Doing onto others

Duke Red

Was having a discussion with some friends over a few drinks last night and we started talking about foreign workers. I know they do contribute to the crime rate here and some of them are really wankers but a portion of them really do work hard for their money. Maids for example are forced to abandon their families to come work here so that their loved ones may have a better life. They miss the opportunity to see their children grow up. Yes, some of them commit attrocities but have we ever stopped to think why? Maids though they may be, are still human. My friends used to be a journalist and he has been exposed to numerous cases where maids are abused verbally and in some cases, physically by their employers. This I know is true as I've seen how some employers talk to their maids. Some even lock their maids in the house with no access to the telephone and no going out priviledges. Without any human interaction, can we blame them for going a little crazy? I'm just trying to look at this from their point of view.

What about the waiters at mamak stalls and restaurants? Have you seen how some young kids talk to waiters? Hell, sometimes they don't even talk to them. They just make rude gestures like signalling for him to clear the table for example. These workers may be un-educated but they are still human beings working for a living. They have families to feed and if they had the opportunity for higher education, I'm sure they'd get better jobs. Again, I'm not defending them as some of them do commit henous crimes. A portion of them however are just decent human beings working hard for a better life.

Duke Red said:
Was having a discussion with some friends over a few drinks last night and we started talking about foreign workers. I know they do contribute to the crime rate here and some of them are really wankers but a portion of them really do work hard for their money. Maids for example are forced to abandon their families to come work here so that their loved ones may have a better life. They miss the opportunity to see their children grow up. Yes, some of them commit attrocities but have we ever stopped to think why? Maids though they may be, are still human. My friends used to be a journalist and he has been exposed to numerous cases where maids are abused verbally and in some cases, physically by their employers. This I know is true as I've seen how some employers talk to their maids. Some even lock their maids in the house with no access to the telephone and no going out priviledges. Without any human interaction, can we blame them for going a little crazy? I'm just trying to look at this from their point of view.

What about the waiters at mamak stalls and restaurants? Have you seen how some young kids talk to waiters? Hell, sometimes they don't even talk to them. They just make rude gestures like signalling for him to clear the table for example. These workers may be un-educated but they are still human beings working for a living. They have families to feed and if they had the opportunity for higher education, I'm sure they'd get better jobs. Again, I'm not defending them as some of them do commit henous crimes. A portion of them however are just decent human beings working hard for a better life.
some of the also educated ..............

maids abandoning their families.... it is so true. pity them u know. im sure they miss them everyday.

a few years ago i had an indon maid. she was good. real good and pleasant too.... she had a son who worked as a logger in indon and one day her son had an accident where a chainsaw cut off his one of his leg. my poor maid couldnt go back home to even see her son while he was lying in the hospital because she was stuck here for some reason. she actually stayed here for over a month crying her heart out everyday. as soon as there was a chance my parents sent her home.

and before that one we had another indon maid.... and get this... she was a whore. and she used my house for business. heh. i seriously wonder how anyone in their right mind would wanna 'subscribe' to that fat fugly woman. i mean seriously....FUGLY. she even tried a pass at my at the time bro in law who just married my sister like 2 months ago! heh

maids abandoning their families.... it is so true. pity them u know. im sure they miss them everyday.

a few years ago i had an indon maid. she was good. real good and pleasant too.... she had a son who worked as a logger in indon and one day her son had an accident where a chainsaw cut off his one of his leg. my poor maid couldnt go back home to even see her son while he was lying in the hospital because she was stuck here for some reason. she actually stayed here for over a month crying her heart out everyday. as soon as there was a chance my parents sent her home.

and before that one we had another indon maid.... and get this... she was a whore. and she used my house for business. heh. i seriously wonder how anyone in their right mind would wanna 'subscribe' to that fat fugly woman. i mean seriously....FUGLY. she even tried a pass at my at the time bro in law who just married my sister like 2 months ago! heh

Its another topic in discrimination. Let us all not forget that we are all the same, regardless of our race or religion, upbringing or origin, occupation or wealth.

mADmAN said:

that's really sad. my current maid's husband had an accident a couple of years back as well. he got badly burnt when a live wire fell on him. my maid was afraid to ask my mom for money to buy medicine so she came to me and i gave her RM 500 to send home. i really feel sorry for the life they have to lead. sure they get free food and lodging but nothing can replace being with your loved ones.

mADmAN said:

at least she was an entrepreneur... hey, you could have been her agent and made some money on the side.

si|verfish said:
Its another topic in discrimination. Let us all not forget that we are all the same, regardless of our race or religion, upbringing or origin, occupation or wealth.

"Malaysian pratice what they preach".

On a broadside, in my opinion, many people find it hard to change. Not that i condone their actions but the very fact that there somethings we arent able to discuss (too sensitive) & by looking away breeds the "ugly" face of discrimination from within.
hard to fathom?

all i can... not all are bad, nor good...

there are good ones, and there are also bad ones. I dont have to elaborate on that. I'm sure u guys know.

