FINALLY!! Your reliable source for all your rotary needs...

hi 13btt, thanks for your comforting comments.

15engines for yourself? Or a total of 15 engines rebuild over a period for yourself and others? If it is just yourself; 15xRM5000 = RM75,000 8-) Just some numbers to show that in the end, getting a perfectly rebuild engine with guarantee will safe you much more.

Do take note that RM60,000 quoted includes the car! Yes the car also. A Savvannah RX7 with 9 inch LSD rear axles, custom made 3inch long shaft, complete engine package, complete interior, racing wheels. A package race car to run 9-10secs. I think it's a very good one time investment to me instead of cheap 10,000 rebuilds and mods that breaks 10 times and you end up spending more when you could have just gotten a whole complete and guaranteed drag/street race car for half the price ;)

just my 2 cents

response are not too good either so i have not been really chasing for anything. but i am still definitely going for a pocket rocket myself!

rotary pocket rocket *keke*

on the 15 engines i belief he builds it for his customers not for his own car.

In short, Glen... just continue rebuilding RE for us. That's very good enought for us.... :p :p :p

13btt said:
Firstly I commend you on your efforts and enthusiasm with the rotary engine and providing a solution to the lack of knowledge and resources here in Malaysia. This too was my goal but I have had limited success for a number of reasons which sadly I have come to realize are all beyond my control. If I may I would like to elaborate on my findings and provide my opinion as follows - I apologise ahead of time if some of you may be offended by my comments...

In my 4 years personal experience with RE (1995 FD RX-7) ownership and total 10 years rotary experience which started in Australia plus 5 years interaction with RE owners here including comments from some pretend RE builders in the workshop scene I have come to realise the following.

There are many, but two main problems with the rotary engine's success in Malaysia. Firstly the lack of knowledge/skill in RE rebuilding by local mechanics (not entirely their fault) is well understood but more importantly the lack of funds of the RE owner wherein most RX-7 owners prefer to spend their (perhaps) limited funds on aesthetics rather than building a good & reliable engine. Malaysia has a culture of chop-shop replacement parts to save cost over new parts and this includes chop-shop engine versus rebuild existing with new parts. Afterall an engine kosong is most often cheaper than a rebuild done properly which is even more clearly seen from your PAC engine pricing. Why else would chop-shops throughout Malaysia be so prevalent and successful.

Even if most RE owners spent all their funds on the engine alone most (IMO) cannot afford the PAC Performance engine cost at around RM60,000!! Holy sh*t that cost is at least 75% the value of their car. There is no doubt in my mind that they (PAC) are exceptional at building performance rotary engines (after all the Aussies build some of the best rotary engine in the world). I am also sure they are on par or better than the RotorMaster in Sydney.

Therefore in my opinion you will be hard pressed to find a good handful of RE owners as you need to kick this off, i.e. that can afford to spend the money necessary to own a PAC Performance engine. This is further supported by the fact that the Ringgit is very small compared to most other currencies. The Ringgit has depreciated against the Aussie dollar from $AUD1.00 to RM1.70 in 2001 where today it is a HUGE RM2.80!! However, should I be wrong then good luck to you and I wish you all the best in your RE endeavours!

Now some of you may think I am blowing my trumpet and well you are right. However, I believe I have the personal experience to back it all up...8-) Comments most welcome…

Finally...a word of advice to you Edwin - most owners think RM5,000 is a lot of money to spend building an engine...hence to jump from this RM5,000 to RM60,000 is a HUGE and unthinkable jump:confused_smile: . How do I know this?? – because I have built in excess of 15 engines here in KL for RE owners, workshops in Sunway and also Singapore…at or around RM5,000. Of course these engines are not as good as PAC but they are the best that can be achieved at the price point and definitely far superior to other local builds including those from our friend out in Subang by a mile at least!

All of you out there in ZTH (RE owners) please speak up and tell me how much you would be willing to pay for a reliable rebuild from PAC performance or similar Australian source…perhaps this can help Edwin source a suitable build specification from PAC and save him from disappointment.

Best regards to ALL,
Glen :shades_smile:

i'm with glen on this. mosr RE owners want an ah beng wing and wheels then paint the car and try to tell you they are rotary sifus.

dave,

good oneeeeee!!!! HAHAHAHAHA

phat7 said:
i'm with glen on this. mosr RE owners want an ah beng wing and wheels then paint the car and try to tell you they are rotary sifus.

Hi 3riple-D,

Yes Diablo is right these engines were for mates, workshops and other RE owners. Only rebuilt mine once and so far it has last 3 years...since sold my RX to guy in JB who tells me he is loving it.

Yup sounds like a lot of money at RM75k but most of the money is in parts hence why i am somewhat tired of fooling around with RE for others so have slowed down considerably of late.

Just in case some of you don't know me I don't rebuild for money but as a hobby/for fun - I have a professional valuation business in KL :regular_smile: which makes me more money that building a few REs on weekends...hahahaha

Mmm RM60,000 inclusive of car sounds much better now - thanks for the clarification...so how much for a decent PAC rebuild only with modestly upgraded internals landed in KL?? I may have someone interested.

regards.

3riple-D said:
hi 13btt, thanks for your comforting comments.

15engines for yourself? Or a total of 15 engines rebuild over a period for yourself and others? If it is just yourself; 15xRM5000 = RM75,000 8-) Just some numbers to show that in the end, getting a perfectly rebuild engine with guarantee will safe you much more.

