Superchargers and such

QUOTE (Master D @ Jan 25 2005, 19:04 )
1JZGTE

Go for it...I bet you will love it!

If only I could afford one......

guys,

from wha i read, crop up one question....bout twin charging......

1JZGTE - from what i read ,
the Z stands for chargers and the T stands for turbo....
so it means that 1JZGTE is a twin charging engine right?

Pls correct me if i'm wrong......

Ok, Correcting the wrong :lol: ;) jk la ar:

Example 1JZ - GTE

Use the below to understand how to read the codes, remember that the thing to look out for here is the "dash" "-":

BEFORE "-":
the letters indicate the engine family, for example in 18R-G
the engine family is R, in 2JZ-GTE the family is JZ.
The number(s) at the beginning is the number of the are for a certain
bottom end version (block, bore, stroke). The larger the number,
the newer the bottom end version. It may seem like the larger the
number, the larger the displacement but this is not always true.

AFTER "-":
G = twin cam (wide angle, 45 degrees or more between the intake and exhaust valves)
F = "economical" twin cam (narrow angle, around 22 degrees)
T = turbocharged
Z = supercharged
E = fuel injection
i = single point fuel injection
L = transverse mounted engine (seems to be an obsolete code)
B = twin carbs (only used on non-twin cam engines, obsolete code)
R = air injection
S = swirl intake ports (only a few made in mid '80s)
S = direct injection & swirl pot pistons (starting from '97/98)
U = emission package (Japan)
C = emission package (California)
LPG = LPG fuel

Hope this helps! :D

rollakid Posted on Jan 25 2005, 19:25
Master D, you sat in a car with one of those before?

NOPE.......so far I only sat in a Cressida fitted with a 1G-GTEU...and although this is has lesser ponnies.......the speed and the fact that you cant friggin believe such a big (chunk of metal) :P :D car can go so damn fast.......wooohoo......amazing I tell ya... :lol:

I have a fren working on a MarkII 1JZ project....engine is sitting in the shop for 2 years now...haha....no time and more importantly money to get the car worked on...

FR...Big Siput....Durable engine.....Toyota Rocks!!!!!!

B)

efini,

I'm not an expert...so if you want to know about twincharging please visit this website as the guy have a project on twincharging

http://www.4ag3sg.co.uk/twincharge.htm

hi guys...it's interesting to see at last frens discussing about the supercharger thing.as for me been using the gze for since 97, i agree with all u guys there are hi and lows for superchargers compared to the glamourous turbochargers.for me driving a 'minor' mod gze is just about enuff.just feels like driving a small car with 2.5 litre engine.u tap the throttle, the power comes immediately. my gze use the custom made pulley (175 mm cusco style) with 1400cc 1ggze roots.boost is around 0.9 to 1.0 bar.at 2krpm i can get plus minus 0.5 bar.it helps a lot during driving in the city.the fun only last until about 6.5krpm where the engine will feel a bit heavy after that due to the parisitic effect that slurps away the horsepower.that's the low of supercharger plus other lows mebbe i didn't write in here.another issue is the heat generated by the roots blower itself.u need an effective cooling method. for me water to air is the best.used that (custom made) once (during batu kawan sprint test) and it works flawlessly but need to improve here and ther to use it on the road.now using standard intercooler but using larger custom made air scoop.works ok only la but it's ugly.sometimes shy la when people see.me and frens have gone to the limits for the 4agze sc12 (maybe coz we broke 2 sc within a month.not lasting..hehehe :P ) where we managed to get 1.5 bar with the help of custom made big crank and very small supercharger pulley plus with the water/air charge cooler.power comes really early (no dyno la, perasaan sahaja) and the high end starts to loose power even earlier and u need to change the gear earlier to go quicker (as soon as 6.5krpm) or u'll loose ur time.
erk...talk so much..btw..going for the turbo after this.waiting my fren's car to finish, then my turn..gze turns to gte.supercharger is a lot of fun..trust me. but for guys with the need for extreme speed and power, go for the turbo..or still wanna play supercharger, swap in a 10 liter v8 + one big roots blower + nitromethane fuel + everything-u-can-put-in-your-car-to-go-fast thing = 6000hp = 5 sec 1/4 mile = 450 km/h e.t...hehe.nice aaa.. :D :D :D just wanna share with u guys..cheers

see.. everyone finish play sc go play turbo liaw...
thanks for the link speedcrave...

hmm i cant type any questions or long posts now... very sick...

