Extractors..

haha....maybe.... cos the 2nd page called the spoon 2-1 a downpipe......

xxxx,
d bloody problem 4 our car IS,limited parts ler...u ask dis,dun haf..ask dat...kenot fit..so just buy wat they can gerenti 2 fit only ler.....hehehehe

J101,
so,nex round ehh???SDB..v go 2gether..1st July eh?

udeng,
wat toking u?i say v go 2gether..he drag i watch..apara...my Si mana buleh drag?

xxxx said:
full race clutch? outdated la u....ppl prefer hyper single.....haha...they say better.....

by the way, this pics r taken from ming FD3s,

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67113&d=1143005301

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67120&d=1143005656

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67121&d=1143005666

shiro, u using these?

No, that one's for EK.. mine is EG lah! I'm using the normal HKS one (I just quoted the box! Don't blame me! (T.T) got the short charge pipe, then the stupid filter in front. Ugly as hell, but ARC is a bit too expensive since I'd rather spend it somewhere else at the moment. I like AEM's one (The only other person who likes it in the civic clique I'm in, the first one being my cousin, who's using it.) but with the higher number of JDM afficianados, you'll definitely hear something about your part not being JDM.

I'm under the 'JDM is overated' group, and usually the JDM freak group will be the bashers. Haha.. fun. Of course, one REALLY stupid mod that you happen to buy will mean you 'kena kutuk' on every TT. ROFL.

Anyway. I also know Ming FD3S.. in person. I had TT with him two days ago. He knows me as well, though I don't think he knows I joined zth. ROFL.

Sorry, my mistake on the downpipe, since it's only used for two piece extractors, and my mugen extractor is a one piece (the other set I have seen is the 5Zigen which has a 2 piece extractor, not mine, naturally!). Of course, some people (overseas forumlah!) have referred to the piping leading to the muffler downpipes, so naturally, I have been influenced by them.

But akuma, I think you mean the term 'dump-pipes' which are specific to turbo (I've only seen it on a skyline, but not on the common wiralutions and wajalutions, as for evos, I'm not sure, because I've never ventured to peek underneath.)

hi im new to this forum.. im currently living in New zealand
read u guys goin on about doing a B series conversion... i rekon playin wif d series engine is kinda boring even wif 1600 i reckon is boring too haha
but i guess parts are harder to source in malaysia...
i currently have a b20 engine in my Ek9 and its pumping out 150kw @ the wheels
but still using standard head..

my opinion is anything 1800 above is more fun to play wif NA but yes like some of u said to gain power with NA engine goin to cost money

hmm i actually wanna see how the honda scene is in malaysia and if u guys want i dont mind showing a bit of our new zealand scene to you all :regular_smile:

abctr said:
hi im new to this forum.. im currently living in New zealand
read u guys goin on about doing a B series conversion... i rekon playin wif d series engine is kinda boring even wif 1600 i reckon is boring too haha
but i guess parts are harder to source in malaysia...
i currently have a b20 engine in my Ek9 and its pumping out 150kw @ the wheels
but still using standard head..

my opinion is anything 1800 above is more fun to play wif NA but yes like some of u said to gain power with NA engine goin to cost money

hmm i actually wanna see how the honda scene is in malaysia and if u guys want i dont mind showing a bit of our new zealand scene to you all :regular_smile:

Hi, welcome to the forum. It's a bit slow compared to other foreign (to you that is) forums like honda-tech and such, but I don't think that parts are harder to source in Malaysia, more like a car costs an arm and a leg, which ultimately limits the finances of most players in the modding scene in Malaysia.

Imagine a 96 (stock) EK model costing USD 10,000.00 thereabouts and I think you see my point. The same EK in US would probably fetch no more than 5K (even if it's super pristine/whatever).

Well, if you want to see a typical scene, I have a few photoes and videos of some of the better civics in Kelantan (daily driven ones, that is... not specialized track cars.)

Unfortunately, they are all mostly JDM fanatics, so the cars are going to look pretty much stock, and even if I were to show you pictures of the engine bay, the authenticity would be dubious, since if I told you that one of the members in our clique had (keyword:past tense) built a 260hp sleeved B20B with a rev limit of 8.5K (or was it 9K? I lost the dyno sheet already), would you buy it? The owner doesn't like publicity at all, doesn't even show off his car in mags, nor participate in drag races (with the current rules of having no weight classes in drag battles here, it's a given that stripped down cars will win hands down, even with (slightly) lesser horsepower.

