Get@car

@silverfish
why so disturbed la :P chill

@lordisis
hopefully that particular writer can change his writing style, i wouldnt want to pay rm10 again to read something that are readily available on the internet for free.

lordisis said:
thank you silverfish, ive been anticipating your comments actually. ppl say that you are very observant and more importantly not biassed. thanks again.
Aww shucks...you make me blush. Now who told you I'm not biased? Just that in this case, I've got nothing to bias for or against. :biggrin:

I'm glad you took it well. I was wondering if someone might get offended.

kinki_kidz® said:
@silverfish
why so disturbed la :P chill

@lordisis
hopefully that particular writer can change his writing style, i wouldnt want to pay rm10 again to read something that are readily available on the internet for free.
Disturbed because you claim there was traces of plagiarism mah. Serious claims you know.

Actually, I didn't notice any "copy and paste" jobs. What does happen is as I read the article, it reminds me of something I've read somewhere else.

Anyway, I buy mags for stuff I can't find on the web. Therefore I don't really care that much about the pictures or the layout etc. As long as they look professional and makes reading easy, then it is fine. What I do care about is the actual content, the articles, and whether they are any good to read, informative, entertaining and so on. For local content, I hope to read a more Malaysian flavour, to see what Malaysians think about a car and how their view differs from journalists from other countries. I mean, we come from a different car culture, where Hondas aren't driven by old people. So, my word to local writers is to, keep it close to home. I don't mean the English though, you've still got to maintain a good level of English.

si|verfish said:
Aww shucks...you make me blush. Now who told you I'm not biased? Just that in this case, I've got nothing to bias for or against. :biggrin:

I'm glad you took it well. I was wondering if someone might get offended.

whoz said silver not biassed....anything gotto do with man u he will be...muahahahaa.....juz kidding....hes not biassed at all.....

anyway nize mag.....i like the photography....dont read the article much....habla ingles....?

Remember when I said I hadn't noticed any "copy and paste" jobs so far? Well, that just ended.

I just read a second article (the Brabus one) and...Good God! It was a complete and utter rehash job of Clarkson's review of the SLK 55 AMG. A car he actually bought, an article which he made references to James May's Porsche Boxster. I'd remember this article even if I read it upside down.

I mean, damn...that is a disgrace.

Kinki_kidz, you were right. Just that it seemed so ludicrous, at the time, I didn't think it was possible.

They've got to be kidding themselves if they thought they could get away with this level of plagiarism. I've yet to read more but hopefully it doesn't get worse than that.

PS: For those of you who haven't a clue; here's a link to Jeremy Clarkson's article for The Times http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,12529-1805419,00.html
Compare this to the Brabus K4 review in Get@Car issue 1 page 24-26.

si|verfish you are a junkie for a good read & would be best in position to echo the dire need for better professionalism on writing/moto journo.

I suppose there are major room for improvements (all local mags). as i mentioned in my earlier post (regards to this mag) the first issue smacks as a self-indulgent (mas...) u get the drift.

local car mags needs a lot more effort to 'buy' my indulgent to purchase them.

woooo....keen i silver.....i wish the linesmen last night got ur eyes and allowed henry goal.... then will be a good cuhion in spain......

ok back to the topic....plagarism...not good

Update.

Read the Alfa Romeo GT piece. Although I can't put a finger on it, I could have swore I read that somewhere before. Possibly Clarkson again, possibly not, might not be on the GT, might have been on the 166 or something. But I've deffo read it before somewhere.

si|verfish said:
Remember when I said I hadn't noticed any "copy and paste" jobs so far? Well, that just ended.

I just read a second article (the Brabus one) and...Good God! It was a complete and utter rehash job of Clarkson's review of the SLK 55 AMG. A car he actually bought, an article which he made references to James May's Porsche Boxster. I'd remember this article even if I read it upside down.

I mean, damn...that is a disgrace.

Kinki_kidz, you were right. Just that it seemed so ludicrous, at the time, I didn't think it was possible.

They've got to be kidding themselves if they thought they could get away with this level of plagiarism. I've yet to read more but hopefully it doesn't get worse than that.

PS: For those of you who haven't a clue; here's a link to Jeremy Clarkson's article for The Times http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,12529-1805419,00.html
Compare this to the Brabus K4 review in Get@Car issue 1 page 24-26.
actually that was the article that made me say so heh

for the Brabus CLS review, i think he used bits from the CLS AMG and put in some words came out from himself :s
oh well, lets wait for the may issue to come out and see if they improved :)

I'm not sure I'm going to get the next issue.

For one, they had the gall to do that and think they could get away with it. And secondly, to think they thought we couldn't have noticed. Umm, sorry but we are a lot savvier than that.

I feel more people should know this before deciding to part with their 10 bucks.

si|verfish said:
I feel more people should know this before deciding to part with their 10 bucks.

ouch.

however, it small change for those who wants(ed) to see their rides to grace local mags.

hmmm.....ill see if they still plagarized the next issue....if not...i wont buy it then...lets hope they improved beco i think the photography is good...

first of all, i would like to forward my sincerest apology from get@car to all the readers of the magazine. as you all have realised i have not been participating in the forum for quite sometime, not because i feel guilty, but i have been busy with the publication of the second issue (june issue).

i have to convey my sincerest apology again for publishing such an article. on our part we would like to assure our readers that it would not happen again.

the real story behind the incident is that our designer had lost the original article and we had no other option but to print that particular article. if not we would have had to pay a penalty to our printer for the delay. this is not very economical since it is only 3 pages missing.

i do hope that you all as readers would understand and would give us a chance to better ourselves. it really disturbs me that such diligent reader such as silverfish would not be buying the second issue. again im very very sorry, i hope you will give another chance and support this magazine.

lordisis; On one hand, it is good that you've come up with an apology. On the other, I still have my concerns. I mean, that's not much of an excuse is it? In other countries you'd be looking at a law suit.

You owe your readers a better explanation than that.

That said, I will probably keep an eye on the next issue, still. Whether I'd buy it or not remains to be seen. As the saying goes; once bitten, twice shy.

After all, this is coming from a guy that bought every copy of Hypertune for several years even though it wasn't very good.

i understand your concern silver, and again i have to say im very sorry.

i understand the implication of such an action but i have to say that that wasnt just an excuse but it was the truth.

i am happy that you will be looking out for the second issue. i hope you will at least browse through it at the newstands.

thank you very much for being such a good critique.

Let's just say I'm a sucker for patient and polite people. Plus, I do hope to see a good quality local car mag.

Anyway, 2 wrongs don't make a right. It was a bad move.

BTW, if I may ask, what is it that you do for this publication?

in these issue we will be featuring an evo9, a porsche 997 carrera 4s, audi a4 avant and a6, and a maranello.

i hope that will satisfy your curiosity.

umm.. something i dun find rite about this..

do u pronounce it as get A car? or.. get AT car? weird shit if its get AT car..

its pronounced as get a car. soon you can do just that, we are gonna have a small classified segment in the mag.

people the second issue is now out...collect the soon to be the best high end car review magazine in malaysia, singapore and indonesia!!!!

featuring the 575 maranello, porsche 997 carrera 4s, evo IX, and the 407 coupe and many more.....

retailing at the same price of only RM9.90...too good to be true....