Evo 7/8 Maintenance

DDgreystar - As this is your first 4WD turbo car, personally, I would get something that is mechanically healthy. I agree with the advice of shopping until a good deal comes by. I would rather pay a tad more rather than be stuck with a lemon. (Sometimes paying more does not necessarily mean you are getting a better car though).

A mechanically sound car also saves you the trouble of replacing parts and trips to the mechanic. Lets be honest, the Evo is not a makcik car that is driven to the market. DON"T believe it when the sales guy tells you that the previous owner is a "see-mun" (gentle/polite) guy who only takes the car for evening drives with his mum or lady who only drives it to send and pick up her kids from school... they are all lying through their teeth!!! Anyone who purchased an Evo has one thing in mind, its power.

I bought a Wira 1.8 DOHC abt 6 yrs back from a dealer. The car had 39k kms on it but after I sealed the deal, I found out it had 58k kms on it!! I even asked the sales guy if the meter had been tweaked and he swore that that it hasn't. (I was naive and ignorant back then). I swore after that incident I will never trust a second car dealer. The case of one bad apple spoilt the entire basket. Electronic meters suffer the same fate, it can be tweaked. So, my 2 cents worth - you should shop around and get something that is mechanically healthy, a motherhood statement that should never slip one's mind buying a second hand car. Unless of course you are intending to spend loads to mod the thing.

Buddies,

Hehehe... My pic a bit blur ler... Using hp to take it, so quality is like tht lor... LOL!!! Super original!!!

EE9, yo brader, sorry man... was bz for de past 2wks... so still wasnt able to check out de pricing of RC II rim for u... minta maaf ya!!! Red E9 damn chun... n Golfer's black oso look cool man!!!

green, Congratulation Mate!!! Welcome to u, as u r now a Evolution owner!!! hahaha... Come come come... join us on 07/08, n show me ur new 'baby' as well as enjoying other's Evo!!!

DD, call Jeffrey @ 016 - 307 4486 from NAZA Kampung Baru... Over there they got a unit of E7 2001 Silver!!! Condition of de car pretty good, pricing he yet to let me know... Jus tell him tht, de 'Leng Cai' who jus bought a Silver STi from him intro u!!! LOL!!! :D Oso ask him to giv super nice price ler!!! Remember to compare few more dealers n try to choose de best!!! Good luck mate!

Golfer,
Nice choice of color too .. Black is for "bad" guy..hhaha
S9,
Storm, actually my second choice of color is white also.hahaha..when i booked the car, i told the salesman if no red choose white, but luckily got red..keke
Will keep u guys updated on my mod, S9, N1 just ordered trust exhaust for me, it is full titanium. So i will be expecting my exhaust next mid month :)

silver evo 7

guys, mine will look like this silver baby...

this isnt mine, just one silver evo i tested few weeks back... took some pics of it.

;)

owner also mau jual...anyone mau?

green - silver is a nice colour, i see many with carbon fibre hood and it looks very fierce, esp with a c-west bodykit. when will yours be on the road, you must be on your toes by now, i know i was.

E9 - Is it a catback? go for the headers and downpipes man! I'm sure you'll add more ponnies to your ride. Even with the catback you should be able to feel a better pull from 5k rpm to the redline. Keep us posted.

thanks a lot members :) tomorrow i shall be back.....n try to check out the places :)

Golfer,
I'll will be getting the from the middle till the back. Getting Trust Power Extreme Ti-R. Header wont be changing so soon as i got the arc heat shield..looks so nice, if i change the header, cannot use anymore..hahahha .

EE9 & Golfer,

Hey, what ECU u guys intent to use in de future ler? Golfer, wil u stick to de Ralliart ECU? Am going to test de F-Con SZ, but unfortunately not on my E9 but on de Scooby... using Scooby as a 'white mouse', for experimenting!!! If good, then only consider for de E9!!! LOL!!! :D My mind is always on F-Con V Pro, but my fren said if am not too hard core into mod., no need to go up to F-Con V Pro... unless i wanna to upgrade my turbine... What u guys think n what u guys opinion? :) Any members hv any experiences in ECU wanna to share out here?

