Evo 7/8 Maintenance

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Hey Bro, no problem there r always next time!!! Enjoy ur vacation lar!!! Cheers!!! :D

No. problem bro!

Thanks S9 :) !!

I actually been to MING HENG....saw 3 cars....I like the 1 which is satellite silver, but apparently it is 34k in Mileage, but pricing is 160K manufactured in yr 2000, is this worth it ? pls give me your uttermost comment, as I am really thinking hard....coz there is another blue unit which cost 170K, 10K more, mileage is only 18K but I dun really like the blue color, just wondering how would you guys decide ?

I am actually OK with 34K mileage, but just wondering is 34K meaning timing belt have to change soon ? how abt the CLUTCH ?as I heard for E7 changing CLUTCH, u need to take out the WHOLE ENGINE rite ?

How abt this shop Ming Heng? Any bad comments abt them so far ? pls enlighten me as I am really really interested in getting a E7, just dat I do not want to dump my hard earn money into something which is not reliable....as I read from the buyers guide 3.1 version, evo is a high maintainence car therefore buying second has a lot of wortk to do in order to have a reliable ride in future....at least dun burn unnecessary money in fixing ex-owner harsh ride, I willing to spend to upkeep the car as long as it is in a gud shape when it comes to me :)

come to get more sincere replies from other owners

DD,
I guess you have to test drive the car to decide which car to buy, As for mileage it is not important anymore because most of the reconditioned car, before they put it on sale they had already tweak the meter. So it is not accurate to see on the mileage. This is my point of view. I guess you better ask them whether if they can warranty you for a month maybe? or maybe longer? try to offer them . Good luck in selecting your E7 :)

thanks EE9,

I drove the 1 of their E7 n my friend ex evo owner also test drove too....both of us found the car very responsive........I am actually quite alrite to go for it liao....now just waiting for papers to be cleared then should be ok :)

but anyways....i like to know if this Ming Heng is ok to buy cars from ? Also just wondering if standard E7 comes with XENON light ? coz i saw some have it ...n some NON ? I am quite perplexed by this.....

pls help in shedding some light on this matter :)

DDgreystar said:
Thanks S9 :) !!

I actually been to MING HENG....saw 3 cars....I like the 1 which is satellite silver, but apparently it is 34k in Mileage, but pricing is 160K manufactured in yr 2000, is this worth it ? pls give me your uttermost comment, as I am really thinking hard....coz there is another blue unit which cost 170K, 10K more, mileage is only 18K but I dun really like the blue color, just wondering how would you guys decide ?

I am actually OK with 34K mileage, but just wondering is 34K meaning timing belt have to change soon ? how abt the CLUTCH ?as I heard for E7 changing CLUTCH, u need to take out the WHOLE ENGINE rite ?

How abt this shop Ming Heng? Any bad comments abt them so far ? pls enlighten me as I am really really interested in getting a E7, just dat I do not want to dump my hard earn money into something which is not reliable....as I read from the buyers guide 3.1 version, evo is a high maintainence car therefore buying second has a lot of wortk to do in order to have a reliable ride in future....at least dun burn unnecessary money in fixing ex-owner harsh ride, I willing to spend to upkeep the car as long as it is in a gud shape when it comes to me :)

come to get more sincere replies from other owners

DD,
No need to take-out the whole when changing the clutch plate. Only the gear-box will do. But better u changed to aftermarket clutch since the OEM won't last long (if u used to drive hard etc due to Evo high torque engine). The aftermarket clutch will last longer!. If u notice, Mits. lower engine structure not so 'messy' like other Japanese make, eg Honda or Subaru.

Principally, any factory standard Turbo car is considered high maintenance, in term of wear & tear and also running cost (like FC, tyre etc). IMHO, it's still considered high maintenance here in BolehLand due to market demand & parts availability. It's really unfair if u compared it with NA engines la. Totally diferent catagories. That y if u notice, some evo/other turbo cars owners only treated their ride as a weekend cars. As for Evo, i think the only cheap was the road-tax!

To keep it realible, don't thrash / mod the engine too extreme. That hopefully will keep it's realibility.

BTW, i'm not an Evo owner, just sharing my turbo 'research' experience when i was at your situation last year, 50-50 either to buy a turbo car or not to buy!

Thanks Aja,

Lastly.....any more comments from owners of recond E7 units, pls give and share your expereinces when getting the car, wat have you done and the points to look out for n any imminent problems getting your car .

