Get@car

haven seen this book yet... or maybe i've missed out..

will look into it this week again~

I've bought the mag about a week ago but heavy schedule from last month onwards means I'm a little behind on my mag reading. I've still got 4 mags including Get@Car (weird name, if I may say so) to go through. Hopefully I'll be able to give a comment or 2 before the end of the month.

Actually no. Stopped this month. I had a look...hands got itchy and everything...but managed to stop meself.

this month hyper mag is nice... :_:

hv u guys stop reading Extreme mag? din touch that mag since...eh... dunno when... lolx..

No it isn't. And it has been like that for quite a while. Which is why I've stopped buying.

I never touched Extreme before, ever and never.

last time was a ok ok book, but now... its not anymore sad sad... :confused_smile:

how abt those *car king*.. hong kong mag.. too expensive.. damn

Guys,

Get@car mag is kinda cool, if u notice it resembles the design of UK CAR magazine with big pictures. my comments is to put more full page pictures of each car in the mag, it'll be much interesting. Honestly, I'm happy with the magazine, dont get me wrong, i'm not part of the Get@car team, but good local magazine should earn kudos and appreciation such as Traffic and HyperTune as well.

Furthermore, with that kind of price and paper quality, it is worth the cents u r paying. For others, pls be wiser not to compare with motor trader, (not even apple to apple) since ppl are paying to advertise the car there, that's what makes it cheap and thicker.

Get@car team,
hope u retain the quality of the mag and the article in future issues, as others tends to degrade their quality and article during the years.

Cheers!!

ya....
'car king' oso vry nice de...
tis month hypertune nice oso wif april yong...
others i oso buy 'Spec R', 'Option', 'Traffic', n many more...

Legend Speedy said:
ya....
'car king' oso vry nice de...
tis month hypertune nice oso wif april yong...
others i oso buy 'Spec R', 'Option', 'Traffic', n many more...

seldom look into Option books redi.. once in a while only..

support more local books now.. ehhee...

silver : damn..u manage to stop..im still struggling to..ahhaha

option mags are nice...but its ancient greek to me.i cant read chinese.

Fluffy said:
silver : damn..u manage to stop..im still struggling to..ahhaha

option mags are nice...but its ancient greek to me.i cant read chinese.

icic.. english educated. not bad at all...

any other mags u read?

but Option oso vry nice de...
talk bout HK de....
local books mayb a bit less..
will only buy like Traffic, Hypertune, like tat

all i know is how to curse in chinese.:_:

hypertune and traffic..which are local mags...but i also buy import tuner and dsport...im kinda slowing down on import tuner.they're losing their edge.dsport has very good articles.

photoshoots are excellent, paper quality's nice
not too many advertisements

BUT, why do the writer trying to be Jeremy Clarkson so much? till the extent he's actually copying Jeremy's review and alter them bits by bits so that it looks local?
(sometimes the writer just paste the whole lump of a paragraph into the work)

:s

all i can say is that the writer thinks of jeremy clarkson as his hero. i guess his a bit influenced by JC. however, its the humor from JC that makes the article fun to read and easy to digest.

i believe a writer should be original, but it wouldnt hurt to sometimes borrow other people's views, especially since JC really knows what his talkin about.

on a separate issue, why dont you all check out the website and register in. we can have a forum there where can have good discussions like this. the website is getacar.com.my.

please do support us ppl, we will be giving you more and more sexy cars to drool at, and the best part is by the thrid issue, the GIRLS will be comin into the mag. your support is fully appreciated and through this support we will maintain the highest standard of quality.

BUT, why do the writer trying to be Jeremy Clarkson so much? till the extent he's actually copying Jeremy's review and alter them bits by bits so that it looks local?
(sometimes the writer just paste the whole lump of a paragraph into the work)
Eh? Is that true?

Now I don't mind so much about imitating a certain style, but swallowing and regurgitating something whole, that's not very good.

Ok, I actually went and read one piece (the Gallardo one) because I'm disturbed by kinki's comments.

There is definitely very obvious traces of other writers. Words and terms and phrases borrowed here and there. Can't really distinguish the writer's own style. Feels a bit patchy and unpolished. Doesn't flow naturally when I read it. All the consequences of the writer trying a bit too hard and trying to patch together different influences without imposing his own.

In fact it reminds me a lot of Hypertune and some of the articles there. Comes across as a bit tacky. And it wasn't all that fun to read. Wit should be natural, not forced. Contrived is the word.

Clarkson can write like he can because he is...erm...Clarkson. Could you get away with writing an article for the Times, which 70% of it isn't about the car? A lot of writers write entertaining pieces and they write their own way.

The writer should tone down the big words and phrases a bit. Don't use it just for the sake of using it, keep it simple and try to write with his own natural style and flow.

My 2 cents.

PS: I'll read the rest of the articles and I'll update my comments if necessary.

thank you silverfish, ive been anticipating your comments actually. ppl say that you are very observant and more importantly not biassed. thanks again.