EJ7 mod

thanks for the info. so, if i'm going for the dohc vtec, any recommendation to begin with it? like, can i just replace the engine without replacing any other parts, or i have to go for the half cut? to be frank, i really hope to go for the halfcut but my budget doesn't allow. any step by step upgrade guides?

hattech-v said:
check this main abs unit. ur car got it or not. if got than it equipped with ABS.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/Dscn6043.jpg

wow.. so white n clean.. no engine summore.. i wonder where the engine actually?? ehehehhe ..

anakin said:
how bout 5k?

anakin,
Most likely RM5k not enough. Labor itself will cost u around RM1k minimum (donno where can get!), plus wear+tear items.. say around RM500 min. That already RM1,500.00. After that, u only has RM3.5k balance. B16A Big V halfcut price now, if manual trans. gila2 price now. Ranging from RM5-RM6k kot, depends on conditions. Can get lower than RM5k, ikut nasib la. If it's Auto Transmission,(AT) i think around RM3.5-RM4k can get la, but it's from EG* (donno much about Eg sequences). FYI, Last April 05, i helped 1 of my friend buying AT B16A (can't remember Vtec besar or kecil) from a kedai potong at Klang, which only cost him around RM3.3k. It's come with a standard halfcut accessories like 4 discs, 4 absorber, rear tank etc.

heard that EK hfcut big v manual tyranny will cost 6k to 7k. eg will cost 5k to 6k but need to mod some mounting if wanna transplant to EK........ correct me if wrong

civic_koled said:
heard that EK hfcut big v manual tyranny will cost 6k to 7k. eg will cost 5k to 6k but need to mod some mounting if wanna transplant to EK........ correct me if wrong

Dun think so...cos Avantasia's ride is an EK fitted with B16A from EG6. Didn't recall him saying any mods done to his mounting.

just one mounting need to mod, the back one, small mod onli....thats my friend said before....
dunno true or not.....

anakin,
Why not u buy a 'ready-made' EJ B16A one?. Later, asked these EJ gangs to do 'audit' on the car before buy it. Much2 easier i guess. Cuma kasi minum2 teh saja sama ini EJ gang!!.

Pricewise, donno lar

aja said:
anakin,
Why not u buy a 'ready-made' EJ one?. Much2 easier. Pricewise, donno lar

ahakss..but you'll lose all the fun in modding...the "fun" part is going to hafkat shops searching for the rite engine, then watch as your old engine being ripped apart...

EG hcut manual cost about 5k to 6k, EK hcut manual cost 6k to 7.5k.....thats a different.....if got money better go for B18CR or B16BR.....

just my 2 cents....

civic_koled said:
EG hcut manual cost about 5k to 6k, EK hcut manual cost 6k to 7.5k.....thats a different.....if got money better go for B18CR or B16BR.....

just my 2 cents....

yup...if you have the dough, go for it all da way. But if u don't, B16A from EG6 is the best bet.

civic_koled said:

just my 2 cents....

Recent price for DC2 B18CR is around RM13k-RM14k. For normal DC2 B18C, the rpice is round RM8k only.

As for B16BR, price range should be around RM9k-RM12K.

Standard condition level for Type R engine is normally tip-top, don't 'parked' under hot sun/rain one. Normally parked under bumbung!

uiyo all car so terrer terrer already, talking about b16 all ady. must catch up ler....

anakin,
I u prefer to layan stock & due to the B16A BigV price is gila2 now, better get the DC2 b18C (non R engine). On paper, More torquey! The price range almost the same. And if later u want to mod also, not that much problem i guess, since u have already running on 1.8 block!. But sure need $$$$ la!!

But then, donno the mounting ngam or not with standard EJ.