Gym Topic

Hmm duke, if u stil going curve u might have seen S_95 and not know it.

S_95: does it hurt if u do other kinda work outs? or take deep breaths? could be just a strain. or in worse case a tear.
if u did cycling, does it hurt? duno if u should cont doing other exercises if ur ribs are injured tho.
sometimes if u take too long a rest u might not have the motivation to keep gonig again.

duke red,
Yeah, I'm on the fitness first passport. I usually go to axis and curve. I've only been to uptown once but it's so tiny. i wonder why they even bother setting up the uptown branch. haha Yep, no inflation and luckily the price stays the same over the years, and hopefully, forever. I don't mind it reducing, though. hahaha
I'm actually taking a break from gym now because I have, somehow, injured my muscle on my left side of my rib cage. I can't recall or I don't know how I injured it but i tried many workouts for various muscles, it affects the injured part. sigh. There goes my work out for a while now. :(

Ah best to rest then. No point in aggravating the injury.

I usually go to Menara Manu Life after work, at about 8pm. If I do go to the Curve, it's usually in the morning before work, at about 9am. Yeah the Uptown one is really small but I fancy going there on the weekends. Pretty easy to find parking and I don't have to walk so far.

Hmm duke, if u stil going curve u might have seen S_95 and not know it.

S_95: does it hurt if u do other kinda work outs? or take deep breaths? could be just a strain. or in worse case a tear.
if u did cycling, does it hurt? duno if u should cont doing other exercises if ur ribs are injured tho.
sometimes if u take too long a rest u might not have the motivation to keep gonig again.

Probably have mate but if I do go to the Curve, it's in the morning ler so I doubt it. Good that you've stopped leaving your GF in the car during basketball. You are on your way to getting a transfer from Hell to Heaven.

elmo,
It'll only hurt if I breath in very deep and fully fill my lungs but other than that, it's quite alright. This morning, I did 4 sets of push ups and 4 sets of crunches. It hurts a little but I stretched left and right after each set of crunch and push ups to get blood back into the sides. And through out my day in the office, I'll stretch it once or twice in each hour. Now, it feels a lot better. I'll be resting and plan to go gym on saturday morning. hehe

Duke,
You should try going to menara axis on weekend mornings. The place is usually super empty, except for the few who goes for classes. No need to fight for machine and the whole place is basically yours. Another good thing also is that you get to park for free, inside the covered car park. So it's covered from sun and rain. hehehe and again, it's FREE! hehe But the water pressure of the shower there is not as strong as the curve. hehehe

Probably have mate but if I do go to the Curve, it's in the morning ler so I doubt it. Good that you've stopped leaving your GF in the car during basketball. You are on your way to getting a transfer from Hell to Heaven.

Bloody Hell. what a cheap shot! :mad:
hahaha

He says she chooses to stay in the car, baking under the sun while he runs up and down the basketball court. This instead of lying down in the nice cool shady areas under the trees. Hmm... tough choice this. I think it makes him feel like more of a man:biggrin:

duke,
oh... haha that's just plain silly, isn't it? And it's not entirely all that good for the human body anyway. hehehe

Argghh...this will see no end.
her knee hurt and she didnt want to come out, plus the windows were open and she could turn the air cond on...
grumble grumble...

Argghh...this will see no end.
her knee hurt and she didnt want to come out, plus the windows were open and she could turn the air cond on...
grumble grumble...

Then why did you force her into coming to the courts? You should have allowed her to stay home and rest. You dragged her into the car and hit her with chloroform didn't you?!??!?! People like are you the reason I can't have my car tinted anymore!!! lol.

Back to the topic... well something relevant at least.

On Monday night, my colleagues and I went out drinking to say goodbye to one of us that was moving on. Anyway after a few beers we decided to have an arm wrestling match (guys being guys lah). In any case, in one of the matches, the dude that was leaving went up against me boss (who is a skinny bloke). Anyway, 5 seconds into the match, we heard a "POP". The dude broke his bone in 3 places wei!!!! It wasn't on of the small bones on his forearm either, it was his humerus. The surgery cost RM 10K @ Damansara Specialist! Just comes to show that you can be a huge bloke but still have brittle bones.

Not having learnt my lesson, I arm wrestled another friend on Wed night and pulled something. Feels like a vain (???) or sorts in my right arm. Sigh...

Duke,
wah lao. broken bones sounds darn scary haha Anyway, a more related talk.

Anybody has a workout program that they're following? Perhaps you could share it here? Yeah, I know that your program may not be suitable but it's good to see and have some ideas. hehe

Elmo,

James arm wrestled another James. The one you know broke the arm of the one you don't.

Satria,

Usually I target 2 body groups at a time. It also depends how often I go in a week lah. The only 2 body parts that are hard to do in one session is your back and shoulder, as they often complement one another. Your muscles need time to regenerate so try to work out a specific muscle group only after resting it for a day at least.

I usually start with one of the big muscle groups (chest, back, shoulders). I do about 3 exercise variations for each. In each exercise, I do five sets of 8-12 reps. I then move onto the smaller muscles groups (biceps & triceps) and do 2 - 3 exercise variations each. The thing is unless you want to really increase the size of your arms, you can just choose to focus on having more variations per big muscle group. My friends does 5 instead of 3. This is because you will indirectly work your arms out as well as mentioned earlier in this thread.

Mine is obviously not the best routine to follow if you really want to be ripped but it's helped me. In the end, doing something is always better than doing nothing lah. Will be going to Manara Man U Life again later this evening. Menara Axis quite jauh and traffic is quite crappy at that time lah.

Bro Satria_95 : My recommendation is tat is asking urself which part of ur body u think needs to b build. Diff ppl got diff prog to keep. So is not adviseable to follow other ppl workout plan. Example if u think ur triceps is weak or too small, then concentrate more on tat part by doin light triceps workout. Bear in mind having weak tricep WILL affect the max weights u can lift for bench press. How do i know? Coz i'm having tis same prob until 1 fulltime bodybuilders told me tat. Sad...

Hope u understand wat i mean here... :biggrin:

Okei, here's my work out program.
-------------
Saturday: (done in sequence)
Abs
1- Crunches on floor (15 reps x 4 sets)

2- lie flat on bench (done continuously)
2.1- lying leg raises (bum stays on bench)- 6 reps
2.2- Bum raise- 6 reps
2.3- flat bench leg cycle - 6 reps per leg
2.4- raised bent knee crunches- 6 reps
2.5- Place legs on bench arms by you side, twist 1 side at a time and touch your ankle - 6 reps

3- Seated abs crunch (12 reps x 4 sets)

4- hanging leg raises. (12 reps x 4 sets)

Chest:
1: Flat Bench press
- Bar only (15 rep) , 5kg (12 rep), 10kg (10 rep) , 15kg (8-10 rep)

2: Flat bench Flies (12 reps/set), 15 lb (3 sets) , 20 lb (1 set)

3: Push-ups (Min-10 , Maximum 20)

Triceps: (12 reps/set)
1: Bench dips (4 sets)
2: skull crusher - 20 lb (3 sets) , 30 lb (1 set)

3: rope/bar extensions (12 reps/set)
- 12.5 lb (2 sets) , 15 lb (1 set), 20 lb (1 set)
---------------

Will post my sunday workout program later. hehe

civic-r,
I ask people about their workout programs to see what they do. Actually, it's just plain busy body only. hahaha Just curious. hehe My triceps aren't all that strong and my bench presses are basically crap. I can't do much bench presses. hehe Have to slowly improve it lor. hehe

Ur workout prog quite intensive also Satria_95. Do rmb to stretch ur body muscles before starting any workout ok. My way is to concentrate on 2 major muscles workout i.e Monday is Tricep & Chest, Tuesday resting, Wednesday is Shoulder & Bicep followed by other muscles group.

Rmb don't rest tat long in between breaks i.e. I rest for 2 min before doin 2nd sets of bench press or shoulder military press :listen:

No steriod man :nurse: