How good is TypeR piston into b16a block ?

evox2,
u sure d P73 has a higher dome thn d P30 pistons?frm my naked eyes,i think d P30 is higher wor?

n err..i've seen alot of daily driven+lenjan B16A engine w PCT pistons inside...no problem oso?as long as u measured d clearance properly b4 torqueing down d head n fuelling is tuned properly..shud haf no problem ler.......

I think this is the only weak link in the whole mechanical modding process rite ? The piston-to-valve clearance is the major point to consider. I have read in HT that for this such of mod, do not mill the head.

yea true...pct in b16a, as long as the installation is ok, tuning is done properly and make sure all other valvetrain components are in good condition, shud be pretty reliable also...those demised ones are usually caused by failure in any one of the above....shits happen....

crower75,
u ask d author of dat article 2 come speak 2 me..i'll show him wat Malaysia Boleh is all abt....my mechanic has built a B16A w PCT pistons w static compression of 19psi(?) for all four pistons..dis car is a daily driven sum more....oredy clocked more thn 30,000km++ after d initial rebuild...heheheeheeh..who sed kenot mill or deck?can..d question is by how much only ler...

n abt d 83mm TX3 pistons..dis is my opinion....its popular coz its BIG yet safer thn goin 84mm(whc is abt d max d B16A block can take w.out resleeving)..n dis TX3 pistons has relative higher dome whn compared w other stock big pistons....hence,its a popular mod...widely used in kemaman vtecs.....

akuma other than the Tx3 piston what other piston have ppl put ?

Tx3 piston is 83mm
b16B ?
B18CR ?

Can you let me know the measurement ?

like i mentioned previously all mechs got their own style for building engines...just like to compare between what i've read and the real deal ehehe

crower75,
i understand ur point..its just dat i disagree w d HT's statement dat u can't mill whn u plonk in d PCT pistons..dats all...
(i wonder whr's shiro?hehehehhe)

D_Clothes,
PCT&P73 both std size = 81mm....got oversize pistons...81.25mm

aisey, relax lar abang akuma. the main reason why they dun advice for head milling is due to the fact your limitation for future projects will double your cost. i know le malaysia b16a head manyak mulah, its just a bad idea to mill the head when its not warped or scratched. that is why we have spoon/mugen gasket or malaysia-boleh "remove 1 or 2 piece of your stock gasket". if you mill your head also and your cam settings are good and installation is perfect then it wouldnt hurt also.

crower75,
i understand ur point..its just dat i disagree w d HT's statement dat u can't mill whn u plonk in d PCT pistons..dats all...
(i wonder whr's shiro?hehehehhe)

D_Clothes,
PCT&P73 both std size = 81mm....got oversize pistons...81.25mm

shiroi sifu..u better come back fast...allot of ppl believe in your technical advices..muahahuahauhaahauhauha.........i wanna sit back now and eat kitkats :p

shiro i think bertapa in HondaLand miahahahahhahah

J101,
good point..i 4got 2 mention abt adjusting back d cam setting..coz once d head is milled...d timing is retarded..many ppl neglected dis part.......n WOI!who sed B16 head is cheap?u show me whr?HHAHHAHAHAH

crower75,
no can do.these "cheap" B16 heads r meant 4 OHLIGINAL JDM Hondas only.....LOKEL FELIO no can do..sowee ar?KAH KAH KAH!!!!

cheaper than buying in usa :p

J101,
good point..i 4got 2 mention abt adjusting back d cam setting..coz once d head is milled...d timing is retarded..many ppl neglected dis part.......n WOI!who sed B16 head is cheap?u show me whr?HHAHHAHAHAH

crower75,
no can do.these "cheap" B16 heads r meant 4 OHLIGINAL JDM Hondas only.....LOKEL FELIO no can do..sowee ar?KAH KAH KAH!!!!

ahahahah......why u *&^%$#@ !!!!!!!!!!

ehem...weehh....when r u gonna holler at azzump for a "charity drive" ? hehehehhehe

J101,
why timing is retarded...? don't u mind to explain it...
about the compression 19psi/1 that u mentioned, it's dynamic comp isn't it...?
but sometimes hi compression will not give u better result, 1 of its depend on your valves timing too...

skimming the head decreases the distance between the cams and crank.

the timing belt stays the same length, so for every millimeters you remove, cam timing is retarded a few degree.

your mechanic should advance accordingly to get back to true zero.

but sometimes ppl get worried abt the timing belt after skimming.

you have the adjustable tensioner to take up the slack, but at some point the valves may hit the pistons, the compression goes way up, and without adjustable gears to compensate the valve timing gets way off like you just said.

if change to higher compression piston, will it cause engine knocking? i just put in p73 into my gsr engine, got knocking at lower rpm. how to eliminate the knocking? by tuning is it?

you tune moderately according to your requirements and also weather. nowadays with this kind of heatwave, better be safe than sorry.

if change to higher compression piston, will it cause engine knocking? i just put in p73 into my gsr engine, got knocking at lower rpm. how to eliminate the knocking? by tuning is it?

you tune moderately according to your requirements and also weather. nowadays with this kind of heatwave, better be safe than sorry.

may i know if emanage or vafc have the ability to tune it? i need the simplest method cos my place here dont have dyno and the tuner use butt dyno which i doubt. currently i am running on a chipped ecu.