Do take note that RM60,000 quoted includes the car! Yes the car also. A Savvannah RX7 with 9 inch LSD rear axles, custom made 3inch long shaft, complete engine package, complete interior, racing wheels. A package race car to run 9-10secs. I think it's a very good one time investment to me instead of cheap 10,000 rebuilds and mods that breaks 10 times and you end up spending more when you could have just gotten a whole complete and guaranteed drag/street race car for half the price ;)

just my 2 cents

response are not too good either so i have not been really chasing for anything. but i am still definitely going for a pocket rocket myself!

We assess the value (normally Market Value) of real estate (real property) and plant & machinery (personal property) normally for banks but also for accountants, lawyers and companies.

Our valuations may be needed for mortgage lending/commercial lending for banks so that they don't over-lend on real estate and so on. That is we tell them the property is worth say RM100,000 and then they generally lend up to a maximum of 80% or RM80,000.

However, at the moment (given the increased demand) we specialise in default loan / recovery work to assist the bank prior to lelong (auction). Have any of you noticed the large number of properties for auction in the paper of late?? Well, we set the Market Value stated (reserve price) of these properties prior to auction as per the National Land Code requirements to protect both the Bank and Borrower.

I hope the above makes sense as this is just the tip of the iceberg for clients & purposes/uses of valuation reports.

DRFT_240sx said:
sorry off topic

whats a professional valuation business?

glen, looks like you're velly flee tolay. dont foget tomolow we meeting.

I wish!

Hey big fella,

Nah not really free just feeling tired of typing asset register and reports...needed a break or breaks oops

Yup got some serious rebuilding tomorrow i remember - we better not eat too much breakie otherwise sleep sleep we will.....see ya at 8am

Make sure you're up to doing that monster port job on ya engine okay?!?!

Glen

money is everything ,

$5000 rebuild sustain certian horsepower only.

what you paid is what you get ,

coolblue- what kind of horsepower you talking bout? if you're after an engine to break the land speed record then your option is not rebuilding but rather which engineer you going to pay to redevelop the weak link in your engine.

the 5000 rebuilds so far has yielded more than enough successful examples of which their owners have no complaints.

my major problem with rotary kaki's is their rampant bullshitting. i personally have spent nearly the cost of my car and to date i'm still not happy. its difficult to explain this to some punk who thinks a fake c-west bodykit, 19" rims and huge replica gt wing has the right to comment on my efforts.

phat7 - what do you mean by what kind horsepower that i'm looking for ?

the fact is what you pay is what you get ,

many pointed that ah choi in usj are sucks .... but the same person still goes to the same place ,

rotary engine lifespan is short in malaysia .. because the driving style that abuse the engine ,

Ah choy? sucks? why?

coolblue said:
phat7 - what do you mean by what kind horsepower that i'm looking for ?

the fact is what you pay is what you get ,

many pointed that ah choi in usj are sucks .... but the same person still goes to the same place ,

rotary engine lifespan is short in malaysia .. because the driving style that abuse the engine ,

please elaborate more about this,many pointed that Ah Choy sucks? who? when? why?

Rotary engine lifespan is short in malaysia? now that sounds biased.I dont agree.It happens everywhere in the world.Please do your homework,with proper maintanence,it should good like anywhere else

Why do i need to eleborate who says this ? .
i mean most guys that play rotary says that ,

what proper maintanences that can keep up with the abusive driving style ? .
over-rev and overboost are common things that makes rotary in malaysia not relaible ,

should you survey and understand more about rotary before you point to a wrong person ?

- D i a b l o - said:
please elaborate more about this,many pointed that Ah Choy sucks? who? when? why?

Rotary engine lifespan is short in malaysia? now that sounds biased.I dont agree.It happens everywhere in the world.Please do your homework,with proper maintanence,it should good like anywhere else

coolblue said:
Why do i need to eleborate who says this ? .
i mean most guys that play rotary says that ,

what proper maintanences that can keep up with the abusive driving style ? .
over-rev and overboost are common things that makes rotary in malaysia not relaible ,

should you survey and understand more about rotary before you point to a wrong person ?

ahh no offence man,somehow my last post didnt sound right,now let start over.I dont point my fingers at you,and I admit i dont know much about rotary engines.But why not you help me here,tell me why does "people" say he's not good?

You want to know why? I want to service my car there,thats why..if he's not good then why should I bother to go there? Please enlighten me.

yeah overboost and over-rev is common things,but doesnt that happen anywhere?

As you quoted this "with proper maintanence,it should good like anywhere else". That's the problem with malaysian RE owners. Most of them don't. THey prefer to invest else where... esp bling bling stuff.... right dave (c-west,gt wings)? Hahaha....

- D i a b l o - said:

Aiyah, mech stuff, some ppl say good some ppl say no good. You just go and exp. yourself. Normaly service like change oil is ok to go there. If you think is a major fix, then is better you get 2nd advice from other ppl or here. Sounds good? Hahaha

- D i a b l o - said:
ahh no offence man,somehow my last post didnt sound right,now let start over.I dont point my fingers at you,and I admit i dont know much about rotary engines.But why not you help me here,tell me why does "people" say he's not good?

You want to know why? I want to service my car there,thats why..if he's not good then why should I bother to go there? Please enlighten me.

yeah overboost and over-rev is common things,but doesnt that happen anywhere?