Going Singapore

Gandalf

Hiya brudders and sistas,

Am going down to Sg on "Nin Yar Patt" ie:one day before reunion dinner. Problem is this is my first time driving down to SG so if anyone can enligthen me with regards to the proceudres and what to expect I'd be most appreciative.

Some questions then:

Do I have to pay any fee for entering SG?
Any particular rules I need to know about?
Do I need to buy any tag or identification for my car? If so where can I get it and how much?
Where do I park my car? How much would it cost per day?
Are there legislation with regards to how much petrol I've gotta have in my tank before entering Lion Siti?

Thanks in advance. :blink:

u will need to register n get a cash-card.the passport counter mata will give u the direction.
go into s'pore before 7pm would require u to buy a day pass for erp charges.u can check with the police again...
parking not fix 1,in CBD area,$1 for 30mins...depends...

OK. Thanks

Is there any website with idiot proofed insturctions that we can refer to?

Hmmmanswer the question myself. :

Check this site out.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/motoring_guide_overview.htm#top

Does not say whats the procedure in getting the payment done though.
Is it at the toll? prepaid? card..?? What..??

hmmmmmm :(

no fuel tank limit requirement for msian cars..
but you would want to fill it to the brim prior to entering Sg, fuel in Sg is not cheap

Originally posted by ijnek@Jan 18 2005, 13:56
u will need to register n get a cash-card.the passport counter mata will give u the direction.
go into s'pore before 7pm would require u to buy a day pass for erp charges.u can check with the police again...
parking not fix 1,in CBD area,$1 for 30mins...depends...
every weekend starting from Friday(Thursday if Friday Public Holiday) evening 5pm- Monday 2am is FREE

VEP- $20 per day
ERP- $5 per day * no tag required, dont worry... the ERP gantry will read through your Autopass card

* fill up full tank before going in singapore. Very expensive there.
* just remember to reload at any 7 eleven/petrol station before you go out from singapore....
* its advisable to go on weekend/public holiday and just pay the toll charges at the CIQ booth

Originally posted by Boink Boink@Jan 18 2005, 14:34
Hmmmanswer the question myself. :

Check this site out.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/motoring_guide_overview.htm#top

Does not say whats the procedure in getting the payment done though.
Is it at the toll? prepaid? card..?? What..??

hmmmmmm :(
There's no toll in singapore, except at Custom checkpoint. The custom staff will ask whether you have an autopass card..If no, go down to the office booth and bring your road tax slip...*the most important is to reload before you go out from singapore...

*dont worry if you're driving super loud exhaust type. Local TP wont kacau you.. be sure to follow the local speed limit.... 80-100km/h
* in SG, there are some you can turn RIGHT eventhough the traffic light is RED. Just charge in.

wahahah 100kmh? dun frame him la. highwya limit 90kmh. whahaahaha. some even 80kmh only nia. just keep watch out foe the signboard that got camera pic one. whahahaha

well...
now got 5pm to 2am free on weekdays mah?...
i thought back to 7pm alreadi?
sorrie,but i might not b as updated as i am...if 5pm, then y so many cars still park by road side waiting 4 the magical hour 7pm to enter singapore?

drive car go into singapore? so troublesome, somemore parking need money, if not saman ...
take bus more convenient... or even taxi at RM20, can take you anywhere you want, door to door service... :)

'nian ye patt' is 6/2/05 sunday.
so it is a free vehicle entry permit (vep) day
the erp system inside also not on,so no need to worry.
on sunday,wat time u go in spore also ok wat because satyrday and sunday whole day free pass.
the important thing is u need to apply a "autopass' cash card at the custom lta office.u need to show them ur road tax slip or the one stick on ur wind screen.
then pay sgd10 for that.
remember to slot in the card in and out spore at the card reader or not will get 'saman'.
the card inside should have sgd6 credit.should enough for one entry.
regarding the parking fee,u need to buy the coupon like the malaysia one.
but there are two type for car.
purple colour and orange colour coupon with carry different credit.
if not mistaken is sgd0.50,sgd1.00.
if u park at night at hdb,u have to see carefully is it season parking at night.because will kena saman also at night even u put the coupon.
and also sunday morning is free parking fee one.
regarding the petrol,better pump full at caltex near custom b4 u enter.

Originally posted by normality78@Jan 18 2005, 16:24
wahahah 100kmh? dun frame him la. highwya limit 90kmh. whahaahaha. some even 80kmh only nia. just keep watch out foe the signboard that got camera pic one. whahahaha
its still acceptable to drive 100kmh on CTE, the TP normally close one eye only...just watch out for the SPEED CAM AHEAD sign. You can speed in CTE tunnel.. If wanna go orchard i suggest you to get those CASHCARD and some basement carpark accept AUTOPASS card..and most important bring your most exhaust loud sound in surely they :o to you...
just drive safely. Just keep on eye most most of the singaporean drivers just honk malaysian cars for NO REASON.

ijnek: the VEP and ERP price has been reduced and ends at 5pm to encourage the malaysian to visit SG..the reduce rate is still on-hold period until they'll really wanna reduce it..make it free la!!

Thank you brudder and sistas for the replies. I will take note of your advise when I enter Lion Siti. :D

if u afraid, the best is top up ur cashcard to sgd30. u can top up at any 7-11 shop. why sgd30? coz it had been reduced frm 30 per entry to 20 bucks. so another 10 is to play safe

go singapore everywhere is money...even u park below ur apartment also need ticket also...so beware of this...just back from singapore last sunday...the cash card is about 16 dollar...then everytimes u go into their city, is s$1 before 7pm if not mistaken..

btw hijack thread a while..what's the meaning of the car plate with different colour (yellow, white, red, black, blue yellow)

Originally posted by bluesapphire@Jan 19 2005, 04:43
go singapore everywhere is money...even u park below ur apartment also need ticket also...so beware of this...just back from singapore last sunday...the cash card is about 16 dollar...then everytimes u go into their city, is s$1 before 7pm if not mistaken..

btw hijack thread a while..what's the meaning of the car plate with different colour (yellow, white, red, black, blue yellow)
no lah where got every weekends is free la friend...malaysian cars no need to pay $1.....only pay the parking fees only...On weekdays, when entering ERP gantry along CBD area the fees is $5 all day unlimited..