hi guys...it's interesting to see at last frens discussing about the supercharger thing.as for me been using the gze for since 97, i agree with all u guys there are hi and lows for superchargers compared to the glamourous turbochargers.for me driving a 'minor' mod gze is just about enuff.just feels like driving a small car with 2.5 litre engine.u tap the throttle, the power comes immediately. my gze use the custom made pulley (175 mm cusco style) with 1400cc 1ggze roots.boost is around 0.9 to 1.0 bar.at 2krpm i can get plus minus 0.5 bar.it helps a lot during driving in the city.the fun only last until about 6.5krpm where the engine will feel a bit heavy after that due to the parisitic effect that slurps away the horsepower.that's the low of supercharger plus other lows mebbe i didn't write in here.another issue is the heat generated by the roots blower itself.u need an effective cooling method. for me water to air is the best.used that (custom made) once (during batu kawan sprint test) and it works flawlessly but need to improve here and ther to use it on the road.now using standard intercooler but using larger custom made air scoop.works ok only la but it's ugly.sometimes shy la when people see.me and frens have gone to the limits for the 4agze sc12 (maybe coz we broke 2 sc within a month.not lasting..hehehe :P :P ) where we managed to get 1.5 bar with the help of custom made big crank and very small supercharger pulley plus with the water/air charge cooler.power comes really early (no dyno la, perasaan sahaja) and the high end starts to loose power even earlier and u need to change the gear earlier to go quicker (as soon as 6.5krpm) or u'll loose ur time.
erk...talk so much..btw..going for the turbo after this.waiting my fren's car to finish, then my turn..gze turns to gte.supercharger is a lot of fun..trust me. but for guys with the need for extreme speed and power, go for the turbo..or still wanna play supercharger, swap in a 10 liter v8 + one big roots blower + nitromethane fuel + everything-u-can-put-in-your-car-to-go-fast thing = 6000hp = 5 sec 1/4 mile = 450 km/h e.t...hehe :D :D :D .nice aaa.. just wanna share with u guys..cheers

my 2 sen...

just want to share my experience with driving a s/c 4agze. my car was transplanted with the engine towards the end of 2003. drove it for almost a year without any problems. then one day, the pump konked. was advised to changed to a turbo system but persisted with another pump. as with used items, it lasted another few months before i decided enough was enough and now converted to hybrid turbo.

s/c is nice to drive, power is there at an instant, but afer 3rd, is all she wrote.... but i still did not regret having not converted to turbo earlier as i woulc've missed the chance to have feeling of driven a s/c car....

love it or hate it.... the choice is yours....

agree...

and depends where u mount the turbo... easier for maintenance/upgrade...

:lol:

rollakid,

i stay at kedah.old school land..playing topfuel dragster just in my dream only..it's out of reach la, at least for now.even to reach 13secs 1/4 mile pun susah..6 secs.. :( :( .

ya..i agree...go for the turbo,the next level of fun.max fun with max power with max speed with max flexiblity...imagine wanna increase boost for ur sc,need to change pulley la ape laa..turbo? at least u can tweak your 'tulang ikan' u can boost increase until u blow your engine..hehe..... :lol:

about switching boost, sure the turbo is better, but some supercharger come with adjustable boost as well. for example TRD, tho i suspect they just adjust the bypass valve to release the access boost...

Just a little thought.

I think that whichever forced induction method you use should not be based on others' opinions and rather on the function on which you plan to use it for.

People say that turbo is powerful but when does the power come in? How do we utilise that power and how do we maximise it to our needs? Is it adaptable for our form of use? That's a fundamental question that we should answer before adapting our engines to forced induction.

I'm not against turbo, nor am I pro supercharger but rather I'm just stating that it's more wise to utilise something that we deem useful rather than just fixing it because people say so.

That's something I learned through 'the school of hard knocks'~! Hahahaha...

kudos scav... u read my mind... i was about to say the same thing... although i've migrated to turbo, i only did it cos of necessecity... otherwise i would still be driving s/c... s/c parts not easy so source in kch... most ppl convert to turbo immediately from s/c........

Thats right, the GZE is a dying breed...soon there will be too few spare parts to go around. Prices will sky rocket and people will shy away from this option of mod.

So I say, while we still have a chance...understand the true potential of the s\c. Not everyone can afford a TRD supercharger!!!!!
:ph34r:

Originally posted by Master D@Jan 26 2005, 10:50
QUOTE (Master D @ Jan 25 2005, 19:04 )
1JZGTE

Go for it...I bet you will love it!

If only I could afford one......

guys,

from wha i read, crop up one question....bout twin charging......

1JZGTE - from what i read ,
the Z stands for chargers and the T stands for turbo....
so it means that 1JZGTE is a twin charging engine right?

Pls correct me if i'm wrong......

Ok, Correcting the wrong :lol: ;) jk la ar:

Example 1JZ - GTE

Use the below to understand how to read the codes, remember that the thing to look out for here is the "dash" "-":

BEFORE "-":
the letters indicate the engine family, for example in 18R-G
the engine family is R, in 2JZ-GTE the family is JZ.
The number(s) at the beginning is the number of the are for a certain
bottom end version (block, bore, stroke). The larger the number,
the newer the bottom end version. It may seem like the larger the
number, the larger the displacement but this is not always true.

AFTER "-":
G = twin cam (wide angle, 45 degrees or more between the intake and exhaust valves)
F = "economical" twin cam (narrow angle, around 22 degrees)
T = turbocharged
Z = supercharged
E = fuel injection
i = single point fuel injection
L = transverse mounted engine (seems to be an obsolete code)
B = twin carbs (only used on non-twin cam engines, obsolete code)
R = air injection
S = swirl intake ports (only a few made in mid '80s)
S = direct injection & swirl pot pistons (starting from '97/98)
U = emission package (Japan)
C = emission package (California)
LPG = LPG fuel

Hope this helps! :D
thanks bro for the information.
now i understnad more bout it already :lol: ;)

Hmm...
I still do have dreams to play with a 1UZFE V8 supercharged engine... well, its just a dream :) hopefully it will come true soon sighh...
anyways, i will still continue my quest of learning more bout forced induction, like turbos and superchargers...
eh continue discussion pleasee.. i wanna learn more :D

talk about 1UZ-FE, you might want to think abou the road tax first. 4liter or 4.3 liter engine's roadtax isn't cheap. it might cost more than a year of my pocket money now :ph34r: