Hood scoops...good or bad?

many petrol head are more interested to improve the look of their car...by putting the coop or vent.

Aerodynamic efficiency wise, not too sure abt the vent/scoop item.....it's realatively small in size and if driving 110km/hr in Malaysia road, this factor may not be substantial...unless someone mod the car to achieve F1 ground effect, or have some wind tunnel test centre to justify/check the aerodynamic quality.....

bo0n said:
anyway, it's better for the hood hole to direct the flow towards your air filter.......
and yes........water flow towards the front part and not seeping towards the hot engines

wat happen if raining n water kena suck at ur airfilter?

i dont think aerodynamic is a big factor to consider for street cars ler.... we aint gonna drive vr fast.... if drive fast enough, we wont gonna need air scoop to feed air into the engine bay.... running air will be rushed into the engine bay at that speed.....

agree with zan that most cars with hood scoop are equiped with top mounted IC.... they dont need to worry about water splashing in as IC is water proof.... they work better if water is splashed on them.....

oooooooooooooo...

then wat about those lil hood scoops for the airfilters? heheheh... or its not recommended ?

nitrus said:
oooooooooooooo...

then wat about those lil hood scoops for the airfilters? heheheh... or its not recommended ?
i thinks its the same...

if its a small scoop, better make it nice... or else, it will look like dummy type and look vr ahbeng ler... haha... no offence... last time my coursemate done to his corolla... damn freaking ahbeng....

for your n/a car, the only reason i can think of why you need an air intake on the bonnet, is purely cosmetic. it serves no purpose. you're better off intalling vents that take hot air out of your engine bay, rather than feed more air in. you can see good examples on the bonnets of EVO 1, 2 and 3.

I think the car front bumper get some holes drilled...then it serves more air intake...hehehhehee....way better than bonnet air vent ~

Personally....i dislike having the bonnet get some holes la.....not to offence...but some ppl in malaysia....think differently.....their hand so itchy that they stick those bubble gums.....throw soft drinks.....even papers....like those money borrowers card into it.....

Juz terrible....and u juz can't check it everytime u wanna drive the car....

gary said:
for your n/a car, the only reason i can think of why you need an air intake on the bonnet, is purely cosmetic. it serves no purpose. you're better off intalling vents that take hot air out of your engine bay, rather than feed more air in. you can see good examples on the bonnets of EVO 1, 2 and 3.

u mean those which looks like nettings?

seriously if raining it won't masuk engine bay ke ?

gary said:
u mean those inverted air scoop that guides hot air out of the engine bay??....

want to have a effective vent/scoop? very light??

Remove the entire engine bonnet....sure cooling. Weight nothing. Just make sure when driving the car, there is no JPJ ppl around. Oso make sure kucing, anjing (or ppl) don't fall into the engine bay....if not mince meat will come out. LOL

ken yeang

haha drive 1/2 way then suddenly raining.....your car like motor need to rush under bridge / flyover bridge to take cover.....else whole engine bay finished

Gohkokeng,

When raining time, have to drive the car under the bridge to 'teduh" from rain....motorbikers will sure be damned piss with the car owner......kekekeke...

No la wey... The bikers will LOVE you , coz they'll be crowding around ur car trying to stay warm with the engine heat. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

haha ken yeang as Nitrus said...when there is enuf place they sure like 1, gather around for warming from engine heat....

when bikers get more and more....then they will pissed off...."apasal kereta ini?"

then the bikers will turn on each other n start fighting for the engine bay's heat .. and we have free show to watch. Atas pagar je la... wahahaa!

the engine bay heat also cannot tahan long enough to warm the bikers la... coz no hood, heat can escape fast.... hahaha.... soon, bikers will halau u away....

technically, a dummy scoop is alright as it does not alter the stifness or the underlying "bone" structure of the hood, which is design to crumple and absorb force of impact during accident.

but if installation of hood/vent that requires cutting/modding the structure of the hood, thus reducing the strength of the hood, I believe that is illegal, logically speaking.

at least, that was what the JPJ officer told my fren who modded his wira with a scoop. Last-last he borowed his fren's bonnet and send for inspection, then later change back bonnet with scoop. Little bugger.

sometimes u'll pass jpj roadblocks.... sometimes u dont... depends on the jpj officer mood la...

so, play on the safe side.... dont put... keep ur car exterior stock standard is the best... hehe...