Do Not Pump Full Tank!

acbc

Got this from an e-mail...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/acbc2k/donotpumpfulltank.gif

"Many of us are not aware that the petrol kiosk pump has a return pipe-line (in black). When the petrol tank (in the car) reaches full level, there is a mechanism to trigger off the pump latch and at the same time a return-valve is opened (at the top of the station) to allow excess petrol to flow back into the sump. But the return petrol has already pass through the meter, meaning you are donating the petrol back to SHELL, PETRONAS, CALTEX and etc..."

if that's true does it means no matter how much we pump, (example more than full tank), the petrol won't flow from the tank?

cos there's once i fill up a full tank of kancil till it spill ~ quite alot (as i've totally forgotten kancil have smaller tank than my car)

Me too. Overflowed once all spill out. I was driving Unser that time.

i think what the pciture means is that when the nozzle is at its operating conditon, meaning u dun press the accelerator of the nozzle, leave it to stable condition, then once the nozzle detected the petrol level is near your nozzle, the nozzle will then trigger off,at the same time also activating the return valve to let excess fuel back to the floor tank. sounds logic. but if u keep pressing the nozzle, i think it'll overflow la.......but if leave it stationary without keep pressing, sure won't overflow rite? maybe i'm wrong.

anyone knows how does the nozzle trigger off when is about full tank? by pressure inside your car's tank?

i have no idea, but i have few experience that the fuel pump won't stop even my tank is full, overflow. Until i pull the trigger to stop it. My car body and floor is full of petrol.

i've overfilled a jazz before (lol trust me for driving my aunties car and not believing that it has that small of a tank hehe) and it spilt out.

i'm pretty sure the mechanism is about it detecting a full tank and then the return valve takes it the end of the before the nozzle petrol pipe.

zephyr3d said:
ask zoohaleee ah. heh heh heh

wah.....

never heard this thing before....sometimes some ppl do this on purpose to gain something...backstab/badmouth just to see somebody falls.... but sometimes cannot say anything...its machine...anything can happen...errors...

however if its true u can complain to the GOV...the GOV will take a very serious case on controls items....

prozac
u want to compare this thing which dunno how true and reliable with CC chargers???....bro for ur info if this thing is true its really really going to be serious....but if its machine errors what can ppl say about it???...and i were to gain because of this thing i will gains 6 figures anytime.....

and for ur info pump got 2 meters...1 which is external of the pump which the one u can see...and one inside....and this machine cost high 5 figuers per pump....do u think we can tipu u guys that easy???...

Last edited by a moderator:
May b is true, but i think is just a bit only....Not like u donate so much!!~ :albertein

Its probably from the same source that says coke dissolves bones and can be used as a toilet cleaner.

it's true, try a bottle to clean your toilet bowl or your floor...

prodigy said:
Its probably from the same source that says coke dissolves bones and can be used as a toilet cleaner.

haha thats why i never pump full tank.....
the petrol weight will increase the fuel consumption + this too..even though got doubt but hey......it wont cost anything to believe,right?..heheeh

ermmm....i don;t know about this...

i alays put full tank...why so? i only visit petrol staion once a week..

hmm..vereytime also full tank...

ambayah said:
I always maintain my cars fuel 1/2 the tank, or maybe 1/5 only.

1/2 is quite ok. But 1/5 dont u think its too little? My car 1/5 can only go about 70km, not enough for me, need to refill too often.

IMHO, I think this "Do Not Pump Full Tank" is just a hoax. Firstly if the pump can really suck back the petrol, then the petrol level must be really high. Secondly, like most ppl here agree, when u DO overpump, the excess will definately spillover, if there is such mechanism, then even the value go up to RM1000 oso the pump will not stop & there will be no overflow whatsoever.

IF its a hoax, basically its from one of those dengki people who cannot stand petrol kiosk owners from making a living ;)