DDgreystar said:
thanks EE9,

I drove the 1 of their E7 n my friend ex evo owner also test drove too....both of us found the car very responsive........I am actually quite alrite to go for it liao....now just waiting for papers to be cleared then should be ok :)

but anyways....i like to know if this Ming Heng is ok to buy cars from ? Also just wondering if standard E7 comes with XENON light ? coz i saw some have it ...n some NON ? I am quite perplexed by this.....

pls help in shedding some light on this matter :)

For E7 manufactured in yr 2001, it comes with HID/XENON light. Whereas for ur case, 2000 yr E7... Errr... unfortunately dun come with HID/XENON light!!! Aftermarket HID/XENON pricing start from rm2k ++ for those reliable brand...

As for MH, dunno wanna to comment... But y dun u 'survey' few more car dealers? Since for E7 there r many units in de mkt waiting for sales... U hv de price quote in hand liao... go look for other car dealers n bargain with them in order to get de best deal!!! De E7 u mentioned, come with sunroof? Ori. rim? How's de tyre's condition? Engine been mod b4? Come with air filter, exhuast n etc? Did u managed to check de car chasis, wherether de car hv any accident b4?

Jus dun rush into decision... composure is de word!!! :D

tHanks S7,

any other shops just for me to recce recce around ? yes i like to go more for survey.....anyways....it be even better to accept trade in cars........if got direct contact pls PM me..........would really like to get some help in buying this less worries....

DDgreystar,

this is green, wah kind hard to masuk zerotohundred nwadays, the site always busy n full.

I am also getting a recond E7, but am getting from one of my long time car dealers. recond E7 2001 46k mileage direct from japan at rm160k.

its true tt ppl can tweak ur meters, digital or not. i have tested a silver e7 from ming heng as well...actually i bought a car there b4 few yrs back, its okay no problem. but i suspect my car is older than it looks...because suspension kaput liao....

most important is like the guys here said b4:

1. go test the car!! listen to any sounds. since e7 is a turbo car, u must run it hard a bit!

2. go for fully ori if possible, i saw a sort of modified altezza in cahaya few weeks back.white color. toms suspension with some ECU n wiring n meters. but guess what...ECU is gone, meters r gone. so u gotta be careful...lotsa cheats around.

3. look around, compare...dun hurry to get one. i took > 2 months for mine...hey, better nice n late than fast n not working....

btw, my sales guy has a silver evo7 to sell. 46k mileage, 2001, selling at rm158k now. i also tested this local one. the owner is a low profile guy...all ori except from turbo to muffler...apexi i think. quite a sound....hey hey. the owner is a lawyer with 7 cars!!!!

its not bad....well maintained. i did not take this one is because i dun like the local interest at 3.5 %. anyway, i guess not my car at 160k not much differencelah...hahahahha:)

here is the sales guy number is u interested o anyone wants:

name: kai wah
hp:0122223359

just say recommended by the guy who beli the silver evo7 from japan...hahahha

hey Green thanks alot.....

I will call when i come back to MY :) me in SH now :)

anyways....any further comments or intro ? really need all the help I can get n info....

yes 160K for 46K ? wow....if like dat then maybe MH's car slightly better at 34K....anyways yes....mileage can be clocked.....I agree.....anyways.... any further intro...pls kindly share with me :) I will like to fulfil this dream asap :)

doesn't ming heng have some evo8 as well? if u can, get the e8 lah!!! more aero dynamic...personally, i like the vortex generator on the evo8 MR....cool looking.

most important is that u must like the car when u drive it. plus go for a full checkup with some specialist in n1 or links when u get it, do a full service. costly, but at least u r sure.

btw, brand new evo8 at naza is 233k...for ur info :)

basically i prefer the 7 or 9 .....as it does not have the 8's protruding nose job :) anyways 8 n 8mr is still much better than 7 though :)

but for me....i just looking at 7 coz this is gonna be my 1st turbo 4 WD car.....not sure if I like it for long, thus i think commiting at this range less than 180K is alrite maybe....

but I m really tempted with the 8mr n 9.......but pricing is too high......unless I need to jalan income then maybe I go for it :)

however evo is still n evo.......it will never be the same for me anymore :) I hope

green,

Brader, can u make it on de 07/08 for de gathering? How's ur E7 status now? Managed to claim ur 'baby' out by then n join us for a ride? hehehe... :D At de moment, FTO club + some members from MEOC wil b joining!!! Sound very interesting!!! Do feel free to come lar... de actual time n location tba!!! Hope to see u ler!!! ;)

S9, wei wei....

whats up man. hai, went to penang working for a while. now just come back.

gathering on 7/8??? sounds good man. u can count me in man. will confirm later. just let us know mana bos.

my e7 coming out man!!!!! fuiyo cant wait to drive it around hahahha :)

ddgreystar,

yup, an evo is an evo....wish u the best in getting ur car...hey strom another new evo owner soon!!!

wah ee9,

nice chilly red bro....

mine is silver...will post it up soon... :)