Electronic Turbo

Shamanraj

Ok here is an idea. Electronic turbo...mild boost. Get a turbine and modify it to fit a 12v high speed brushless motor (seen some at 70000rpm at 50kW)....Drive the compressing blades into trottle body. Turn on only when you want. When turned off, some kinda sollenoid to change air flow around turbine. Meaning to say that from air filter 2 pipes split. 1 to turbine...and another joins back after turbine...so you routed the air manually.....interesting idea....not sure will work.

i saw an advertisement last time bout dat.. it was called e-ram(electric supercharger) if i'm not mistaken.. can make 800CFM.. or normal e-ram is 1psi.. n another one is super e-ram 1.7psi..
COST USD$299-USD$596..
http://www.electricsupercharger.com/

Looks good...logic theory. Since we Malaysian are good in modifying things, perhaps can ask an engineering shop to custom made a compressor wheel...might be able to produce little bit more higher boost pressure compare with stock item... :)

the cfm of the air is not important..the m,ost important is the pressure created of the fan....i will say that normal fan wont do it...u need to find those super deep fan...

yeah thats why i suggested using a normal turbine and get a electric motor to run it....that way...you can get the preasure and cfm.

the problem is what kind of electric motor that push the turbine to spin that fast??? If you can find one how big is the motor????

if you're crazy enough to do this... why not try to use pulley system like the supercharge and connect it to the turbine. but you have to do a lot of mods la... :D

So last last, with all the money and hassle, better save up some more then get the real turbo. hahaa.

pulley can used to push the turbo fin..but, u need to get a double pulley(or even triple pulley) + belt + another custom turbo and it's mounting...use the belt with big pulley to run on a small pulley welded at the turbine..then ur turbine will rotate very fast....but prob is u got the tools and workplace to do it......

after all the work, if ur work are success, then u need to find a controller for the turbine/pulley (with clutch) so u may now blow ur engine due to overboost..wahhaa..but i doubt is it possible to success diy this...

yeah nothing beats the real deal. True...but there are pros and cons of having a turbo engine or a mounted on supercharger. There are motors out there that are capable of running at 20000rpm or more. Its the brushless motor type, quiet and massive torque. So it would be better if the motor is supplied with power and then use pulley to connect to turbine. This way, boost is always constant and you dont risk blowing up ur engine. Your normal ECU should be able to compensate for the additional boost (only if your O2 sensor is wroking lah). Dont boost to much. Mild one.....so when you feel you need more power...just flick the switch on and you get instant power. Only need to service pulley belt now and then. Thats all...should be low maintainence. Well if i have the time and budget...i wanna give this a try....not sure when...but will do someday...

the amount of batteries that you will have to put in ur car will slow down the car even more. the current consumption of those motors are very high. i read about a commercial electric supercharger before and the motors can run for less than one minute b4 draining out the batteries. then it takes 20 minutes to recharge them using the alternator. not pratical i think, unless for drag only. go for the real thing ;)

If u want mild boost, just bolt on a supercharger... be warn, can cost up to 6k easily. Why so expensive? Well, for one thing... supercharger is not the prefered choice for power because out engines are lower CCs. In Germany or US, they prefer supercharger to boost those lazy V8s (some from 4000cc to 8000cc).

youmolo i agree with you on this but I have done some research and study back in my uni days involving engines and DC motors. You will be surprised on how much power your alternator can supply. Many talk about Power out = Losses + Power received. What if i say we can get power back from losses using regenarative power......yeap its easily done. I also did some simulation on the item i suggested and the DC motor could be used as a ram.....eventhough not fully efficient. I agree that turbo is the best....but with the latest increase in fuel prices....this could be another alternative for extra power.

acbc said:
If u want mild boost, just bolt on a supercharger... be warn, can cost up to 6k easily. Why so expensive? Well, for one thing... supercharger is not the prefered choice for power because out engines are lower CCs. In Germany or US, they prefer supercharger to boost those lazy V8s (some from 4000cc to 8000cc).
supercharger will give bigger torque and comes in way faster than a turbo. if u don't wan turbo lag just get a supercharger.

shamanraj, i'm not saying it cannot be done, but for continuous application of the supercharger, it's impossible. Ur battery would run out very fast because of the motor draw current, and ur motor wont b able to stand the high loads for so long.

i'm interested in the regenerative power you are talking about. can you explain more?

anyways, what i want to say is that it's more efficient to just drive a supercharger straight from ur engine crank than using the alternator to convert it to electrical energy and then back to kinetic energy again. ur fc will also increase because you need more power to drive the alternator and when u boost the engine, the ecu will automatically compensate for the lean mixture and put more fuel in. so the best way for better fc is to have a na engine. my 2 cents ;)

the best way is to use the engine pulley/crankshaft to turn the fan/motor/compressor...i believe this can be done...but need RnD

chemical (fuel) --> mechanical (engine runs) --> electrical (alternator) --> mechanical (electric air charger) --> mechanical (engine runs)....

"-->" refers to transformation of energy from one form to another and energy is lost as heat and sound in the process. Unless the additional mechanical energy produced is more than the energy lost, this idea has no hope.

Let's say you want to maintain the pressure at 0.7bar (only if your motor capable to produce such pressure) throughout every RPMs, how you going to do that? variable resistor? but how? and when boost kick in, what will feed engine with extra fuel to prevent lean burn that will damage the engine? extra injector but how? pressure sensor?

when ur car more air liau u need a ecu to tuning it if now ur engine will blow.. is not easy than u think... when ur air more than fuel the piston will bocor 1, and u need to timing ur piston how high when the turbo kick in and then how much fuel will give it on tat kick in.. if not enought u need add a injector to a piping also or u need to change to bigger injector . sorry if i said anything wrong about it...