I've have had a local Indian maid and she cabut after 2 months - cun't stand the boredom.
Then, it's Philipino and she stayed for 5 yrs. Another Philipino for 3 yrs. Both left with some of our belongings. Then, we left our children "home alone" and saved money.
BTW, we treated our maids like queens e.g. taking them for holidays, have dinner/makan at the same time and table with us, etc. Make phone calls at our expense, too. If they decide not to take their leave on Sunday, we pay them.

I guess we spoil them too much and so they take our kindness as a weakness.

sometimes its how we treat the maid. For example, my cousin sis's maid has been with them for the past 8 or 9 years now. Same maid. Not once did they ill-treat the maid. After her (the maid's) contract expired my cousin sis sent her back to indonesia for a vacation for 6 months. Then the maid came back and worked for my cousin after that. My cousin sends her maid back to indonesia every 6-8 months for a one month holiday.Fully paid. In turn, the maid is extremely loyal and hardworking. I've never seen a maid like that before.

I live with my grandmother who is wheelchair bound. And the first maid we took, looked after my grandmother like her own mother lah. That maid stayed with us for almost 5 years before wanting to go back.

The present maid I have is not so friendly and she sometimes speaks harshly to my grandmother.

Sometimes it depends on the person we get.

got good and bad ones.....hard to judge....

some maids poisoned the babies.....some employers abused the maid...who wrong who right oso dunno la...

BUt as long as u treat ur maid as a human, i dun see any problem ur maid wil betray u...

my house hv one maid.....permanent one.....she from Indonesia....veery hardworking and good......

but las year she felt sick and gotta rest for two months......

so my mum looked for another temporary maid...tat is during CNY 2005....

Bloody hell the maid, my family treat the maid n her daughteer very good.....even when they finished work..i sent them go home...

but the Maid stole my mum n bro money....total is bout rm2000......this is filipine maid la....really Cibai one......

so fired her oledi...

well...there is alot of things that we malaysians need to learn lo..
u shud never look down on ppl...for u would not like ppl looking don on u right?hehe
oh..i have this maid(present)an indon,she's okla...very slow..and tells us what to do sometimes..and it gets on my nerve,thats not the worst...she even uses my hair ties n headband without asking n put in her room..that drove me mad..but i didnt scold her..dunno how...just took it n put it back in my room...ask her close her room door coz not nice la if got visitor come then see the maids room rite?she say no...then my stepmum close it in front of her..she open it back...very terror lo...she watches tv at night...she like csi..hahahaha...the most amazing part..she even knows how to put on a dvd for herself to watch...its ok to watch..but we tell her dun sleep so late..shud be in bed by 10.30 lo..11.30 i come down still watch tv...haih~~we really dunno what to do liao...just waiting for her contract to finish..then change maid~~~

Had 2 maids before, i don't really like maids, but to reduce my mum's burden she hire.

Both completed their 2 years Diploma :tongue: , but I'm not really satisfied with how they do their work, so I don't bother much as long you do the few basic things like wash, iron my clothes, sweep and mop floor, that's all I ask.

My aunt's maid is really a Fuckerama Fatherfuckingassmotherfuckers. There was once my aunt maid came by over my place, because we have some sort of family reunion dinner, so all my aunts and uncles came.

Chau Chee Byee, the maid constantly raise her voice when talking to my aunt, i just keep quiet at first, but after seeing the fuckerama doing it over and over again, i couldn't stand anymore and my anger burst out, i then asked my aunt .. "Aunty xxx, why is she like disrespecting you?" She said, that is her attitude. My aunt does not show her anger infront of us nephews, nieces, but I totally understand her situation thats why I approach to her and discuss about it.

The maid has been working for my aunt for like half year, fuckerama this have been going on for 6 months continuously? KNNCCB, mutha fucka!!

Then one day, she fucking request something from my aunt, you know WTF she ask? She wants a mobile phone, my aunt is kind enough to get her a Nokia 3310. From the day onwards, she non stop talking on the phone almost everyday and within a day about 5-6 times. Fuckerama!!

She's fucking lazy too, ask her to go to the groceries shop to buy something, only 100 meters walking distance, she said that she is afraid being caught by Polis this and that but at the same time she is reading newspaper while answering me back, she doesn't care about anybody, when you persuade her to do something, she will say 'Nanti-Lah' .. Fuckerama!!!

After 2 months, i received a news saying that my Aunt gonna send this 'fuckerama' go back to Indonesia, canceled her damn contract, can't stand her attitude anymore, because of her damn loud tone voice, fuckerama, talk like as though shouting at someone.

THIS IS THE WORST MAID I'VE EVER SEEN, I EVEN COMPARE WITH MY FRIENDS MAIDS!!!!!!!

satria 95 and zephyr3d: Pinjam your 'Fuckerama' and 'Fatherfuckingassmotherfuckers' ok. :cool:

well, even I could not stand months/years without sexor....so I wont comment on them being flirtatious.

had a few household assistants before. some of them are really incapable of simple tasks as if they forgot to pack their brains before coming. but we had one who was really hardworking and reliable.

she's been here since I was in preschool. Now she receives a hefty bonus every year and has the privilege to use our family cars (only when needed).