evo3 boost strange la. help me please

hybrid evo

i just installed intercooler besi putih piping and thai wastegate at my standard extractor because last time my boost bocor like shit and my car cannot go.

now my car go like rocket but i got a problem:

1. 1st gear= 0.5 bar

2. 2nd gear= 0.7 bar

3. 3rd gear= 1 bar

4. 4th gear= 1.2 bar

5. 5th gear = 1.5 bar

is it normal? coz i wanna boost 1 bar all the way. or is it boost creep? but not likely coz the boost meter maintain at the boost level i have mentioned earlier. and the boost level doesnt increase with rpm increase. and not boost spike coz boost doesnt increase and decrease gradually.

can somebody comment on my issue. i am using gtr r34 fuel pump.

try and maintain a constant RPM in each gear, let say 5000RPM for 10secs for each gear. Compare the boost level of each gear in the same RPM. if not the same than probably you have trouble.

i suspect tht ur thai stuff is gone for good
by u can also check ur vacuum hoses, could be leaking n thts the reason the boost signals arent rite

from what u said maybe your thai wastegate giving problem

maybe size not suitable,maybe leaking

boost build up slow cause by exhaust gas leaking out

boost going higher than the level u set,exhaust gas cant vent out fast enough

but cant confirm,need more details

what boost controller u using?

is the vaccum hose connection to the wastegate no problem?

and one more thing,normally gear 1 and 2 cant reach peak boost

i mean if u set 1.2bar,gear 1 and 2 will reach 1 bar.only will peak on 3rd gear onward

the wastegate size is 40mm.and i am not using any boost controller. i just adjust the boost at the wastegate lorr.the top part where got bolt and nut wan.sure or not my wastegate? coz my boost bukak early wei. the car damn syok. plus the boost damn stable at the value i have just mentioned. below are the stuff i have under my hood. maybe got something to do with any of them?

1. stupid rubber hose (non silicone for vacuum and intercooler hose
2. besi putih intercooler piping
3. gtr r34 fuel pump
4. fuel regulator standard (i bukak back the EFN adjustable fuel regulator coz minyak cun alredy tune at 50 psi- ok or too rich? coz standard evo 2 is 36psi)
5. injector 510cc
6. turbo 16g evo2
7. block vr4rs
8. head evo2

oh ya,my wastegate sound like v8 slr merc when reach the boost level i mentioned (sounds like trrrrrrrrr~~!!! in a very garang way). i thought all wastegates should sound like sharrrrr~~~!!)?

any comments? please help me

eh everybody busy ahh? come la help me. jinkl, u r very famous in zth.hehe.help me out bro.

Thai Wastegate are unreliable and inconsistent.

Some poeple bought Thai wastegate and have no problem.

Some people bought THai wastegate and have many problem.

Thai Wastegate is same like Cheap copycat BOVs.

Not everybody can spend RM1,000 on a wastegate but when the sweetness of cheap wastegate is long gone, the bitterness of a blown-to-bits engine will last forever.

I had this problem yrs back...
but it is bcoz my stupid re-chipped ecu...

n happened again coz of my thai wastegate...
y dont u check both to make urself satisfied..

aiya, dont say like dat la joeker. original wastegate too expensive ma. oh really ahh kriminalz?

coz i read somewhere dj lan evo3 faced same problem. but he was using the stock actuator, not a wastegate.

aiya, why so pelik wan. my car tapau my friends' vr4rs, evo3 by 2-3 cars la. eterna by 7 cars like dat.but still i am afraid that my car is not stable. then engine pecah la. aiya, how huh?

most likely is the intercooler hoses and vacuum hoses la i think coz last time sometimes tercabut coz not s tough as silicone hoses. hopefully its not the wastegate la.

aiya, dont say like dat la joeker. original wastegate too expensive ma. oh really ahh kriminalz?

coz i read somewhere dj lan evo3 faced same problem. but he was using the stock actuator, not a wastegate.

aiya, why so pelik wan. my car tapau my friends' vr4rs, evo3 by 2-3 cars la. eterna by 7 cars like dat.but still i am afraid that my car is not stable. then engine pecah la. aiya, how huh?

most likely is the intercooler hoses and vacuum hoses la i think coz last time sometimes tercabut coz not s tough as silicone hoses. hopefully its not the wastegate la.

Play turbo cars sure need to spend money the right way... if shortcut, might as well stick with NA.

I almost bought a Thai BOV once... but decided against it after reading many horror stories... so, I play safe here.

Original wastegate is expensive because u are getting quality n reliable stuff. Do u want to blow ur engine simply because u want to save RM 500? For me? No. I rather save up n do it the proper way.

hybrid evo said:

dude...
intercooler n hoses doesnt create that thing...
coz' if one of them (i/c& hose got problems), u cant even feel the boost... u'll be like an N/A...
this, im very sure..

one more thing,
if the waste pipe frm the wastegate/stock wastegate is small..
it will create this kinda problem..

juz my 2cents = )

kRiminaLz said:
one more thing,
if the waste pipe frm the wastegate/stock wastegate is small..
it will create this kinda problem..

juz my 2cents = )

eh maybe so la coz the flange (waste pipe) is a bit to small also la. maybe i should try making it bigger first.

just wanna know if i take out the flange, will the hot air from the extractor be exited? i mean is it hot? coz my intercooler piping is like 5cm away from the wastegate. (not enuff space la)

errr... i dont know abt that.. coz mine also the same as urs.....
i think as long as the i/c can supply enuff air n the correct temp, it shudnt b a problem..

its usual for boost to creep the higher gear u engage, but having an external waste gate shud eliminate dis symptom. i suspect ur waste gate is the culprit, maybe its not letting boost out efficiently. i dont think the housing dat is giving dis problem, have u change the diaphram yet? go get it service and tell us how it goes.
and what do u mean by "just wanna know if i take out the flange, will the hot air from the extractor be exited? i mean is it hot?" u rnt planning to take if out while the engine is running, rite?

if my opinion,i will check the wastegate first..
coz it the thing which manage boost...
just like xtremeleo said lah...

xtremeleo said:
its usual for boost to creep the higher gear u engage, but having an external waste gate shud eliminate dis symptom. i suspect ur waste gate is the culprit, maybe its not letting boost out efficiently. i dont think the housing dat is giving dis problem, have u change the diaphram yet? go get it service and tell us how it goes.
and what do u mean by "just wanna know if i take out the flange, will the hot air from the extractor be exited? i mean is it hot?" u rnt planning to take if out while the engine is running, rite?

what i meant was taking out the flange and then drive so that the air from th wastegate will be let out easily. (my flange size might be too small).

oh ya, forgot to tell u guys. my vacuum hose connected to the wastegate seems to small also. i am using 4mm. i see most people are using at least 6mm. no wonder i have to force the vacuum hose like crazy to plug to the wastegate.

maybe i should try look at that too.

okie, i get what u wanted to say. u do understand what u r planning will leak out those precious exhaust gas dat makes ur turbine spool, rite? its like a big leak bro, i dont think ur turbine will gonna boost properly. its like an experiment rite? just to see what is wrong rite? yeah, u mite wanna get a bigger vacuum dia