorsement of the IC is not needed but a very clear copy is still needed.
(d)Doubly checked ALL DETAILS in insurance form and any other forms/documents.
Conspiracy theory assumptions:
=======================
- I’ve seen some other photocopied IC that is not that clear and yet it’s approved.
-Why are there so many kulats/touts hanging around in broad daylight in JPJ compound?
-Why are there so many salesmen inside the compound that are pestering me to buy their windscreen cleaning product?
-Who is Marzuki? Does he has the power to fill up forms on behalf and to walk around in the office freely?
CONCLUSION:
==========
I should have paid my way to “someone” to get my documents in order without all the above hassle.
But, my principle does not allow that to happen. Oh… sigh….
Comments:
========
- The guard from a private security company, is more helpful and friendlier than JPJ officials and seems to know more about the process than JPJ. Seen and heard him advising others, mar. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/icon_nworthy.gif
- JPJ personnel did not see the courtesy campaign on TV? Looks like the money spent by the Barang Naik govt on this had gone to waste? Remember that the lady in the road tax renewal counter is the ONLY one that offered her help? And, I'm still having that note she wrote, as proof.
- Does the lady keying in my name in the computer got an eye sight problem or she is not educated enough to read my name correctly?
- Does this same lady thinks that she can get away by not correcting the errors in the computer system?
- KL and Selangor is a DEVELOPED city as declared!!! http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/eek.gif
What are your thoughts and experience on this? Plse share. http://forum.ipoh.com.my/forum/images/smilies/rosesmiley.gif