ID Theft

DRiftAGster

not sure if anybody faced this situation before, but ZTH is always the best place to get good advise & info -

my brother got a phone call in his office from a recording machine claiming to be from the court and that he had failed to attend a court trial, so when he followed the instruction and tried to talk to a real person, the person on the other end asked ofr his name & IC# --- he was SOOOOO dumb to give the other person his name and IC#.....

and that idiot on the other end tell him is is suspected for selling durgs and that the authority will come after him....

knowing he kena con by that fella, my bro lodged a police report and was told by the officer he will be ok but be ready to become victim of ID theft IF that syndicate do use his ID in the future.... but at least he already lodge a police report to protect himself....

anybody know about this kind of trick by the syndicate or experience this personally before??

if not better watch out.... these assholes are out there...

first time hearing this. :(

not sure what thief will do with his infos...hopefully nothing big :(

this is something new to me also, dunno what those crooks want to do with the details...

but just to warn the members here to watch out just in case you get a similar call...

or usually no such thing as court case since u know u are innocent
since they have ur name, and know tat u are supposed to be in court, they should know ur ic number
no need to ask for it

I think the drug trafficking lie set your bro off. If it's me I would be pissing my pants too!

At least now we learned that there's a new scam out there...
usually the cons would phone u direct and cook up a pretty good story to trap you into revealing your confidential identity...
most of the time credit cards and bank accounts because fast cash.....