That aside, I hope you didn't take my remarks badly, but just illustrating the kind of scene is in Malaysia. The grassroots level are pitiful, and most events are dominated by domestics, since the players are really creative with making parts (how they look doesn't matter, as long as they work ideology)

Show us your honda scene! It's definitely going to be bigger (I think) since second-hand cars over there don't cost an arm and a leg, and the taxes on parts don't kill you. (i.e. a set of spoon strut bars, after tax & freight can cost about 40% more than the SRP. (T.T)

Having Japan actually close by helps, but like.. how many honda players actually speak/understand japanese enough to order something by mail order? (I'm not fluent either, but at least I can understand a bit.) Furthermore, the japanese language nuances are irritating to understand and translate. Of course, going there to buy a part or two sort of defeats the costs saving purpose as well. Having a middleman helps, but of course, the cost will be the commision for the said middleman.

oo thats quite interesting ...
and dont worry i didnt take your remarks badly in anyway by what you have said.
well yea what u say is true ... tax plays a big part.. in NZ driving a TypeR is so affordable..i dont really know how much u are payin for a lets say a ITR or CTR in malaysia but in New Zealand u could probably get a ITR/CTR around the RM20k... now a days typeR's have dropped so much because it is just so dam popular.. sometimes that is also quite sad bcoz it doesnt make the car special anymore... there are so many around... but yea im actually part of a Club in NZ called REDLINETEC.. its basically a club which was started by a group of friends and actually now become quite popular .... http://www.redlinetec.co.nz.... drop by and have a look one day :)
actually i am more a JDM fanatic myself too :) but i got bored of the Stock look so at the moment my EK has a Cwest front with Buddyclub side and rear.. coz i actually quite like the Cwest front :D..

Hmmm actually if i could go back i would of sleeved my B20 as well.. the reason i didnt sleeve it was the price.. comparing it with US(duno about msia) sleeving a block doesnt cost much at all...to me the member actually sounds like he has a similiar build to me... does he have any head work done?ie cams? etc
my block at the moment is running JE forged pistons 12:1 compression,eagle H rod, and the usual block gridle etc...actually i'd like to ask if you guys can give any opinions or advice on my build so i can compare with how we "modify" our cars in nz...
oh also is that member with the b20 engine..is he more of a drag racer?or track?...
actually i myself drag quite a lot with my ek9 but then i have been going circuit racing lately and im hooked on that... drag racing a bit boring now haha

hmm i think i know what u mean about the grassroots being pitiful...but u know what think i find new zealand sometimes lack is technology... now i think NZ is slow in that... in the US people are developing plentiful and that makes sourcing parts much easier... sourcing parts here is not hard as well but i think in other countries the amount of work they develop (say eg. header 4-1 etc) is so goood the results just show it.. u see NA cars running 9 sec quarter miles or lower... here our fastest is only 10sec...

i will definately show you guys our honda scene here... actually we have a autosalon coming up soon next month ...
oh yea sourcing japanese parts in NZ is actually not as hard as it may be in malaysia... well actually i know people who are the sole distributor of spoon parts in NZ so if i want any spoon gear i can just place a order in $NZD and they will deliver it to my door within X amount of days.... but not only spoon parts, a whole range of JDM goodies :) can be purchased in NZ as we have sole distributors...

hmm haha who knows maybe you could buy parts here and i can send it over :D
just have a look at that link for starters that i gave and if u have anymore questions just fire away :)
http://www.redlinetec.co.nz/index.php?ind=gallery
my car is the EK wif the carbon kevlar bonnet but now im running 16" TE37

I don't have the photoes of the cars right now, except for mine, which is in it's skeletal form.

I'll try get some this saturday during a meet to show you a general idea what kinds of civics there are in Kelantan (please remember that Kelantan is not a city, just a small town, so you're likely to find other members here with plentiful of other mods.

Due to concerns about getting the cars marked for theft (yes, malaysia is THAT small), I'll sent a URL to you once I get it uploaded on sunday.. that is, if you're still interested.

