Force Induction : Any Options for 4AGs?

Even worse because Toda camshaft are for N/A only. Even in N/A engine they will find really hard to idle. If you use N/A camshafts for turbo applications you will suffer alot of overlapping. N/A camshafts and turbo camshafts has alot of differents.

Overlapping will cause loose of boost and waste of fuel.

ackkk... now i know... >. even NA cams are so different than Turbo cams...
Hmmm... all 4AG heads are almost the same right? So racing cams for 4AGZE should be able to go with 20V GTE right?
But then Toda has different types of cams for 16V and 20V..
Hmm?
Is it cuz of the VVT system?

warrrr...actually better don't play turbo..i mean modifying one, it depends lor...save some money lar, or better put that money to NA, upgrade it tiam tiam one....

Synchron, thank for ur information, u are right about the 0.8 boost cut reason.

efini, u call me tomolo noon lar, then i will pick tauhu tauhu go find u . ok???? better ask ur MUMMY for chop the passport first...heheee...

trd_ae92 said:
warrrr...actually better don't play turbo..i mean modifying one, it depends lor...save some money lar, or better put that money to NA, upgrade it tiam tiam one....

Synchron, thank for ur information, u are right about the 0.8 boost cut reason.

efini, u call me tomolo noon lar, then i will pick tauhu tauhu go find u . ok???? better ask ur MUMMY for chop the passport first...heheee...

>_< i wan also.. dun forget me ler.. unless me a burdan then nvm lor..

back to the topic, let me guess, high cam duration --> overlap + high boost = boost leak out directly from intake valve to exhaust valve during near end of exhaust stroke and begining of intake stroke --> lots of unburn fuel go straight out = firecracker car.. :D

did i mistaken anything?

Although the turbo and N/A camshafts has the same durations, but they have different profiles.

Turbo camshaft looks alot sharper on lobe and N/A has a rounder lobe. For example: HKS and Toda camshaft, HKS has a sharper lobe and Toda has rounder lobe.

16v camshafts and 20v camshaft are really different. 16v camshafts are quite mild actually where else the 20v camshaft are quite aggresive.

Characteristic of a N/A camshafts open fast and close later. Turbo camshafts will be open fast and close fast.

Rollakid, i will ask Tauhu Tauhu to call u lar, efini, remember to call me yah. my turbo can take you for person lar.....ehehe anyway gonna say goodbye to turbo soon before going to KL lar...eheheh. hmm...gonna get cam recorder to record it for memories lar...yup yup ypup..;)

So, Can 4AGZE cams be used as 4AGTE cams?
But then i presume 16V and 20V as 2 totally different engines, arent they? Besides, GZE are only available as 16V engines only right?
So, if all plans for turbo fails, better to just stick to AE111 4 throttle all-motor setup?
how much boost can the stock GZE compressor handle? whats the max hp it can make?
I presume a supercharger unit in the market costs more than a regular turbo unit? can a blitz estima compressor or 2ZZGE be used on 4AGE?

trd_ae92,
thanks for the kind invite XD~~
but most likely i'll be unable to go ler... books and stuff, mom's approval sighh... prolly after SPM this year maybe...leave all the till SPM finishes...
If i dont call you by 2.30pm, means i cant go lor T______T
*hides at a corner and starts crying*

Yes! 4agze cams are great to start with for turbo cams.

4agze supercharger can go more than 1.2bar of boost, but it will not last. on the safety side 0.8 or 0.9 is the maximum for the comressor. Even if we use the estima s/c the max hp will not reach 180hp.

Yes! all aftermarket s/c can fit into 4agze. We just need to mod bracket, intercooler and pipings. Aftermarket s/c is pretty much expensive. It is all up to you, what you want to do with the engine.

synchron said:
Yes! 4agze cams are great to start with for turbo cams.

4agze supercharger can go more than 1.2bar of boost, but it will not last. on the safety side 0.8 or 0.9 is the maximum for the comressor. Even if we use the estima s/c the max hp will not reach 180hp.

Yes! all aftermarket s/c can fit into 4agze. We just need to mod bracket, intercooler and pipings. Aftermarket s/c is pretty much expensive. It is all up to you, what you want to do with the engine.
which reminds me.. how is your centrifugal SC project? btw, i've read from club4ag that 4agze can be run on high cam, since unlike turbocharger where it will be placed at exhaust extractor, where too much overlap will spoil the turbine, while a supercharged engine has no prob with it, as it only think of the engine running below sea level where air presure is higher.

i'm like.. okay.. but why? they got put that some 304degree cam usable by gze too. what does this mean? it will just run less effeciently and waste fuel but won't spoil the engine or turbine like turbocharged will? it left be hangging halfway dunno what i actually understand now.

Hmm, somehow i feel turbo is more lucrative....
centrifugal SC, i wonder how much it costs in the market..

okay.... thats just too costly..T__T how bout power gains?
if i go with 4 throttle, how far would it get me?

The s/c will be in Malaysia in June, take about 2 weeks to fab the brackets. The new s/c that i m taking this time will be able to generate 350hp max.

But in our case we are using a 1.6 litter engine, we should be able to make about 200hp from it.

Centrifugal s/c has a funny characteristic, they are more favourable to light weight engine which can produce alot of power.

You can put any camshaft in the engine but u need to which is the best suite the engine.

Roots charger and centrifugal charger are different in term of camshaft setting. Roots charger cams setting will like the N/A type while the centrifugal cams setting will be like the turbo type.

The centrifugal s/c is that mostly use by the western country, can mod to any car???? never see it before lar??...

System just like any an add on. Need to do bracket and find a place in the engine where you can mount it on.

Some of the halfcut shop got the Vortechs but very expensive for a used one.

Yalah, even u can buy the charger, yet need to buy the ecu too, really cham lar...$$ problmes lor....

Efini, don't worry about u can go out, just keep ur study well yah........ when u finish the exam, let's see can come out drink with tauhu`2, rollakid, artnet, rapheal them. arr...... get intro my other friend too to u guys....also 20v kaki....cheers

Hmm...

tauhu,
yes NA

synchron,
350hp to 200hp only? how come? bigger sc = more power robbed of the engine? how much boost can it take? centrifugal would definitely be better, imho, smaller size lol.
but it would surely cost more than a roots right?
I was actually aiming a Vortech sc unit, but i think the cost would be just tooo much for a person whos gonna work his ass off after spm

trd_ae92,
sorry ler have to reject your invitation.. T_T cant get my mom to chop passport ;'(
hopefully after spm i can afford my own KE70 20V inside... T_T
if mom allow, then i can go with something bigger... 1JZ inside my mom's car hehehe