Extractors..

correction here my friend :

before
(Now you know why J101 keep saying a conversion to B series is much better)
after
(Now you know why Akuma keep saying a conversion to B series is much better)

:p

I do agree with some statements. ringgit for horse, it would take a lot for a NA car, especially for a D16 stock to the bones.

J101, to your question, my car is bone stock now and i feel that it is really really lacking in power. So am thinking about ways to add a few horses here and there but I think the cummulation of the whole sum would probably be the same just to plonk in a B16.

Am also considering a LPT (light pressure turbo) but that would probably mean I have to overhaul the current engine.

Budget is an issue, that is why i am reluctant to want to do any major mods right now.

Anyway, thanks for all the feedback guys. really appreciate it.

Don't use light pressure turbo (the sub 1K ones).. in my experience, it doesn't work at all.

A complete turbokit generates horsepower by cramming more air, and getting it cooled by the intercooler, even then, it loses a bit due to the restriction of getting the air past the long pipes and intercooler. But in the end, it's the complete system of cooling the intake air and raising the pressure that increases hp. simply increasing the pressure will not work, as the light pressure unit already introduces a form of restricition in a way.

For me, adding power on the d series on a budget entails only two upgrades in my experience. Change the filter element to a less restrictive one (HKS/K&N, use the stock airbox, as it's already a form of a cold air intake system) and getting a extractor (4-2-1/4-1, depending on your preference) and a cat back system with moderate piping sizes. These are the only value for money mods in my opinion.

Just my 6 cents.

akuma, ef7 Si? whaahhahaha....wat kinda of bulls**t...hahaaha where's the ef7.5 word tat u always claim tat is ur car?

one of my fren dyno his car after he installed his extractor....he lost a few hp(compare to his previous dyno)...but he said tat he feel the car is more powerful than before....but i have yet seen his graphs....

u really need to compare two graphs if u discuss on hp n torque matter....

xxxx,
EF7 Si=1.6Twin Cam EFi aka ZC...u tatak paham meh?u dun blip?come take a look under my hood?......EF7.5?aper tuh?Tommi Mak EVO6.5 or EVO7.5 i know lar..
na bt ur fren,r u talking abt d yellow CRX?think i heard him talking abt him too d other day......if its him,i'd like 2 take a look @ his set up again...frm wat he told me,dis shudn't b happening....wat abt greyrex?how did he do?

J101,
yayapapaya.............anwyay,in terms of SOHC mods,i still Alan's ex-EG is still 1 of d BEST example in d whole world...yes,its dat good....u do agree w me eh?

shiroitenshi,
mod dat'll cause power gain across d range?lemme c...exos does......good air filter system w CAI does....upping d octane does.....wat else arr??aiya..i 4got dy ler...learn alot..but never apply oso...coz me poor man...Si onry...mod?dun waste time...time 2 get my Bseries too... =)

akuma said:
shiroitenshi,
mod dat'll cause power gain across d range?lemme c...exos does......good air filter system w CAI does....upping d octane does.....wat else arr??aiya..i 4got dy ler...learn alot..but never apply oso...coz me poor man...Si onry...mod?dun waste time...time 2 get my Bseries too... =)

You make it sound so easy.. sigh. :X-:

shiroitenshi,
wats so difficult abt modding an engine?its just basically screwing w d factory's setting/balance...dats all,right?IMHO,d difficult part is always d tuning....u can haf say a MUGEN ECU,but it MIGHT not giv u d best power gain,or might even make u loose power coz d ECU might not suit d engine....or vice versa...dis is very subjective n time consuming......d EFi University article in Honda Tuning,or was it SCC really got me excited..if only we could haf sumthg like dat here in M'sia..woooweee!!!!

I mean akuma, that I've spent 5K+ on engine mods alone, mugen 4-1 extractor, 5 zigen muffler and downpipe, catback system, HKS air suction kit (becoz I cannot find mugen one for eg) and I've yet to get signifigant gains like you say across the RPM there's always power lost/no change somewhere, and made up (of course, more than the one lost lah!) somewhere else. I know I can get it once I go for tuning (still undecided what piggyback/stanalone to use), but overall in the end, the only mod you can get to increase your power through the entire rpm band above is through tuning, but NOT through bolt-ons alone, which was what I was saying all along. That's why I think you're expecting too much out of bolt-ons.

