Fuel prices may drop soon?

AE82GT

PUTRAJAYA: Malaysians may pay less for fuel soon, as the Cabinet is mulling over the possibility of lowering the pump prices.
Several Cabinet Ministers disclosed that the matter was studied during their weekly meeting yesterday but declined to elaborate, saying that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was expected to make an announcement soon.
Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Khaled Nordin said the possibility of consumers paying less for fuel was discussed and that the mechanics were being worked out.
Information Minister Datuk Shabery Cheek said the matter was studied by the Cabinet, but declined to elaborate.
Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad, when contacted, declined comment, saying that it would be best to wait for Abdullah to make an announcement at an appropriate time.
On June 4, the Government raised petrol and diesel prices, stating that it could no longer continue to subsidise fuel prices at the then rate. However, it would continue to provide a 30 sen per litre discount on the market price.
Currently, motorists pay RM2.70 a litre for petrol and RM2.58 a litre for diesel at the pump.
Shahrir was quoted by Bloomberg.com on Tuesday as saying that the Government might reduce fuel prices if crude oil prices stay at US$125 (RM408) per barrel for at least three weeks.
Shahrir said that it that was the case then a reduction in prices could come within the year to enable the Government to keep its pledge of maintaining a 30 sen per litre subsidy.
“Why not, it would be good news, right?†he said during the interview.

Let's say the fuel price drop back, but don't expect other stuffs' price will drop. But when next time fuel price raise again, they will raise another time.

Singapore has already lowered their price by 10cents (RM0.23).
These "stupid dumbass" are really slow in making decision, the price might be going up again by the time they made up their stupid mind, then they will say cannot drop & bla bla bla...

You believe them?! False hope. If we still pay 2.70. Then no tolls please. Use the savings to pay off the whatever toll concessionaires. amacam ada berani?

Please drop quickly before the raya season, it will make the road user feel free to balik kampung..

"what!!?? drop the prices!? & lose our extra income extorting the rakyat!?? NEVER!! how am i going to pay for my personal jetplane's fuel??? holiday allowance kena potong 10% manyak sakit wooo! i need to go france this month dunno where to eat with only RM35,000 in pocket. how to survive!??" :bawling:

:dancing2::damnmate::rofl::rofl::rofl:

In stead of lowered down the fuel price, better to use the money to buy some oversea company. Of cause, I would prefer something like gov 20-30% private 70-80% type of deal.

agreed with csl, price hike already affected the price of products/services in market. eventhou Gov will reduce the price, i doubt the trader will do the same. Gov should consider this or think of the consequences on the recent drstic price hike before announced it to public.

this is what happen when Gov & all the ministers do things without using their brain (if they have 1).. :thefinger:

don't think they hav any... :biggrin:, and only expert in :sleep::sleep::sleep:

Let's say the fuel price drop back, but don't expect other stuffs' price will drop. But when next time fuel price raise again, they will raise another time.
agree...
the G will decide after 3 weeks, if the price still maintaining or drop within this period...
not really put too much hope on it laa... like bro' CSL said, less abit(fuel/petrol) burden, food and other stuffs already marked-up their prices liao since last fuel price hike... that's everyday burden!
less hope, less disappointment.

To be fair, let the fuel free float. if can't live without subsidies, then maintain the fuel subsidies at RM0.30 or RM0.40, let the price float but the subsidies fixed.

I think chances of panties dropping are higher than fuel prices...

Singapore has already lowered their price by 10cents (RM0.23).
These "stupid dumbass" are really slow in making decision, the price might be going up again by the time they made up their stupid mind, then they will say cannot drop & bla bla bla...

to be exact, that's the 5th or sixth time they drop their price in july. few cents drop each time. and the last time is 10cents.

petrol price droping?:listen: a trick to fight anwar maybe?:hmmmm:

drop price? don dream la wei, this pm word cannot be trusted since the 1st day he become pm, its game over for them, time for them to go six feets under the ground.

I want to give a damn but I wonder if I did, would it make a real difference. I want to make a difference but I wonder if I would be thrown in jail by ISA if I tried to make a difference.