Electrical Fan >????

protonevo,

fren, just to tell you that I've been working on this system for 4 years and still working on it....I always assume someone will be trying out with such ideas and getting all sorts of cold showers whenever you want to share, right?....now I found someone like you....if you're interested for further exploitation... leave your contact number to me...I will discuss more and further with you (urgent)....P&C till now, thanx.

Jimslec said:
protonevo,

....if you're interested for further exploitation... leave your contact number to me...I will discuss more and further with you (urgent)....P&C till now, thanx.

Oh no, Protonevo's not gonna get his share of credit once the idea becomes marketable!

By the way, there were commercial implementations of "electric superchargers" using powerful motors that spin at over 50,000 rpm.. not something that you're likely to get from Pasar Road or any old machinery, that's for sure.

But these ideas never took off. Why? Because electric motors that spin at such high rates are prone to failure. In other words, the device was unreliable compared to mechanical means like supercharging and turbocharging.

Come on la, if it's viable, the car manufacturers would have used it. Instead, they'd rather go for light pressure turbos and superchargers. Why? Why do they still prefer it even though it's more troublesome in every sense - from the maintenance of the units, to the way it needs to be mounted, etc.?

If an electric supercharger was REALLY viable, wouldn't Volvo and Audi be interested in it, since they already use light pressure turbos across their product range?

Not to say that you won't get any gains from it. It may give you some effect, but in the long run, the unit may not be reliable enough for continuous usage.

jswong said:
Oh no, Protonevo's not gonna get his share of credit once the idea becomes marketable!

By the way, there were commercial implementations of "electric superchargers" using powerful motors that spin at over 50,000 rpm.. not something that you're likely to get from Pasar Road or any old machinery, that's for sure.

But these ideas never took off. Why? Because electric motors that spin at such high rates are prone to failure. In other words, the device was unreliable compared to mechanical means like supercharging and turbocharging.

Come on la, if it's viable, the car manufacturers would have used it. Instead, they'd rather go for light pressure turbos and superchargers. Why? Why do they still prefer it even though it's more troublesome in every sense - from the maintenance of the units, to the way it needs to be mounted, etc.?

If an electric supercharger was REALLY viable, wouldn't Volvo and Audi be interested in it, since they already use light pressure turbos across their product range?

Not to say that you won't get any gains from it. It may give you some effect, but in the long run, the unit may not be reliable enough for continuous usage.

Whatever you mentioned is correct, I will thread this as a good advice but no matter what I will try n try until I get works. Thank's for your advice.

a good diy project....can try it out....we are here to share and learn from mistake....good luck

protonevo... can i know where are u from... if from kl or n9... maybe we can DIY togather... im oso discover this kind of thing. as they said before... maybe we need to calculate something about air flow, air density, motor amp and watt, blade side and air flow ratio, CFM and some other parameter.

by the way... may i know what type engine in a hood now? isit carb or inj?

im still working on it and maybe some other DIYer can share what they experience. Maybe a little TT, and we can have a look about it. maybe we need something to control it. Coz its can make mixture too lean and can demage the engine.

Anywan intrested on it can give me a call at 016-9713640 or 013-3501314 (Shah)

its already been develop and sold in internet...
http://www.electricsupercharger.com/

http://www.electricsupercharger.com/images/eRAM_SEMA_05_Product_photo.JPG

http://www.boosthead.com/product.php?id=18

Just a heads-up.

It's not just about forcing air into your engine. Yeah, you might come up with a novel way of pushing air into your engine, but think about it - if you achieve sufficient boost, you'll need to work on fuel delivery. Then on compression ratio. Then on strengtening the engine parts. Then on more efficient cooling system.

Just a small electric fan aint gonna help out much. How about battery drain? Having that fan run fast enough to pull enough air, will of course consume a heck lot of electricity. Even our aircon, which can't generate enough air for the engine, is already sucking up a few horses, imagine how many horses will you gain contra to the horses you will lose just to power that baby?

Think about it. More questions for your budget mind.

Protonevo, ur idea remind me of "electric supercharger" tread found somewhere in the web (forgot the add). The suction jet fan only activate when u push the button control (on steering wheel for instant). Nice stuff but havent sell in Malaysia yet.

To all enquiries,

Electrical fan has been installed in my car for sometimes already. The device is working perfectly as I imagine. This device is not to generate more power or any horsy !.

Placing a electrical fan inside air filer box is good enough to withdraw cool/hot air to air intake hose. This may increase air intake sufficiently in other words more engine running in more lean.

My engine is not running any low HP. Since my car is 1.8 DOHC Hybrid. The power able to come in from 3krpm all the way to speed limit.

Electrical fan is only give you slice help during slow-mid range. The reason is engine consume more fuel while the engine is like stop and run moment. Means during trafic jam.

Conclusion here is electrical fan is to help you to run more lean during low-mid. I only turn it on while my is in slow moving. Turn it off while I driving on highway. This is the benefit that I can turn on/off.

If really don't understand the logic. I also don't know how liao. Happy modding.. Merry X'Mas n happy New Year. Cheers guys

bro proton evo, got any pics?? i am still wondering wer am gonna put da fan in d engine bay ler :hmmmm2:

keep it ups bro, would like to expreience myself how its like diy 1. more pic pls.......

im thinking bout the same DIY few months back, and did read it on Zth about this thing also. I ask some senior for advice, they said it maybe a good idea, but what happens if d blade fan kebabom? so the pieces will go straight into the engine , or not? depends on how ur mod maybe, i hope u can post ur pict so i can learn =)

den from the forumer whose said dat it will suck alot of energy, thats make sense also.. so how about put 2 battery in your car, make a switch. For the electrical fan u can use the second battery? just like the 4x4 pajero that has the winch (i think this is the spelling) to pull other stuck car at the mud. So it will not suck ur battery thus not put extra works on ur hp i think.

Fyi, i did put a switch in my car, one for my electrical fan project which im not dare to try yet, and also for my neon lamp under my bumper. i will post a picture

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/96922

hehhe dat switch also for my dream NOS, lolz like d need for speed story =P
quite a dreamer i am. but im stick with the word "If afraid 2 dream, u will afraid of everything" and "If im fail to dream, it means i dream to fail" :_:

cyclone-fuel-saver.gif

i built something using the same idea......

more air = more fuel...... :driver:

more pickup, but not fuel saving at all........ :banghead: :stupid:

i make it using aluminum sheet...... some even use aluminum can.... but use sandpaper to remove the paint 1st...... LOL

i can explain this experiment doesnt work in just a few sentences
do this, take ur fan , switch it on, put ur hand above it , feel the blow ?
ok now do this, while driving , put ur hand outside ur window
erm , the air force of your hand outside the window has more than the fan can give
that is the reason, cold air induction kits are used for races, not only superseries, but also international races and thts the reason the fans are ditched , because its just not efficient :D
get a cold air intake , it has no restrictions

air is calculate by CFM's

Write your reply...