Diy : Undercarriage Lights

i dun hav time to research on dis.. so if u can make it w/o burning ur round lamp.. plz let me know.. i'll DIY..

wahh .. i should enter this forum earlier ... now my using a blue neon tube from a shop at sunway (rm80 per tube) . but not bright ... ur mod give effect like street glow !! and at d**n cheap price ......

i already bought 2 x 40watts DC choke , switch , relay , fius and its holder .

but i have one question ...

when i ask for the flourescent tube , he give me the tube like we normally use in the house .. izzit ok ? or i need to find a thin tube one ...

i want yellow or green tube ... where to find this tube ? at pasar road have ah ? what shop and how much ?

I need 6 purple colour tubes for my project..
2 front 2 side 2 rear.. does the tube have size range? if longer, put at side skirt sure looks better...
like tzmito said.. the one like house use 1 can or not?
so i need 3 ballast rite now...
any idea how to stick the tube? use double sided tape won't last longer to sakai driver like me...
do you all know how to make the pulse glow?
if mix purple /w white together at 1 location.. does it looks nice? anyone tried dis b4? i wanna try leh..
khguan, can help me DIY ar... still newbie to dis kinda stuff.. :D

p/s: edited twice.. type too fast got so many wrong spelling..

choon,

i dun use ICQ nowadays... just add my MSN at [email protected]

wah.. u just connect directly to ur sub's wires ah? dats y lah it burn... i dun think de room lamp can take fluctuating voltages constantly... inside got a transformer n it is not design to be used like dat...

mayb u need to c a sample of those proper neon light controller for subwoofer then u compare wats de diff...

i dun have time to DIY ah... n i cant join de WiSE DIY session this sun cos my fren wedding... next time got DIY session i help u lar... for now i can onli give u advice n ideas

Originally posted by tzmito@Feb 24 2005, 16:03
wahh .. i should enter this forum earlier ... now my using a blue neon tube from a shop at sunway (rm80 per tube) . but not bright ... ur mod give effect like street glow !! and at d**n cheap price ......

i already bought 2 x 40watts DC choke , switch , relay , fius and its holder .

but i have one question ...

when i ask for the flourescent tube , he give me the tube like we normally use in the house .. izzit ok ? or i need to find a thin tube one ...

i want yellow or green tube ... where to find this tube ? at pasar road have ah ? what shop and how much ?
yes... dats de tube i'm using... in fact many DIYer also using... as long as got light come out can liao lor... :P

get urself some 1.5" clear water hose to put ur tube inside for protection over stones n mounting parts...

u can get those color tubes from electrical or wiring shops... or those lighting shops should have.. just tell them u wan those lights dat malay ppl use for their restoran wan... price is about rm9 per pc (4feet)

i'll try n get those stuff first n purple colour flourescent tubes...
then i'll DIY.. if dun understand then oni i ask u ...
btw, u hang ur tube wif double sided foam tape or wat?

nop.. i use steel band to secure it.. so it wun fall of even u go rally with those tubes.. :lol:

i'll take pics when free.. mayb tomolo..

Yea.. you should really post the pics here so tat i understand..
installation is kinda easy but wiring is the hardest part for me coz when it comes to wiring.. headache... like someone in dis forum said.. the wiring looks like indon mee...
1>how to pull out the wires from the interior? any holes? hav to drill?
2>how thick is ur wires? thin wire can melt?
3>where to install the on/off button..
4>can connect directly to the battery? how?

soli ar.. sooo many questions.. :D

gimme some time for de pics... wiring also not dat hard lar.. de hard part for wiring is to tap de power source from my lights n add a relay. dat i give acc. shop to do it.. the rest.. wiring is simple stuff niah..

answers to ur questions

1. no need drill.. under ur carpet got rubber caps n u can just selit ur wire tru it...
2. wire i onli use those blue-white wires from choke to tubes n twin-cable with black penebat from relay to choke.. will show pic to u tomolo..
3. switch is below de alarm overide switch.. show u tomolo also..
4. direct to battery? can.. lagi senang.. no need to give acc. shop ppl do.. so u can on/off whenever u like with de switch u install..

nvm lar.. we share share mah... B)

now the only question is.. u online i also online.. how to chat wif u ar?
u use msn.. i use yahoo messenger n icq.. haiz..
i got thousand of questions waiting for u to answer.. :lol:

u install msn lar... .. icq change interface liao.. n i found dat not i'm not familiar with it liao....

u chat wit me in msn i answer ur question lor... :P

Originally posted by khguan@Feb 24 2005, 17:34

yes... dats de tube i'm using... in fact many DIYer also using... as long as got light come out can liao lor... :P

get urself some 1.5" clear water hose to put ur tube inside for protection over stones n mounting parts...

u can get those color tubes from electrical or wiring shops... or those lighting shops should have.. just tell them u wan those lights dat malay ppl use for their restoran wan... price is about rm9 per pc (4feet)
[/quote]
i got my self 4 x of 2 feet OSRAM 18W/765... 1050lm daylight ....

just test the circuit first before cutting all the wires or anything involved in this DIY .

wahh ..... 2 pcs of the tube but i think my car neon tube is brighter . what wrong here ? izzit i bought a normal bright tube ? ....

is the thin tube more brighter than the normal tube ?

picture of my test circuit .

http://img224.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img224&image=dvc009054ww.jpg
http://img224.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img224&image=dvc009061dd.jpg

yo...khguan...pls take picz la..how to hook up the bulb and take a pic of the relay..maybe can DIY oso...coz if directly to the battery lookz like ...noT NICE...haha so plz...tanx for the picz if got..

ok.. this is how i mount my light.... put de tube inside de water hose 1st..
then u mount de steel band onto ur car with a screw.. then u put in ur light n tie it with cable tie or bolt n nut..

this wiring is very messy... i added de fuse myself... de acc. shop guys din make it neat.. so i also just wire my stuffs onto it onli...

i got try n c where did he tap de current from but i cant get it lar.. too messy liao...

these r de chokes.. one choke for one tube.. under my seat.. n beside my cheap rm48 amp!! :lol:

look from front...