EE9 - OK, that sounds like a catback, meaning its from the catalytic converter to the end of the car. Pretty good stuff. The performance exhaust should give you a better exhaust flow and a noticeable increase in hp.

S9 - Got no intention to change or add ECU at the moment or in the future (of course, this is the sensible side of me talking here). This is what I know abt ECUs, I ain't no pro but from what i've been told....changing the ECU usually mean that the mods to your car requires re-tuning of the air/fuel mixture etc. These mods include a varied of things; increasing boost, changing to a bigger turbo, change gear ratio, change camshaft, ported heads, da da da da da and da so the list goes on. I know that the HKS F-COn V Pro is a fully programmable piggy-back system and is extremely desireable. If money is not an issue, most race cars uses the MoTec M800. The M800 is the authority in ECUs. My 2 cents.

p.s. If I every install an aftermkt ECU, you know its the bad side of me taking over. Sometime I can't help it when Dr.Jekyll takes over... hahahaaaa.

Golfer,

Yaya... u r rite, sometimes Dr.Jekyll does takes over from us.... LOL!!!

NoTiGuy, what abt u? What ECU u r using? Can share us ur experience? hehehe... :D

DDgreystar,

before i get my MR, i did survey for E7 too. and i saw 4 unit of E7 at Ming Heng. Found the car condition for all 4 not very good for interior and engine. So do advise u to look more at other shop before u purchase. got few E7 at the car dealer that i purchased my MR, condition lot better then Ming Heng E7.

cyilaw,

Yo buddy, welcome back!!! hahaha... How's ur job? Stil hv to travel wk in wk out? How's ur MR doing ah? Hey, by de way... v r hving big get together on 07/08 in KL... jus wonder wil u b in KL by tht time to join us? Cheers! :D

Stormvolution 9,

hey hey..i haven't complete my project, still 1 or 2 weeks to go, kinda sick with it..hehehe...my MR just leave at home, only sunday i start it. now only clock 1700++km, dunno when can complete run in.

ya, i saw the gethering notice at 07/08, izzit with the lancer club? i think i can't make it since my job still going on, will join u guys next time, ok?..cheers..:)

cyilaw,

Yo, no problem tht u cant make it... i know its tough for u as u hv to travel a lots lately... hehehe... By de way, de gathering is getting bigger... MLOC (Lancers), MEOC (Evos) n FTO club r involving!!! :) Enjoy ur Sunday ride ler!

Guys,

On the way back from kg (pAHANG) this evening around 530pm like that, at LPT, after the Temerloh exit. I noticed 1 evo 7 dark color WMG **** been towed away, maybe to KL kot. Involved in accident earlier. Front/rear gone. Sori, can't take pic cause i'm speeding that time.

Wonder if the owner is ZTH member. Felt sorry for that

aja,

Yo bro., is de E7 badly damaged? Front n rear oso gone... tht means involved few cars lor? But its none from MLOC members for sure... not sure abt others club's mate... Jus hope tht de driver (n de passenger(s) if there is any) is fine!!! :)

p/s, bro, u outstation again? Jalan jalan? hehehe...

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Yo bro., is de E7 badly damaged? Front n rear oso gone... tht means involved few cars lor? But its none from MLOC members for sure... not sure abt others club's mate... Jus hope tht de driver (n de passenger(s) if there is any) is fine!!! :)

p/s, bro, u outstation again? Jalan jalan? hehehe...

hehehe. As usual la. ;) ;);) But pity to the E7 owner, i think that guy must be high speeding & don't stay focus.(sleepy maybe) As we know, LPT is quite smooth & a straight hway. That might explained what has happpened to his car, skidded etc.