Engine management

SR20Charlie

Hi sifus

am considering getting engine mgmt for sr20det. Need advice on wats good and wats not.....so far been thinkin abt these 3

- FCon V-Pro
- E6X
- Power FC

any pros and cons of each of them and could u pls gimme a ballpark figure for the cost of each? including fitting and tuning

Thanks alot guys :)

F CON V PRO.. RM 10k ++..
pros - err the word pro already answer you
Cons - cannot tune yourself. must go back to HKS Authorised Tuner

E6X RM7k ++
pros - err dunno
Cons - err dunno

Power FC RM// depend where you get. from RM 4k to 6k
pros - err dunno
Cons - err dunno

Eh SR20Charlie.........U gettin the engine management for your ride to bluff birds is it? always blowing off their mini skirts with your BOV. hehe :rolleyes:

Charles, like I told you that day, you might want to consider for a Power FC. It's the only ECU that you can plug n play without any wiring hassle, and it works extremely well with the stock setup, or some basic boost up mods. You can access some of the maps from the handheld unit, and laptop tuning can be done via the Power Excel or FC datalogit software.

The V Pro is more high end and has very high resolution, more suitable for highly tuned cars.

yes.

agree with mr.nismo. apexi power fc is well proven and less complicated to tune.
just an example on power fc,july issue japanese performance mags,the evo 6 project car by RC Development UK.the evo produce more than 930bhp on flywheel.first thing i search about the car spec is ecu...i thought at least the RC would opt for top end ecu like motec,haltech,hks v pro....surprisingly they rely on apexi power fc.

not to say others ecu r not good.in this case ,power fc can handle extreme mods with less price to pay and less complicated tuning.

Originally posted by MrNismo@Aug 10 2004, 01:55 AM
Charles, like I told you that day, you might want to consider for a Power FC. It's the only ECU that you can plug n play without any wiring hassle, and it works extremely well with the stock setup, or some basic boost up mods. You can access some of the maps from the handheld unit, and laptop tuning can be done via the Power Excel or FC datalogit software.

The V Pro is more high end and has very high resolution, more suitable for highly tuned cars.
mrnismo: yea its wat u said tat got me thinkin

now i wanna explore this avenue of the Power FC.....can u recommend me any websites to have a look at this?? read its pros and cons...is it necessary to get the handheld? heard its more for aesthetic reasons than anyhting else

eventualli i would like abt 300rwhp...is this considered "highly tuned"? not goin for mad power figures....wanna keep it everyday-driveable (ie. no race clutch) of course i'd also wanna keep the option open if i wanna boost it high and go mad with it....but in reality i doubt it....so juz wanna slowly explore options...

thanks alot

Autospeed once did a review on Power FC. Read it here.

http://www.autospeed.com/cms/article.html?&A=0301

300rwhp is considered 'not stock' anymore. You'll need to opt for a bigger turbine. Can still retain the stock internals, but you might need upgrades like injectors, fuel pumps, AFMs bla bla... maybe plus a set of aftermarket camshafts.

The handheld unit is very convenient as it serves as a engine monitoring device as well. It display some data like injector duty, knocking etc. which is not displayable by most common aftermarket monitoring units (eg. RSM, or other speed meters-like devices). You can even program the rev cut there if you don't want your wife to rev the car above 4krpm when she drives lolol....

S15 can got up to 300hp stock le
but 300rwhp = 350-380hp.

mean bigger turbine and injector

mrnismo: thanks for the article....having read that i got another question...hehe...how much mods can the power FC handle....think clorox said somethin abt evo gettin 900+ hp....but the article mentioned its a plug n play....come with pre-programmed settings....so abit confused...thanks again

cmng: how to get 300hp in stock?? no boost controller nothing leh...eventualli wanna change turbine, injectors, fuel pump etc....300rwhp is project la....takes time and $$ ;)

300hp
just boost up to 1.5 bar..
sure can make it
but dont look for me after your turbo is KOed
hehehe

Preprogrammed settings are the default maps. If you upgrade your turbine, injectors, AFM bla bla, you'll need to remap the ECU via a laptop. Yupe it's plug & play, you take out the stock ECU, plug this in, and viola there you go!

Hey just want to share with u as I'm a Power FC user.

I don't hv any mod. except open pod filter. I found the basic mapping came with the unit is slightly better than the stock one, I can gain extra 20km millaege compare to stock.

So far very happy using it.

Bought it at RM6k+ with boost controller and Commander.

I highly recommend this.

Easily handle to 500bhp without any problem.

by boost controller i assume its the avcr izzit? and wats a commander? the hand held thingie?

also...wat car izzit on? if u dun mind

thanks bro :) starting to get more and more convinced

Power FC have a optional boost control set which works together with the ECU, not the AVCR. It is rumoured that the AVCR can hold boost better & is more responsive than the Power FC boost control kit. FC Commander is the handheld programmer.

moppy: did u get a power increase when u installed the power FC?? if so how much? any other noticeable improvements after installing the power FC?

The AVCR will give better stable/accurate boost control. That's what I heard.

I didn't dyno b4 n after so I don't know is there any power increase or not. I am running the standard boost and without much after market price.

The fuel consumption is better, can gain extra 20km full tank.

Other than that, the car goes smoother. Increase performanc of acceleration.

It's very convininet cos plug n play. Also no wiring headache... hehe...

The FC commander is the a small handheld for u to change the mapping. Pls refer to Apexi web site.

There's no laptop software support buy Apexi,... I think the software call Power Excel... can't recall back.. if u can find the software pls let me know..

In NZ there's a guy had created a thing call datalogit, the package comes with datalogit and a thing like a dongle for u to programme using laptop.
What I heard is that by using laptop u can see the full mapping unlike using the commander to scroll everything down...

Also there's the extra function in datalogit is that u can change the temperature.. while using commander is not allow due to Japanese think that they had locked the temperature where japanese believe at certain temperature the car/engine can performs the best....

That's all i heard.... I will buy the datalogit if budget allow.... cost arouns 400 USD.