B18C vtec question

HanJackaL

I feel as though my B18C is not opening Vtec at 5800 RPM +. After pass 5800 RPM, no changes in sound. No sharp sound or anything coming out. Is my vtec not opening ? Is there a specific way to check whether my vtec is opening or not ?Any B18c sifus here can leave me a feedback please?

ur intake manifold is invert type? black top b18c?
b18c black top the vtec is at 4500rpm... very soft only...
want vtec loud loud use type R head + manifold... or buy skunk2 intake manifold...

To me the vtec roar is only loud if u are using an open air filtre and also a noisy exhaust. If u are using the standard air box (like me) chances are that your vtec don't roar. But if your engine is pulling cleanly from about 6000 rpm to red line, than you are ok.If the vtec did not engaged, it feels like forever to get it revved to 8000rpm. And if you are using stock ecu, don't bother revving the engine while stationary to listen to the VTEC. It won't engaged.

TonyChopper said:
ur intake manifold is invert type? black top b18c?
b18c black top the vtec is at 4500rpm... very soft only...
want vtec loud loud use type R head + manifold... or buy skunk2 intake manifold...

=.= who said so ? B18C black top = B18C1 which its VTEC open at 5800rpm also....jz like wat rizal has said,if u want sound, jz change ur exhaust system (from center bullet to muffler)...then u can hear the sound...

if u wanna know whether ur vtec is open or not, u can install something like VAFC which will notify u when vtec is open...or u can DIY a vtec light...hehe...

here is a video clip of VTEC Light....
http://webpages.charter.net/noeladams/newvteclight.MPG
(credit to the creator)

if u want the method of how to DIY a vtec light, pm me...i can send to u thru email....

VTEC Rulezzzzzzzzzzzzzz.. :rock:

Write your reply...