Diy : Undercarriage Lights

guys.. i wun be so active on these 2-3 days cos going back to hometown on weekend...

so c u guys later!!

well.. onli de relay wiring part messy mah... :P.. not my fault.. de acc. shop guys not professional...

make a box no prob.. but not neccessary lar... there all covered up n space so limited... if de box located somewhere else then ok lar..

Originally posted by Choon@Feb 23 2005, 20:49
hahaha... this is my DIY...

i put yellow colour but the colour comes out like gold...
fooyo... like underground car...

my frens were impressed.. bangga!! :rolleyes:
wahhh . very nice colour ... can i know what type of flo.tube u are using ? how did u wired it up ? 1 tube per dc choke ?

Good information khguan!! i think i will get the current straight from battery into the car, if not mistaken the wire run through right side fender. Then from there i only add switch and fuis. Then only to the light. Hope this works. <_< :rolleyes:

Originally posted by tzmito+Feb 26 2005, 03:55 -->
QUOTE (tzmito @ Feb 26 2005, 03:55 )
--QuoteBegin-Choon
@Feb 23 2005, 20:49

wahhh . very nice colour ... can i know what type of flo.tube u are using ? how did u wired it up ? 1 tube per dc choke ? [/b][/quote]
i'm just using the normal flo tube we use in the house.. actually, there is oni one type of flo tube.. which is the same with the one u see in the house, in mamak stall or under the car :D the oni different is the choke..

chokes there are 2 types.. one for 240V AC and 12V DC like our car..

so, in our case, we use 12C DC choke.. and there are 2 types: one is 40W 12V and the other one is 20V 12V... all my tubes are 4 feet wan so i use 40W 12V chokes..

and yes tzmito, i wired one choke to each tube... as each 4 feet tubes consumes 40W..

you can wired 2 tubes if u want to but u have to use a 40W choke and two 2 feet (20W each) tubes and connect them in series...

not enough power from the choke won't give u light or dimmer and if too much power from the choke will burst ur tube..

there are wide ranges of colour you can choose from.. from the ones u can see in the house to the ones u can see in mamak stall!!!! :rolleyes:

yo...my car has a fog light and it has a existing swItch to on it...so i waS thINKin whether can wire it up together with it...therefore no need to add another switch that means when i on d fog light the undercarriage will also on...do i still need to add a relay ?

I think u need to add the relay so that when u switch on the fog light...it will be electrically switch on also...my opinion lar B)

can any expert answer these questions since khguan is not around :-
1> if dun add relay.. no problem, rite? add relay jz to make it brighter..
2> where to connect the "-" ? back to the batt.? or jz connect anywhere on the car's body?
3> i still can't find those tubes ( the one that shown in dis first page ) .. tat looks stronger than the house 1... consume 20w oni.. slimmer
4> still can't find the right size of water hose to protect the tube..
haiz.. anyone live in klang wanna DIY dis can contact me? we DIY together la.. dunno how to do the wiring.. :lol:

Originally posted by Choon+Feb 26 2005, 10:08 -->
QUOTE (Choon @ Feb 26 2005, 10:08 )
Originally posted by tzmito@Feb 26 2005, 03:55
--QuoteBegin-Choon

wahhh . very nice colour ... can i know what type of flo.tube u are using ? how did u wired it up ? 1 tube per dc choke ?

i'm just using the normal flo tube we use in the house.. actually, there is oni one type of flo tube.. which is the same with the one u see in the house, in mamak stall or under the car :D the oni different is the choke..

so, in our case, we use 12C DC choke.. and there are 2 types: one is 40W 12V and the other one is 20V 12V... all my tubes are 4 feet wan so i use 40W 12V chokes..

and yes tzmito, i wired one choke to each tube... as each 4 feet tubes consumes 40W..

you can wired 2 tubes if u want to but u have to use a 40W choke and two 2 feet (20W each) tubes and connect them in series...

not enough power from the choke won't give u light or dimmer and if too much power from the choke will burst ur tube..

there are wide ranges of colour you can choose from.. from the ones u can see in the house to the ones u can see in mamak stall!!!! :rolleyes: [/b][/quote]
hmm . i bought one tube (white colour) but not bright lah .. wat happend ?

18w x 2 ( in series) and one 40w dc choke .

for the side tube ( 4feet - 20w ) , i have to use only 1 unit of 40w dc choke .right ?

Originally posted by khguan@Feb 25 2005, 14:21
this is where ur wire goes out of de car... u can either cut a small hole at de rubber plug....
i saw superlon ... :ph34r: :ph34r:

Originally posted by jaywat+Feb 27 2005, 08:26 -->
QUOTE (jaywat @ Feb 27 2005, 08:26 )
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Feb 25 2005, 14:21
this is where ur wire goes out of de car... u can either cut a small hole at de rubber plug....

i saw superlon ... :ph34r: :ph34r: [/b][/quote]
Why are you so suprised? :lol:
khguan's car all banyak DIY lar.. Like a metel carrage with engines... :P

Originally posted by tzmito+Feb 26 2005, 17:58 -->
QUOTE (tzmito @ Feb 26 2005, 17:58 )
Originally posted by Choon@Feb 26 2005, 10:08
Originally posted by tzmito@Feb 26 2005, 03:55
--QuoteBegin-Choon

there are wide ranges of colour you can choose from.. from the ones u can see in the house to the ones u can see in mamak stall!!!! :rolleyes:

hmm . i bought one tube (white colour) but not bright lah .. wat happend ?

18w x 2 ( in series) and one 40w dc choke .

for the side tube ( 4feet - 20w ) , i have to use only 1 unit of 40w dc choke .right ? [/b][/quote]
hmm.. u better check the temperature of the tube u bought... there are few types of temperature.. you can see on the packing la.. 3200K or 6000K or watever as long as u found the K unit...

so, i think maybe u bought the tube with low brightness, which means low K.. get a higher K will fix the prob..

i never seen a 4 feet tube with 20W oni wo.. are u sure those long 4 feet tubes consumes just 20W each? i tot all 4 feet tubes are at least 36W? so, i think if those long tubes just consume such low power, even if u connect it right, u won't haven't bright light lo...

that;s wat i think la...

other sifus.. how?

Originally posted by Indecided@Feb 25 2005, 21:16
u're a hero to put the chokes next to ur amp :) like inviting extra noise only :)
well.. at 1st i aslo scared dat it will got sound.. but later i found dat its fine.. so i just elave de chokes there lar... mayb bcos dat is a small n cheap amp.. so dun have effect lar... if bigger amp sure got sound liao....

last time i put behind my HU there.. the sound damn irritating... u either on ur HU or ur lights... <_< after put under my seat then now prob solve. so no need pening kepala liao :lol: