Gym Topic

ae80typed,
erm.... I dare not post before and after pics here, dude. But put it this way. All my pants became loose with extra 2.5" space. Sad thing is, I'm going to need to buy new pants but only after another 3-4 months when my weight stabilizes. haha Generally, going to the gym also helps you work your mental better and you're able to be more motivated for work. :)

*blur*. dun care.

PICS PICS PICS PICS PICS PICS PICS :rofl:

jez messin with ya bro. all the best with ur 100 girls man, just dont catch any STDs k wakakakaka (im too bored, cantcha tell? :biggrin: )

ae80typed,
I was just kidding about the 100 girls. hehe Actually, I myself haven't look at my before and after pics. haha People say that the changes are visible but I wont' notice that myself. hehe

Is like tat bro. Urself won't notice the different except ppl around u can notice ur body changes. Is important to stand infront of a mirror looking at urself during workout to see how ur body muscles grow. Tats y all gyms r surrounded by mirrors...:biggrin:

civic-r,
Yeah, I know. The mirrors is also very good use to ensure proper form when working out. Wrong form means... KO. haha

I'm assuming you don't plan on being really hardcore, joining competitions in the future? Here is my two cents:

1- Which muscle groups are different? I ask this because if I work my triceps, I may not have enough energy to work my back. Because I think I read somewhere, it says that triceps and back are the same muscle group. So if I work one out, I'll be left with no energy to work the other one.

Arms, Legs, Back, Chests and Shoulders, these are your basic muscle groups. I usually work out two muscle groups at a time e.g. chest & shoulders. I don't find it necessary to isolate your arms that much as with every exercise, you either directly or indirectly work them out. You should avoid working out your back and shoulders at the same time because they do overlap.

2- Is it better to workout weights first, and then do cardio? A few fitness trainers told me that working weights will break down the fats, and cardio will 'wash away' the fats.

A lot of fitness trainers I know have differing opinions. In the end it's simple, it's all about losing more calories than you put in. I've heard fat people say they need to lose weight before going into weight training. That is BS if you ask me. It's simple: The bigger your muscles, the more calories you burn even at rest. A combination of the two is best.

I do doubt the validity of the point you mentioned simply because I am unable to think of a rational explanation as t why the trainer would say that. I don't do cardio anymore having already lost 12 Kg's from watching what I eat and playing basketball and badminton. When I did however, I used to run for 30 mins before working out.

Just to digress, I've met so many people that tell me they skip meals because they want to lose weight. WRONG! In fact skipping meals can lead to you gaining even more weight! Eat right. I eat 4 - 5 meals a day now and I'm not gaining any weight. You just have to avoid stuff like deep fried food, curry, too much rice, fatty food, etc. The more you workout and the bigger your muscles, the more you end up consuming. It's simple really. Bigger engines drink more petrol and bigger muscles need more fuel.

I've read to many articles and opinions and have realised that everyone will have their own suggestions. They are all probably right as well because if you do workout, you will grow, simple. The only difference may be in the time it takes. Also you will meet extreme gym goers that will recommend all sorts of exercises that will work out small little muscles that unless you are really serious, you don't need to.

Duke: Ooooo, u run 30 mins, no wonder ur stamina is good and can defend so long...secret training...

Satria_95: my colleague is on a vege diet now, due to religion la. but he's also hitting the gym. he's lost about 1 inch of fat already.
u could try that. a diet with more vege than meat
and bout beef, red meat takes awhile to digest. can stay in the system longer and can cause digestion problems. try to stick with white meat (chicken,fish,chibai etc)
but if u want beef, i'll always recommend Jake's Charbroil grill. i love their Honey and thyme.
if u go gym to see girls is not working out liao, its checking out...stick to working out la ahaha

duke,
Thanks for the tips, dude. Appreciate it. I'm still trying to find exactly what works for me now. Thus far, biceps and triceps workout seems to be fitting in. Abs are also doing ok thus far though it's progressing not as fast as I hoped it to be. Chest, back, shoulders are going flow for me. I ain't sure if I've got the right technique or not but guess I'll just have to fine tune it further. hehe

elmo,
Thanks for the tip, dude. For me, I'm quite alright with my current diet. I'm just concern that if I cut too much, I'm not getting enough nutrients for my body. hehe As for beef, I only take it once in a while. Other than that, I'm still sticking to my boring diet. hehe

duke,
Thanks for the tips, dude. Appreciate it. I'm still trying to find exactly what works for me now. Thus far, biceps and triceps workout seems to be fitting in. Abs are also doing ok thus far though it's progressing not as fast as I hoped it to be. Chest, back, shoulders are going flow for me. I ain't sure if I've got the right technique or not but guess I'll just have to fine tune it further. hehe

You hit the nail on the head when you mentioned "technique". It's really funny when you see people trying their darnest to lift weights beyond their capabilities. You see them struggling and flapping about which doesn't help your progress and worse, you risk injury. I went once with a friend who is bulkier and bigger than I am. He was newbie and wanted to join the gym. He tried lifting weights equivalent to those I was lifting. Because of "face" he went beyond his means. This is stupid.

Be careful not to buy into certain misconceptions like "spot reduction". You have no idea the number of times I've spoken to people who go, "wah my tummy getting big lah, better do more sit-ups". WRONG! They assume that focusing their efforts on a specific part of their anatomy will get it reduced in size. No such thing. Often, the first place you put on weight, is the last place you'll lose it. In fact, doing sit-ups alone can increase the diameter of your belly because although you are building muscle, you aren't actually losing any fat.

Again, the universal rule to to ensure that you work out more calories than you put in. The rest are just details. Jog, swim, cycle or workout enough and your belly will reduce in size.

You are an intelligent bloke and there is so much information available on the net. In fact the only purpose I see trainers serving is to push you to your limit. Many people give up too easily. If you have the desire and hunger to push yourself, you don't really need a trainer. I does help however to have a buddy especially when you are doing pushups with free weights. You don't want the bar to come crashing on your face when you decided to jack up the weight :)

Good luck! Keep us informed.

Hi everybody, after so long i check out at ZTH... now only i know ther is a thread bout workout....
im terence, been workout for quite sometime... now usually go standchart california.... anyone go ther???~~~cheers..

Duke,
Well, I don't push weights that I can't handle. I'd rather do weights that give me a good work out, but I'm able to handle them. Way too many gym goers who have toned their body have mentioned the word "years" when asked how long it took them to get toned up. Considering that I've only started, I've got a long way to go but the most important thing I have found out is form. Getting the correct form and technique will ensure safety to the body. That's why I don't do bench presses with 20 or 30 kg on one side when I know I can't handle it. :)

guys, i have 2 platinium, true fitness to transfer, still have 2 years + selling at 1500/p neg if take both together.

cannondale,
There's a platinum? What's the difference with different other grades of membership?

Duke,
Well, I don't push weights that I can't handle. I'd rather do weights that give me a good work out, but I'm able to handle them. Way too many gym goers who have toned their body have mentioned the word "years" when asked how long it took them to get toned up. Considering that I've only started, I've got a long way to go but the most important thing I have found out is form. Getting the correct form and technique will ensure safety to the body. That's why I don't do bench presses with 20 or 30 kg on one side when I know I can't handle it. :)

You are wise not to do so then. About the "tone" thing, I have also come across people who tell me that there is a difference between toning your body, and building it. After having conducted my own research and speaking to people who actually take it seriously, I've found this to be untrue. Unless you're on Protein shakes, it's really really hard to bulk up too much. People seem to have the misconception that if they lift heavy weights, they'll end up all chunky and huge. So easy ah? Just sharing what I've learnt.

In any case, I'm a member of Fitness First. The passport as you will probably already know costs RM 175, same as when I joined a couple of years ago. No inflation here:biggrin:

duke red,
Yeah, I'm on the fitness first passport. I usually go to axis and curve. I've only been to uptown once but it's so tiny. i wonder why they even bother setting up the uptown branch. haha Yep, no inflation and luckily the price stays the same over the years, and hopefully, forever. I don't mind it reducing, though. hahaha
I'm actually taking a break from gym now because I have, somehow, injured my muscle on my left side of my rib cage. I can't recall or I don't know how I injured it but i tried many workouts for various muscles, it affects the injured part. sigh. There goes my work out for a while now. :(