[WTA] need some opinion from sifus

vtecDIEhard

hi...i would like to seek some opinion on a few matters and hope you guys could give some opinion. i'm currently running on 1.6 non vtec and was thinking of engine overhaul or engine conversion.

i've been quoted engine overhaul would cost around 2.5k and another friend suggested me to go for 1.8 block with 1.6 head and it would be jus cost slightly more (i dont know an exact figure yet as i'm still sourcing...anyone out there done this before?).

what do you guys think?
1. should i go for overhaul on 1.6 non vtec? OR
2. go for 1.8block with 1.6 head?

if (2), do i need to change engine mounting? can i jus use e-manage instead of using a 1.8 ecu?

thanks in advance

Swapping an engine like no.2 requires a lot of $$$. If u got limited $$$ just consider an overhaul (or look out for ready to swap, of course in gud condition one lah), playing wit hybrid (referring to no.2) is for guys to plan for a mean machine. Gud luck.

hi...i would like to seek some opinion on a few matters and hope you guys could give some opinion. i'm currently running on 1.6 non vtec and was thinking of engine overhaul or engine conversion.

i've been quoted engine overhaul would cost around 2.5k and another friend suggested me to go for 1.8 block with 1.6 head and it would be jus cost slightly more (i dont know an exact figure yet as i'm still sourcing...anyone out there done this before?).

what do you guys think?
1. should i go for overhaul on 1.6 non vtec? OR
2. go for 1.8block with 1.6 head?

if (2), do i need to change engine mounting? can i jus use e-manage instead of using a 1.8 ecu?

thanks in advance

Which 1.6 head and 1.8 block are you talking about? And in what car?

If money is an issue, i would just overhaul the 1.6 non-vtec. Are you talking about the ZC motor (D16a6)?

Just as a heads up, when you're friend asked you to go for a 1.6 head on a 1.8 block, he means, going for a b16a/B18c setup and you will need a lot more to $$ to go with this setup which at the moment i wouldn't bother mentioning because it'll be a pretty long list to type out.

And if you are going to use the current head, it won't mate onto the 1.8 block because honda don't make 1.8liter d-series block.

Thanks for the input. I'm considering option 1 for now unless there's any soul out there that's changing from sohc vtec to dohc vtec. Then again, I'm still wondering on the reliability of the engine of the owner if it was ever abused.

Any news, pls pm me guys. Thanks

Just stick with option 1 since budget is an issue at the moment. I can imagine the amount of time and money already that you need to spend when converting what you currently have to sohc vtec. Its best to save up for a B-series conversion in the future.

You may want to think twice first before you go for overhaul your engine. Is it worth to pay 2.5k for engine overhaul? Is it the major breakdown until you have to considered to go for overhaul?
If you really interested in upgrade your engine to dohc vtec minimumly b16a, why not considering this engine? Probably now you can get around 5k to complete the whole conversion. Put your target on this.

Unless u can petik ur money from pokok duit duit....
think it twice bro... can take opinion from some fren...

You may want to think twice first before you go for overhaul your engine. Is it worth to pay 2.5k for engine overhaul? Is it the major breakdown until you have to considered to go for overhaul?
If you really interested in upgrade your engine to dohc vtec minimumly b16a, why not considering this engine? Probably now you can get around 5k to complete the whole conversion. Put your target on this.

5k? u must be joking. the halfcut alone goes for 6.8k-7k now... i did mine not too long ago. my total bill was slightly more than double that 5k u mentioned.

alot of ppl see this wrongly. they think conversion is a mere buy the halfcut, install it and u are ready to rev. this is not true. i assure u. there are alot of other things u will need to replace/repair in order for the engine to run smoothly.

vtecdiehard: this is my advise to u. if u plan to go further with ur engine, as in.. mod it till u can't mod no more, then i would suggest u save up for a b-series conversion. in all honesty, the D-series isn't much of a kick (no offense to D-series owners) unless turbocharged. if u plan to take that route, then by all means do so. however, u did mention u had budget constraints.. therefore, turbocharging would be out at the moment. if u wanna use ur car just to get from A to B, then perhaps overhauling would be the best bet.

just my 2 cents. dun flame me D-series owners =(

It's depend on whether u r taking half cut or the engine on the floor. They are diff. price.
What is the point of taking the half cut where you are only require engine for conversion unless you wanna grip all the items from half cut including body.
No doubt that you have to spare some amounts for some repairing or replacement base on your luck. But at least you have some idea which one to look for...

It's depend on whether u r taking half cut or the engine on the floor. They are diff. price.
What is the point of taking the half cut where you are only require engine for conversion unless you wanna grip all the items from half cut including body.
No doubt that you have to spare some amounts for some repairing or replacement base on your luck. But at least you have some idea which one to look for...

auto small V hafkat how much??? 3k???

oh well works both ways hehe. however he did mention abt DOHC though.. and as for the "why take a halfcut when u only want the engine"

most halfcuts i surveyed comes without the bodyparts. mine came with everything excluding the bodyparts.

If budget is the constraint then go for a LS-VTEC, do search fro that on the Web and find out what it is. I'm running one for 5 Years already without any problems. Its basically a B18B (non VTEC Block) with a VTEC head (B16A). Will give you better torque then a B18C setup. Can visit my Blog to see the details. http://lsvtec.spaces.live.com

i do check around once or twice in a month and the price for a undented eg6/9 is around 6.5k to 7k. with lsd is 9k. that is before negotiation and it would be a bonus if they are willing to sell engine bay area only minus the bodyparts.

well said by arrowhead, the hidden cost of fixing the wear and tear is just another story. sometimes either your lucky or just plain unlucky.

dont forget about legalising puspakom/jpj+insurance at the end of the day.

alot of ppl see this wrongly. they think conversion is a mere buy the halfcut, install it and u are ready to rev. this is not true. i assure u. there are alot of other things u will need to replace/repair in order for the engine to run smoothly.
if u wanna use ur car just to get from A to B, then perhaps overhauling would be the best bet.

j101: hehe thanks for ur support on my comment.

yes JPJ/PUSPAKOM is another, and ya i forgot to mention another, this will set u back about additional 1k or so depending where u do it.... EXHAUST SYSTEM

Unless you go for the older version which i'm not sure is available anymore which is the OBD-0 version. Not sure how it is in your area but the cheapest i got was roughly 3K for the engine plus wiring + ECU without gearbox. Thats excluding installation. Installation would probably be around around 1k or so.

How about gearbox? LSD equipped are roughly around the 2k region if you are lucky.

How about fuel pump? the in-tank is not included so have to get it also. Not sure how much. I just bought an external one.

How about linkages and pedal sets if yours is not manual?

And lastly, how about what arrowhead has pointed out on maintenance items that needs changing? I've seen quite a lot of people who cheap out and not being so lucky and able to run it for a few days before screwing something up.

Doing it right the first time always pays off. I wouldn't build the D16 unless i'm going for boost. But what do i know, maybe its actually cheaper to do conversion in your area than mine. I'm just talking with experience.