As for the friend, yes, headwork was done, but not oversized. Crank, rod, cams and pistons are from crower(he bought as a set, I think crower sources pistons from another manufacturer, but I'm really not sure) Sleeves are from Golden Eagle, and tuning was through unichip (I'm more of a hondata person, and the new s300j is not very expensive at all)

I wouldn't say that your tech or any tech from other countries (Japan/local) developed for that matter is not as good as the americans. One thing to note is that different heights from sea level affect drag times as well. In which case, in a hot humid malaysia, running a 10-11 is really an achievement already, considering that the intake temps for malaysia is almost double that of other countries, due to it's usual hot weather.

In Malaysia, sourcing parts is easy as well.. but be prepared to pay through the nose. Like you mentioned, ITR/CTR in your area is RM20K. Over here.. 14K only gets you HALF the car (half-cut, depending on condition) which means that you have to contend with the other issue, which is the price of a second car, unmodded, which is likely to cost about RM40K (for an EK.). Overall, to get only the engine into a D-series EK already costs a cool 60K (including workmanship and replacement of things that wear out. That's not including the conversion to type-R body parts, which may cost another 8-10K.

Ouch? Definitely!

Over here the only carbon bits that are popular are

1) Carbon side mirrors (I don't see the point of having non foldable mirrors, but to each his own)
2) Carbon hood (Cheapo costs 2K thereabouts, Varis costs a cool 4K+.
3) Carbon plug cover (So cheap, you wonder if it's real carbon... XD)

In my clique, we don't have much members, and we aren't an official group, but the variety is sometime really funny in the sense that we don't have a big enough member size to segregate into different branches like (turbo civic group, B20 civic group, B18C group, etc.)

As for how some of these cars are built, wait for the PM.

Your group's got some nice looking rides there. Later!

udeng,
so?kenot go again 1 meh?his car FAST mah?ahhahaha.....

abctr,
nice ride..n dude,carbon kevlar hood?man..i wish they still make those 4 my car....

hey yea carbon kevlar hood .. i was actually lucky to find it.. it came from a car that just came into the country from Jap so i bought it :)

abctr,
anyway,was just wondering.....how much u got ur CTR over der?n it is a JDM EK9,right?AFAIK,der was never a Type R 4 export market until d round lights version od USDM DC2R,thn d EP3R n DC5R....slightly detuned but still a genuine Type R...shudn't u b driving a Skyline..heard its real cheap der..n Jonah Lomu's R33GTR(or is it R34?) is a REAL monster i heard? =)

hey akuma ... yea my EK9 is a JDM EK9.. actually we do have the NZDM version of TypeR's but not EK9 .... we have the circle light DC2R's which are slightly detuned so as the DC5R's... but since it doesnt cost a leg or a arm importing a TypeR from japan that is why in nz there are so many JDM typeR's..bascially they are detuned to suit our petrol which is slighty less octane than japan..
well i got my EK9 2 years ago it cost me $20NZD which would roughy be RM40k ...haha what makes u think i wanna drive a skyline :D jonah lomu's skyline was ok but now is old... there are BNR34's around and quite a few GTR's are poping up in NZ... cars in New zealand are cheap hmm like if u wanted a EG6 SIR i could get one for less than RM13k
basically what ever japanese car u want we can get it here in NZ

abctr,
thx 4 d infor...now my plan 2 retire in NZ seems 2 b soooooo right!hehehehehe...

haha yea NZ is a good place to retire too :) lifestyle here a lot better than in malaysia thats why my family moved here ...
and if u have interest in import cars modifying can be such a bug and u dont need to pay huge amounts

rivers said:
Hi All,

Just want to get some comments re the above. I am driving a SR4 Civc SOHC non VTEC. I am thinking of getting a 4-2-1 extractor. Anyone can recommend a good one? and also what size pipping should I be using? 1.8, 2"? No moolahs to go VTEC just yet..so start small first... :embaressed_smile:

Your current one is 2" ( did it in Segamabut ) and I think 2 big for the engine output. Oh yah,

the head metal gasket had leaked oil twice. I changed the rubber seal once and sealed it twice but still has a bit of leakage. Try to check.