But piggyback/stanalones are not 1K++... more like 2-6K. Unless you're talking second-hand, which depends on your luck entirely.

shiroitenshi,
hehehe...sumhow i beg 2 differ....read in Honda Tuning whr they pitted a few air intake system 4 d US Acura RSX.....frm d dyno graph,almost all d systems have power gain across d range...more so if its d CAI system....so i do blif bolt-on CAN gif u power gain across d range....also d right exos system....d size of d piping,d placement of d centre bullet is very important.....can't remember whr i read abt it b4 but d tuner played w d placement of d centre bullet n every dyno showed differences...while keeping d header n rear muffler d same all d time.....
n abt tuning,its always abt luck..even if u haf d most expensive & advance tuning gizmos,b it brand new or used,u'll still hafta depend on d tuner...n i've had a few bad experiences w dis oredy...kinda having a phobia 2 every dyno tune my car again.....n abt ur HKS suction kit.wat does it consists of?i know d MUGEN comes a a cold air intake box,right?but HKS?i tot they r famous 4 their mushroom air filter onry?....wat suction kit?how much wor?
anyway,if ur car out n whr u plan 2 dyno?do update us on d figure ya?

*note:-actually arr...watta heck is a downpipe in a NA car?turbo i know lar....

shiroitenshi/akuma,
good topic discussion here. i think the minor mods like CAI, extractors, cat-back system, plug cables, piggybacks and other affordable bolt-on mods would be the key to intermediate tuning when the time comes. overally, by all means we try not to skip the steps so that we dun over-budget ourselves when you need it during advance upgrade. an advance upgrade is always a revamp on certain mods as it requires to withstand higher energy produced from the engine. not to say you are paying double, just that its a requirement to make it effiecient.

J101,
after all d bolt-ons,i think full race clutch ranks No.1 in my dictionary now.....yeah,of course daily driving suffer ler...but d smile on my face offsets all d burden... =)

akuma, dun si here n Si there la....tell them about ur monster b16a(konon) la.....hahhaha

anywhere, u really need a good tuner to get the most out of ur engine....
i seen a guy who is supposed to be good at tuning but has the worst attitude of all tuned my fren's car. the outcome was likee s**t. n he didn't even care.

i've seen pics of the hks kit sold by a guy in this forum with nick like "mingFD"...
something like aem's CAI but made of different material.

shiro,
the word downpipe is only used with turbo engines. unless urs is turboed.haha.
downpipe means the part tat connects the exhaust piping to the turbo engine, if i'm not mistaken.

the hks suction kits is the new model that comes with a different mushroom cover(diffrent pattern of leaf) and it comes with a CAI cover plate for the chosen vehicle. yes, very expensive.

clutch? indeed its important as long we dont wanna see anymore of those "not too hard, not too soft, sometime for street and sometimes for track" ha ha ha ha

ps. downpipe means secondary manifold piping. the 2-1 thingy. misleading info again huh?

akuma said:
J101,
after all d bolt-ons,i think full race clutch ranks No.1 in my dictionary now.....yeah,of course daily driving suffer ler...but d smile on my face offsets all d burden... =)

but normally ppll wouldn't say tat the 2-1 for na cars is a downpipe rite?
u can try to search online.....

full race clutch? outdated la u....ppl prefer hyper single.....haha...they say better.....

by the way, this pics r taken from ming FD3s,

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67113&d=1143005301

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67120&d=1143005656

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67121&d=1143005666

shiro, u using these?

xxxx,
???isn't just like a box covering d air filter thn route d intake pipe 2 suck in cool air?like dat MY system lagi best wat?cheap cheap....less thn RM50 minus d HKS SPF..ahhahaha....n oit!!!whc part of my Si u dun like?mai ka ka ciau ciau lar....btw,wats hyper single clutch?isn't it d same?name only diff mah?n who's THAT tuner?sum1 we all know?in horsepower avenue arr??ahahahahha

J101,
yeap...dats wat i tot whn i heard downpipe....still farnee lar y ppl call it downpipe n not 2-1....i guess downpipe sound more canggih eh?

did some websearch

DOWNPIPE : A vertical pipe which brings rainwater to ground level from roof gutters or waste water from hoppers.

Honda downpipe :
http://www.overnightautoparts.com/down%5Epipe+honda+performancep.html

Another honda downpipe :
http://www.stevehillmotorsport.com/parts-department/parts/exhausts/system/index.html

i think only 4-2-1 (separable version) would be best called downpipes for the 2-1. since they make the 2-1s in many version and sizes of collectors.

about the same as AEM's la....

u never heard of hyper single? aiyo.....u should update urself....it's better for street n racing use....if track only, then u use full racing lor...very thin....

j101,

can't u see in the pics from the 1st website u gave, it's not a 2-1.......

only one entry hole n one exit hole, rite? haha....

old school accords. i was searching pages with some illustration.

probably downpipe is singular. one in, one out. :p

if it was downpipeS, then it would be different.

xxxx said:
j101,

can't u see in the pics from the 1st website u gave, it's not a 2-1.......

only one entry hole n one exit hole, rite? haha....